We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location - canal view - great staff”
Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Eden
Ranked #359 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 9, 2011

The hotel is quaint, right in the heart of venice and is within a 10 minute walking distance of Rialto Bridge, and another 5/10 for St Mark's Sq.
The staff were very friendly, accommodating and encouraged us to leave our luggage after we'd checked out as our flights home were later.
We had booked a room which wasn't en-suite but they upgraded us immediately upon arrival to an en-suite without us even asking.
Rooms are clean and comfortable with air-con and heating, and we had a canal right below our window. Also very quiet and very dark - no probs sleeping. Breakfast was a selection of cereals, croissants, bread/jams and juice, tea/coffee.
Great hotel, great value but most of all - great location.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela1Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 170 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2011

This is one of my worst travelling experience i ever had in my life. We were given a room with the heater not working. for god's sake..it was winter when we visited Venice! The receptionist told us that they can swap us to another room with a working heater but the other room was so dirty and old that we couldnt bear to move in there. Bathroom was dirty too with old school hair dryer that looks like a vaccum cleaner. We slept through without a heater shivering in the night.

We also tried to ask the hotel receptionist where and which resturant is cheap to eat in Venice and he did not even think and gave us a very proud answer by saying 'basically everything is very expensive in Venice'.

And guess what? We actually found a kebab shop around the corner that sells kebab for 3.50 Euros. Obviously he didnt answer our question and was not at all interested to let us know of any survival tips in Venice. It has also shown that the hotel reception has not been to our country when kebab actually cost almost twice as much as 3.5 euros! Very misleading and unhelpful attitude from the hotel reception.

Lastly...i attached a photo to show u the front of the hotel when it was raining heavily and the place got flooded...pretty common in venice...will not recommend this hotel. pay abit more and stay somewhere else

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelQueenie365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Having finally decided to go on holiday for 2 days on a cheap flight to Venice, everything was on a budget. It is quite an expensive city to visit, so this hotel was a real find!

Finally stumbled in at 8pm looking for a room with 2 single beds. It is a shame they didn't have any, but a double bed at 50 euros a night is not unreasonable for the area.
The room was of excellent quality, with a lovely view over a canal. It had a nice en suit bathroom and a little telly with a wide range of channels. (In Italian). As Venice is a very quiet city with no traffic the sleep quality was excellent.

Breakfast was served 8-10 and it was a great selection of bread/coissant with a choice of musli, yoghurt and fresh juice.

Staff were warm and friendly and very helpful. When the little square outside the hotel flooded in high tide they gave us plastic bags and rubber bands to wade through it.

As a solo traveller the room was great value, but if a couple were to go, it would be even better value, working out at 25 euro each.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank booglezoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

This was the cheapest *** hotel in Venice I found- 1 night for 2 ppl with breakfast was 70pounds.
HOW TO GET THERE: it was about 15 min walk from bus station /train station. U basically follow the main road. Once u cross a tiny bridge ,on your left there is a hotel Forcola (I believe)and after u passed it on your left there will be a small alley ,u will see the hotel from the main street.
ROOM:Double room was good size, definitely sufficient for two ppl with AC (although this could be more powerful, but it was reasonable), mini fridge, TV (only Italian channels). Clean . Beds not particularly comfortable,but I am afraid these are the kind of beds that are used in Italy ( I stayed in another hotel as well and beds were same). Lovelu view though.
BREAKFAST: The breakfast in Italy is sweet ( again saying so given the experience from another hotel)- we got 4 small buns and two croissants , nutella, another chocolate spread, jams, cereals/musli, yoghurts,philadephia and another similar to this cheese,biscuits. To drink: tea,coffee, 2 x juices, milk.
STAFF:Incredibly friendly and helpful.

TIPS:
1.Do not go there in July- the weather is unbearable! If you go, two days is more than enough-it is not an exciting city and ppl are very much used to ripping off tourists. The prices are crazy. do not expect to do any shopping................
2.not even one minute walk from the hotel on the left ( before the forcola hotel) there is a small grocery shop- USE It and buy all you need. Grocery shops are very very rare in Venice to find. There is also a supermarket around 5 mins walk from the hotel ,if you turn right and walk along the main street.
3.I would strongly advise to avoid restaurants(watch out for EXTRA CHARGES,it can be even 15 euros ,just for being served!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!) and eat in a snack bars- the food in restaurant i overpiced and not worth the money , in partiocular AVOID Pizzeria ROMA right by the bridge near the train station and vaporetto stops- absolutely TERRIBLE, from the service to the qualty of food to the price of it. I can recommend snack bar QUANTA BASTA - very good kebab (halal), pizza, good ice cream as well and very good price(it is 2 mins walk from train station on the main street towards the hotel).
4.If you enjoy pointlessly walking on the streets Venice is a pefect place for you! To be honest this city does look like pakistani slums........................

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lil_Miss_Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

Location is great to drop off bags upon arrival into San Lucia stazione and take vaporetto around town. Small rooms but adequate space. Breakfast room with freshly made cappuccino, yogurt, juice, etc. Take vaporetto to San Marcuola stop and hotel is a few streets away. We bought a 24 hour vaporetto ticket (good to hop on and hop off) as we were there only 1 night...plenty of time to see San Marco, Dogges, Rialto, Bridge of Sighs, and take a Grand Canal tour.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porfid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2009

The room was very small, but decent. Clean and the service as very good. Included cold breakfast which was not bad since most restaurants are not open yet. The location was great, easy to get anywhere. However we had a hard time finding it since the google map was wrong at the time and the locals were not able to help either. However, I called the hotel and they were able to guide us there.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iiyoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Very small hotel. Very pricey, but all hotels are in Venice. Room was limited for space. Not all services available in room as advertised. Staff and service were great. The location was superb, a little courtyard off the main "street". Would use again for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bar&Mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Giudecca
Casa Genoveffa
Casa Genoveffa
#257 of 476 in Venice
30 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#157 of 385 in Venice
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Laguna Residence
#261 of 476 in Venice
50 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#53 of 385 in Venice
1,902 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#115 of 385 in Venice
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Address: Cannaregio 2357, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #359 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $59 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eden 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near The Venice Casino, The Hotel Eden Is A Small And Cozy 3 Star Hotel Overlooking The Campiello Del Volto Santo , In The Heart Of Cannaregio District, An Enchanting Corner Of Authentic Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing