We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Corte Contarina
Ranked #263 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I was really pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It is 3 stars, but premises, rooms, staff and breakfast is going towards 4!

We had a lovely spacious room, with air conditioning, very clean, bathroom like brand new, room cleaned and towels changed every day. Has a mini bar with very reasonable prices for both soft and alcoholic drinks! Room is a bit on a darker side, but you don't come to Venice to stay in a hotel room, so who cares! (The are bedside lamps for reading and lighting is great in bathroom if you need to do makeup). Also, bed on a bit harder side (for me) but my friend was absolutely fine with it so really a personal preference! But rooms are very quiet as area is not too noisy.

Breakfast in the hotel is great as well, as good coffee is available, as well as good continental breakfast. Ladies in the breakfast room very attentive and friendly. My friend was ill so they got her plenty of tea and honey - very sweet!

Receptionists were all polite, friendly and helpful. When there was a little of flood happening, they even arranged some bin bags to put over our shoes so they don't get wet straight away! Also, trip to Murano island and glass factory is available for free from reception - just ask on the day! Even tho our room was accessible through back door and receptionist had to come wit us every time to open it in the evening, that is not an issue at all, because you need to pass through the main reception anyway on your way to the back door, so really - not an issue!

Location of the hotel is great as well. It is 15-20 minutes walk from St Marco square, but a walk in a beautiful Venice is a pleasure (even in the rain and flood - adventure!) :) There are also a couple of waterbus stops just 2-3 min walk away, so very easy to get to any part of Venice. It is about 30 min by water bus (lines 5.1 or 5.2) away from train station or Troncetto where Eurolines bus from Treviso airport stops (line 1 will take longer as locals call it 'tourists' line). #TIP - if you are under 30 years-old, get a young person's card for 4 euros, then 72 hours waterbus pass will cost only 18 euros instead of 35! Other discounts available with the pass as well.

Also, hotel is in a higher part of the city, so flood doesn't get so high there :)

In overall, hotel is of a great standard and would definitely recommend it to someone who is going to Venice!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoanaP87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 287 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

Hotel small but friendly. Room adequate in size and traditionally furnished giving a feeling of being in Venice and not a travel-lodge. Breakfast room nicely decorated and staffed by friendly maids happy to help with a simple yet sufficient breakfast of bread & meats with cheese and croissants. only downside to room was the small bathroom had a slight smell of drains.

Hotel is situated south of the grand canal and takes a good 15 min walk but is in a very quiet part of town so sleep was never disturbed.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Our room was really nice, spacious and spotless with a lovely bathroom, it was around the back of the hotel which we didn't mind but based on other reviews this is not to everyone's liking. The price is expensive but it's central for Venice so I guess that's primarily what you are paying for. The breakfast is sparce but we knew it wouldn't be great when you had an option to upgrade (and pay extra) for an American or English breakfast. I would say perfect location but if you are going for the food its not for you!

Room Tip: If you want convenience the main body of the hotel might suit best, being outside means you need the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

It's a ideal hotel if you plan to visit Venice with family. Not very far from the place where the waterbus comes. Has some restaurants around it also to enjoy food and wine in the evening.

Salim will greet you with warmth and make you feel at home even when u away from home!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harneet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Good points first:
Actually nice quiet location in Arsenale and still close to San Marco (10-15 min walk). The AC worked very well in our rooms and was much appreciated after 90 F temps. The staff was friendly and attentive. Rooms are actually good size for a 3 star and nicely appointed.
Bad points:
First room had a strange smell when first entering room. Shower door hinge was broken on one side and hung askew. TV had no English speaking channels. WiFi signal was only available in the room occasionally. Second room was in very poor condition. Kids were killing mosquito's and spiders everyday. The bathroom ceiling was falling apart and moldy. Appears that there is a leak from the bathroom above. Breakfast room is tiny and you must get there before 08:30 to get seats together. Food selection very minimal. If your rooms are outside and around the corner, you must ring the buzzer and wait for staff to come let you in every time. They always came immediately, but this is risky.

1  Thank Schuelej
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We recently stayed at this Hotel for 2 nights. Well within walking distance to the main attractions, clean, comfortable and very friendly staff. We had working TV in our room, which i must admit we didnt watch much of as we were out exploring the beautiful sights of Venice.
Breakfast was plentiful and the room came complete with air conditioning. Our room was on the 3rd floor right at the back of the Hotel, so was very quiet at night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faye E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

~We found a directional response online helpful for finding this hotel (since Italian house numbering seems to be a law unto itself) but once found, of course, there were no further problems.
Our room was good - very nicely refurbished. The bed was comfortable and facilities all good. And yes, a kettle was provided or hot water on request.
Breakfast was plentiful with a good 'continental' choice.
The area is pleasant and interesting with easy access to other areas of Venice
No complaints at all.

Room Tip: Not sure as we only saw the one we were given but it was a nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Pantalon Hotel
Pantalon Hotel
#335 of 387 in Venice
256 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Castello
Hotel Canada Venezia
Hotel Canada Venezia
#229 of 387 in Venice
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ca' Formenta
Hotel Ca' Formenta
#144 of 387 in Venice
650 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Tre Archi
Hotel Tre Archi
#244 of 387 in Venice
745 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Pausania
Hotel Pausania
#173 of 387 in Venice
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corte Contarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corte Contarina

Address: Calle Contarini Castello 1931, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $70 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Corte Contarina 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Corte Contarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corte Contarina Venice
Corte Contarina Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing