We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find Another Hotel”
Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Eden
Ranked #343 of 464 Venice B&B and Inns
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Find Another Hotel”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel will go down in our vacation history as the worst hotel we've ever stayed at. One of the reasons we chose this hotel was because it was air conditioned (we're from Texas, where everything is air conditioned). We knew it would be hot.

The first night we arrived late, due to an airport delay. We arrived at the hotel and could barely fit into the room. Once our luggage was in the room, we could not walk around the bed, the room was so small. The room must have been about ninety degrees upon arrival. We asked about air conditioning (one of our criteria when booking hotels). The man at the desk (who was about the least helpful person we've come across--we had to continually walk 2 flights down to ask questions) told us there was a key to turn it on. After much searching we found the key. We couldn't turn the control knobs because they were stripped. All we could get was hot air. After many more trips up and down the stairs, the man finally came up to check it out. He could not get it to blow cold air either. To make a very long story short, the hotel did not have any other rooms to move us to, so we had a room we couldn't walk around in that was about ninety degrees. We opened the window but it was situated in an alley with no circulation, so it did not help. We did not sleep that night.

The next day someone more helpful, told us we would get a different room with working air. They were very nice and said they'd move our bags for us when the other room was clean so we didn't have to wait around. When we got back late that afternoon, everything was moved into the new room with the working air conditioning. This room was supposedly a better room (larger) with functioning air conditioning. The room never got below about eighty degrees. The only plus was that we only had one more night.

When we checked out, we were shocked that they had not adjusted the price of the room for the first night. Of course the man at the desk told us that he had no control over it, so we had him call someone who did. The man we spoke to on the phone told us that he had accommodated us by putting us in a new room. That still didn't help the fact that we weren't able to sleep the first night. He said that the heat was turned on and there was no problem with the air conditioner. To add insult to injury, he acted like we should have known this. Really? So, why didn't the man turn it on for us?

Needless to say, we had a very bad experience with this hotel and would not recommend it to our family or friends. The only plus was that it was in a good location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank putertutor22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    72
    36
    16
    16
See reviews for
23
89
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed the week before Christmas and booked flights and accommodation cheaply through an online website. Reading the reviews we settled that maybe the hotel may not be that great but, it is only to be used as a place to sleep so were not overly fussed. As we were on the continent we also expected a continental breakfast so, again, not really concerned about the negative reviews about the breakfast.

Hotel is set off from the main walkway through an alleyway. We used google maps to orientate ourselves before we went which helped us to locate the the hotels position easily.

The interior of the hotel is quaint and kept very clean. Rooms are basic but equipped with everything you need for a short city break. Our room had a canal view and, although the private bathroom was across the corridor, it just gave us more space in our room. The hotel and room were nice and warm when we returned which added to the cosy feel the hotel offered.

Breakfast was as expected but with fresh fruit and croissants available. Staff are very friendly and willing to help out any way they can.

The hotel is in a great location with the main attractions of Venice all within a short walk. As most people have written, wear comfy shoes as you will do a very large amount of walking. If you travel in winter, a nice pair of thick walking socks will help as toes become cold quickly.

We enjoyed our stay at the Eden and would definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Tried and get a room with a canal view. Other rooms look onto the courtyard so may not offer a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WillKahuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just spent 4 nights here, a small but well located, very clean the staff are very helpful and friendly, easy to get to from airport, 15 mins walk to Rialto Bridge and St Marks Square, also boat to Maurano and Barauno easy walk 10mins, so yes we would go there again very quiet location.Our grandaughter loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great hotel clean lots of hot water nice friendly staff breakfast was ok but then im not a lover of continental breakfast but it was adequate. Easy to find walk over main bridge into Venice keep going straight until you see the hotel eden sign on your left very central to all attractions just remember to wear comfy shoes if you dont like walking venice is not for you ! As other reviews it is a budget hotel but we enjoyed our stay and would return only downside no english tv channels i know you will all say "why do you need tv " but it would of came in handy especially when im getting ready with a moody fiancee waiting for me ! ha

Easy to buy bus ticket to venice from Marco Polo Airport in baggage reclaim buy return bus ticket from machine bus straight outside terminal driver was great immediately gave us a timetable for our return was easy. Buy a map of venice as soon as you can it will be your bible for your stay its so easy to get lost in Venice.

Loved Venice it was great but its sooooo over priced take lots of pennies it did get to apoint where i was sick of being over charged for crap food with added service charge !! however we found a fantastic tiny little venice bar as you come out hotel eden turn left keep going a while over a couple of tiny bridges until slap bang on a tiny bridge is a small wine bar with a couple of benches outside and in offering snacks we had a great night with the locals, tourists and staff with great wine all for 5 euros !!! the next night we went to say goodbye same again but only cost us 3 euros.

We hired a car for 2 days visting Lake Garda, Verona and Carole all great places to visit went to hertz at piazza roma told no availability so went online and booked over internet got car next day at hertz car was great little beefed up fiat 500 but as regards to hertz service it was a disaster !! we arranged to collect the car at 10am we had to wait and then be shuttled bused to collect the car at 10.45am we was told that on drop off park the car at the multi storey next door to hertz at piazza roma place key in drop off box with car parking ticket an NO point was we told that we would be charged a extra charge of 26 euros for car parking which has been charged to my credit card currently fighting that one out with hertz.

All in all great time and place but extremely expensive x

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a ensuite room as some rooms have seperate bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NinTel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked a three night stay at the Eden combined with EasyJet Flights for a cheap city break.

We were certainly not expecting luxury and nor did we find it. What we did find however is a wonderfully located hotel (next to San Marcuola Vaparetto stop) that did all of the basics right. Excellent service and clean rooms for a very good price.

The breakfast is basic but does the job and the desk staff are very friendly.

We stayed in room 204 overlooking the canal. It wasn't a huge room but was comfortable. With so much of Venice and the surrounding islands to explore and take up your time, who needs opulence, when it's everywhere you look outside.

I would certainly recommend Hotel Eden for the budget traveller and would definitely return if we revisit Venice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank N1VBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We got back from a 3 night stay at this hotel and it was great. Like has been said before its not 5 star but its very clean and in a great position. Manager was very helpful and always smiling. We stayed in room 204 which looked out over a small canal. Not huge but bigger than i expected and perfectly adaquate for our stay. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allyessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Ok, so! First thing (incase you don't want to read this whole review) is the directions to get there. Venice is general is difficult to get around if you aren't prepared or nervous about getting yourself 'lost'. But here are the directions to the hotel:
LOOK AT THE MAP IVE ATTACHED!!
Ok from the airport get onto the bus (Green area 1) and it costs 6 euro per person (there is a desk you pay for please note this ISN'T the water ferry). This will arrive at the end destination which is the bus terminal (Pizzale Roma). As you get off the bus head towards the massive bridge you can see infront of the terminal it is called "Ponte della Costituzione" but you wont mistake it!! (note: there is a little hut there, buy a 3.50 euro waterproof map we used it constantly!)
Then, just keep walking straight, you'll go past a train station on your left (Fondamenta di santa lucia) keep going...!! On your right hand side you will walk past a big church... keep going! You'll come to a 2ND BRIDGE called "Ponte delle Guglie" go over that and you should be on a road called RIO TERRA SAN LEONARDO. Keep walking and you'll get to a small square and it will look super confusing (note: look up on the walls to see the street names) and in the square on your left hand side on the wall will be a sign saying "Hotel Eden".
Go over the 3RD BRIDGE and there is a small road on your left (opposite a rather large resturant) which normally you would dismiss but the hotel it is infact down there!
If you are heading on the water ferry then you want your stop to be at the Casino Municipale.
Ok I hope that helps!...now thats done onto the review!

We finally found our hotel and what a beautiful place it was too! At first we were a little concerned that we seemed to be away from the centre but my gosh did it make a difference to our trips (and waist lines!) We were in room 205 and it was facing the Venician houses and had the view of the canal running down the side. It had a double bed and plenty of bed covers/pillows if you needed more. The bathroom had a double shower enough space for 2 people. If you're looking for luxury then this isn't for you. Its more of a travellers hotel, people who want somewhere to put their heads, not for someone who wishes to spend a lot of time in the room. At the end of the stay we had to pay I think it was 18 euro as a 'tourist tax' which the Italian government have now put in place for tourists visiting for under 5 days (hmmm!).

Firstly, be prepared to walk for at least 6 hours a day unless of course you want to be stupid amounts of money for a gondela (around 80 euro for 40mins and you cannot barter as these are set by the government).
We went in January and it was freezing, luckily we packed some welly boots as it rained a few times and the water settles very easily on the paths there so no taking your nice shoes!!
Our hotel was set a little back from the main strip but we did LOVE this! We saw so many different nooks and crannys you wouldn't see if you stayed close to St Marks Square.
There are plenty of resturants and bars in Venice however the further away from St Marks Square you are prepared to go the cheaper your dinner will be! We paid 13 euro each for a 2 course lunch/dinner usually consisting of pasta for starters and meat for seconds. The portions are huge so no need to worry about it being so cheap and not getting much. The pints are around 8/9 euro depending on what you buy but in the evenings from 4 until 6 happy hour (buy one get one free!) is very popular among the bars so we took full advantage!

St Marks Square is lovely and if you wish to go inside the massive church (A DEFINATE MUST and its FREE!) then you must drop your bag off around the corner at a free holding area. We were not too happy about doing this because they weren't lockers it was just a man sitting watching the bags and he gave you a ticket so you go your bag back. But after we took our money and passports out we weren't took concerned.

We took the standard ferry that the locals travel on to get around sometimes and used it to explore down the canal and also to go around the islands. It was 16 euro for a 12 hour ticket which was plenty of time to pop over to all the islands. Unfortunatly, we picked a day where it decided to have an all day rain as we tried to vist Murano (the island where glass was invented) and we did not find it enjoyable being soaked so came home!

All in all, we'd love to return in the summer to see the difference in a different season. It can be expensive if you make it that way! If you go off the tourist track, pop into the supermarket and you can buy 6 cans of coke for the price of 1 in St Marks Square! We really enjoyed ourselves and found the Italians exceptionally helpful when we needed to ask for help.
We spoke to a few in English but majority in Spanish which if you can talk is a real bonus!

Our advice would be...get yourself lost to see the best parts and walk away from St Marks Square to see some real gems of the city!

Room Tip: Room 205 was nice...best to stay higher up we thought!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank EnglandHayley20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel La Forcola
Hotel La Forcola
#249 of 385 in Venice
255 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#130 of 385 in Venice
499 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#144 of 385 in Venice
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#104 of 385 in Venice
833 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Ca' San Marcuola
Locanda Ca' San Marcuola
#192 of 385 in Venice
272 reviews
Hotel Cannaregio 2357
#225 of 464 in Venice
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Property: Hotel Eden
Address: Cannaregio 2357, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #343 of 464 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eden 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEAR THE VENICE CASINO, THE HOTEL EDEN IS A SMALL AND COZY 3 STAR HOTEL OVERLOOKING THE CAMPIELLO DEL VOLTO SANTO , IN THE HEART OF CANNAREGIO DISTRICT, AN ENCHANTING CORNER OF AUTHENTIC VENICE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing