We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel OK, staff seems disinterested”
Review of Hotel La Forcola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Forcola
Ranked #247 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights in late September 2013. The map on the site was poor and being our first time in Venice, was difficult to find. After more than an hour we stumbled upon it. It's actually only 10 minutes from the train station. The map they gave us when we arrived was much better. I wish I had it coming in. I understand that Venice is a very old city and didn't expect new. Taking that into consideration, the room was acceptable. I liked people watching from the third floor window. However, the safe would not work and I believe it is important for travelers to have a safe. My wife asked the afternoon desk attendant if he could help us and he just shrugged saying "What can I do?" Only after she told him that she would give the hotel a bad review, did he call her back and offer her a master key. His indifference to an important item left a bad taste. Other employees were a bit more helpful. Breakfast had a limited selection but did the job. In the end, we loved Venice and the location was great. I would probably not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobandHelenRideHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Forcola
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 258 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is great, on a main thoroughfare right by a bridge. Nice views out of the window and as soon as you step out of the door you are near shops and restaurants, but there was no noise coming up to our room. The room was well furnished, if a little cramped, but we spent most of our time out so it didn't really matter too much. The bathroom could have done with an upgrade, but on the whole it was a very well priced hotel with a good breakfast included.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the building have a view of the canal, the bridge and the main street.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The staff was excellent. This hotel is 2 watertaxi stops from the train station and about 10 stops from the St Marks Square. The hotel room was very small, but very comfortable. I was only there to sleep, so it did not make a difference as long as I had a comfy bed. The value was extremely good for Venice. I would recommend staying here if you go to Venice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NickInDallasTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel is very close to the train station so you can just walk if you are arriving by train. It's on the main street so it's very easy to find. The front desk was extremely friendly. The rooms are typical for the price point, small but everything was clean and the A/C was cold. There is a late night supermarket nearby so you can pick up drinks and food on the cheaper side of things.

They have a funny system with keys in that it's attached to a giant key chain and you give it to the front desk when you leave and pick it up when you arrive. Old fashioned and cool. Breakfast was average, cold cuts and cereal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jtkappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here for a few days and was really impressed with the room, staff and location. We were upgraded to a better room at no extra charge. Staff were very friendly and helpful and room was a great price and easy to find from the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 236Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great hotel with a very helpful staff! Front desk always helpful and had great info! Located on the main drag between train station and St. Marks. Only a few blocks from water stop that takes you straight to airport for only 17 euro. Front desk can give you all the details. Good wifi so we could FaceTime the kids daily. Would stay again here for sure!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Even it is a small hotel, it is well located, really close to the Rialto Bridge and the iconic St Mark's Square. The service is really good and the room very comfortable, not that much space, just enough. Yes, it is a basic accommodation but affordable. Good value for money!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esteban O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Locanda Herion
Locanda Herion
#185 of 384 in Venice
367 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#262 of 384 in Venice
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#196 of 384 in Venice
954 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#242 of 384 in Venice
416 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Tintoretto
Hotel Tintoretto
#223 of 384 in Venice
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Forcola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Forcola

Address: Cannaregio 2353, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $77 - $611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Forcola 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Forcola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Forcola Hotel
La Forcola Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing