We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Corte Contarina
Nearby Hotels
$289
$227
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$395
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colombina(Venice)
$186
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda(Venice)
$391
$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$239
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
$187
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$198
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$524
$508
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$809
Londra Palace
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveler rating
57
105
69
22
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
105
69
22
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvia garibaldirestaurants and barscentral venicecomfortable roomstrain stationwater taxichurchbiennaledirectionscanal
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 293 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Beautifull inside, quiet friendly atmosphire, good price, friendly personel. It was nice to open our day-trip in Venice with short walking on the sea-shore to San-Marco during 10 minutes. On the opposit direction there is Biennale garden that gives another option to spend a time if you tired from narrow and crowded venetian streets.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Grey_vlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Having read the last two reviews, both of which were really bad, I was very worried about staying at this hotel. In fact I tried to change it but had bought the trip via Groupon who were selling on behalf of KPX travel. Because of this they were adamant that they would not change the hotel as the whole thing was non transferable. The hotel is not difficult to find if you follow the instructions on their website; yes it is up an alley but this is Venice - everything is up an alley way unless you are on a main street. It is certainly not scary! Again this is Venice and very few hotels of this star rating have lifts - the place is crowded and they had to built up and not out. Yes there were a lot of stairs on one side of the hotel but nothing that could not be coped with. The breakfast was good enough - rolls, croissant, cheese and salami, yoghurts and cereal and freshly made coffee. The bed was firm but not uncomfortable and the room had a certain charm. We managed to use the wifi and the TV worked but we did not want to watch it as we were in Venice. There are problems - the bathrooms need some attention. Our daughter and boyfriend who had a room at the top of the stairs had a very small bathroom with the door to the shower broken. Our bathroom was a good size but the shelf over the sink looked like it might fall off. The staircase is a bit shabby but they have put in stair lifts and so that makes the stair cases narrow and I guess suitcases bang against the wall making the paint peel off. We paid a very reasonable price for this three night break in Venice and for the money I thought this hotel was fine and we certainly could not complain. The area has lots of little bars and restaurants and it is a fairly short walk along the promenade to St Mark's Square. The apartment in Soni's review does sound grim and I can't comment on that - hopefully they have learned their lesson and do not put anyone else in there until it is refurbished. I have to say that I did not recognise the hotel from the website which is certainly a little misleading as to the exterior!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatriciaFrittenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Pros:
I lived to write this review

Cons:
Where do I start? Upon check in, the flu I had was finally starting to leave, thanks to some medication from the crazy Germain doctor in Switzerland (which is a whole different story), however after waking up here, my voice somewhat resembled Patty and Selma. And the amount of flu I had, tripled.
There is no lift, and of course we are in the very last room on the very top floor.
If you like sleeping with a variety of bugs, then this is definitely the hotel for you! Mosquitos will be your best buddy by the end of your stay.
The air conditioner remote is 'lost' and you have to 'stand on the bed to press the button'. This instruction would be appropriate if you were a) Hagrid or b) a giraffe, however we both are not, so we had to jump off the bed and hope our prodding of the buttons on every third successful jump turned the machine on.
Once on, the airflow from this machine resembled the breeze you would get if you opened your window on the rare day when it is 40 degrees in Sydney. Non-existent.
To add to the wonderful seas this hotel offered, the staff were the most unaccomodating bunch of people I've ever met.
The bed should be replaced with a piece of cardboard on a rock floor - there is no way anyone could ever sleep on that 'bed'.
And please be careful at night - to find this hotel you actually have to walk down a very dark and long alley way and then take a right and then walk a little more. Very scary!!
The bathroom is about as small as a mouse's big toe and has not been cleaned since the hotel's first stone was laid. Somewhere around 12 BC.

I created a facebook page including photos from my horrible experience - have a search!

Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Beware of the separate apartmemt that they give you if they are full in the hotel. As we were being shown to it, we were told "don't worry. You will have a nice room tomorrow." Didn't fill us with much hope and we were right to be wary. All I can say is we have stayed in better hostels. Room is made up of what looks like discarded furniture from elsewhere, ghe curtains were see through and the only way to block out people looking in was to close the shutters from the outside. The bathroom looked vile and we daren't use it for fear of our health and safety. The shower had huge cracks across the base and all around was black mould. Toilet paper was provided in a plastic bag hung over the radiator and the ceiling had paint peeling off and was covered in cobwebs.
The bed was horrendous. Rock hard and sloped towards the middle. A very poor nights sleep ensued.

We couldnt get out of that room quick enough and when we mentioned to staff about which room we were in they gave us that knowing look of guilt and knew what we had had to put up with.

Baggage storage seemed to be by the way of leaving the bags in an open reception area. We made sure not to leave anything of value in our cases and ended up carrying lots around for our only full day touring Venice.

The breakfast was ok and the room we got in the hotel was passable but be very wary at busy times or arriving later at night when the proper rooms have all gone and being told you are in the apartment over the road.
We have made a complaint to the company we used to ensure they are aware and so others don't have to endure what we did.

The thing is that the room would be fab if done up to a high standard and could be a feature rather than a significant downside and making for a very poor experience of hotels in Venice. We won't be returning and would advise others to think twice.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Soni_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Some reviews made us doubt if we'd made the right choice but we were quite happy with what we got. Having visited Venice before we knew the area we wanted to stay in and the location of the Corte Contarina was perfect for us. We found the staff efficient and friendly and breakfast was sufficient. The bed, although firm, gave us a good nights sleep after tiring days. Only negative for us was the tiny bathroom with nowhere to put toiletries and the shower was very small.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cumbrian67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews