We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Frustrating Hotel”
Review of All'Angelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
All'Angelo Hotel
Ranked #215 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel is situated in a great location and is a convenient base for all the popular tourist sites and transport hubs being a very short walk from St. Marks Square and the water buses. It also has direct access from the canal and we took advantage of this to arrive from the Airport water taxi. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel is clean and well serviced. The breakfast is good so this place should have everything going for it.

It fails on lost opportunity and it desperately needs a good make over. It is so “tired” and so unwelcoming. A drab reception and entrance with few guest facilities. A bar that has all the charisma of a gothic crypt with a menu that entices only the desperate and accompanying bar prices with the aspirations of a five star Palace. No wonder it is always empty. There are plenty of restaurants and bars to suit all pockets locally but this hotel still has plenty of scope to cater for its guests in other ways which it simply ignores.

The rooms are basic and “tired” too. All the wood surfaces have peeling varnish and the en-suites or bathrooms looking decidedly old and uncared for. It has variable rooms and some views but in general you must assume the window views are none existent and the streets can be noisy but that is Venice nothing the Hotel can help. However, the “in room” facilities should compensate which they do not. No functional air conditioning, no tea facilities, no bathroom extractor, curtains and carpet that need a good clean, very limited and slow Wifi and no satellite TV. The room is not comfortable and provides no relief from the bustle of Venice.

We made the best of what was provided and took full advantage of the location and these issues did not detract from our holiday. I explain all this so that you are warned so that you will not be disappointed by your expectations from the web site.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and try to avoid the small rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJA950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front Desk Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Sir,
thank you for taking time to leave a review about our Hotel All'Angelo. We are pleased you appreciated our very central location (we are one step's throw from San Marco's Square), our staff and our buffet style breakfast. We do not recall when you stayed with us, however we normally switch from air-conditioning on October, according to the nightly temperatures and the weather condition. Once the heating is on the air-conditioning is off regrettably: the system is centralized. Tea and coffee facilities, for fire regulation in Venice, cannot be provided, unfortunately. With reference to the TV-set, please note that after channel #900 all foreign channels are available for the convenience of our guests. Wi-fi is available from the lobby area only, however it is completely free (many 3/4 star hotel do charge for this service!).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (922)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 922 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

booked this as a last night of a med cruise with my friend and asked for a room with a view given she was on a retiral cruise ... and we were not disappointed top room with 3 windows all opening out onto the water below fabby . We had boat taxi ride to the hotel brill and added tot he holiday . the wee cafe attached served a mean hot chocolate . hotel very close to St marks square so easy to sight see too from this location.

A wee internet cafe next door made it easy to call home on viber free charge

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ThePhotographer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front Desk Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
what a nice review we have just read: thank you very much! We were happy to understand you enjoyed your bedroom, its view on the small canal below (where the gondolieri pass by with their gondolas singing!) and our umbeatable location (we are just one stone's throw from San Marco's Square!). We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel All'Angelo very soon... and untill then please give our regards to the capital of beautiful, romantic, mystic Scotland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel was really dated, and could use a facelift inside. It was the first of our stay at 4 hotels of our trip. The room was big, and so was the bathroom, but the shower was super tiny, barely enough room to turn around without hitting the glass with your [--]. The breakfast in the morning was the best coffee of our stay, the food minimal. The maid changed out our comforter for one that smelled of nasty dirty feet. I brought it back to her, only to never get a replacement of a clean one back. She never have us anything, I only saw it later draped over a chair in one of the hallways. The staff was not very helpful, nor was the map they gave to us. The wifi connection is very week, only working in the lobby. They bumped us out of our originally booked hotel and moved us to this one...needless to say we were upgraded at the next one in Florence.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannonie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front Desk Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you for taking your time to leave a review on Tripadvisor about our Hotel All'Angelo. We were glad to read you enjoyed the spaciousness of your bedroom, its bathroom, and our coffee (yes, it is lovely and it gives you a kick in the morning... just the strenght you need to face a whole walking day through Venice!). We were quite amazed to read that the comforted was changed out for one that smelled and that you never got a replacement: for sure the maid did not understand what you told her (our chambermaids seldom speak English) and there was no will of not bringing you what you requested; after all we are all here to help and to make your experience with us a very good one. Or, at least, we try! Strange that you did not find our staff very helpful: we are usually internationally overwhelmed by the friendliness of our staff (just read some of our past guests' reviews). However we shall go through these suggestions of yours to be even more friendlier than usual! The maps we provide are those which we receive from the Venice Tourist Office: we offer them to our inhouse guests for free. We believe that you can buy more detailed maps in tobacconist's and souvenir shops. Wi-fi is also offered complimentary to all of our guests; its strenght may occasionally be weak.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

For seeing the main sights and shopping perfect.Short walk across San Marco from the airport boats(15 euros pp) and has its own landing for a water taxi (115 euros for boat and up to six people with cases.30 minutes to the airport.
Our room was a bit dated, plastic walls and curtains rather bland.It did,however,have a superb view of a canal which afforded a wonderful insight into daily life in Venice.
Breakfast was good in a delightfully intimate room although cups were too small.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
The hotel was quiet on our side and all exterior sounds we're shut out by glazing if required.
Our room did not have a bath, but the shower was powerful and constantly hot.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front Desk Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
we have just read your good review and we would like to thank you so much for letting the potential, future guests know about our nice Hotel All'Angelo. You wrote about our central location: we are one step's throw from the most beautiful square in the world! We were happy to read you liked your view over the canal and enjoyed our buffet-style breakfast and the friendliness of our staff. We hope to meet you again, Sir/Madam, alway at the Hotel All'Angelo! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have just stayed here for a week, booked by my husband as a surprise for my birthday & our 30th wedding anniversary. The hotel in it's central location was perfect; very comfortable & run by an excellent friendly & very helpful staff. We had a fantastic time visiting all the local attractions & eating in some lovely cafes & restaurants. I would recommend having a Gondola ride, although a little pricey it is a lovely way to see the more hidden areas of Venice. Travel by the very overcrowded river buses is not for the faint hearted although good value & easy to use, but walking is by far the best way to get around - so bring good quality walking shoes & some stamina!!!!

Room Tip: 1st floor a little noisey - not the hotels fault - venice is a very busy place, so would recommende...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front Desk Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
we are so glad that you spent your 30th wedding anniversary with us! Most of all we are glad we helped make this very special time a nice experience to share with your partner. We hope to have the pleasure of taking care of you again, on some other occasion. Please do not forget that we all are and stay at your total disposal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

we stayed at the All`Angelo for our 25th wedding annaveriry. We had a wonderful Time, the staff was frindley & the room we had was to out of this world with views to die for. If we ever go back to Venice this would be the only place we would look at to stay. The location is excelent as you are in the heart fof the city.

Thank you for making our 25th a special occation

Room Tip: we stayed in room 140 which has views down to canles. Low levell floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johndawnjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front Desk Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
it was a real pleasure to have you with us, at the Hotel All'Angelo, on your 25th wedding anniversary (once more, congratulations!). We are glad your experience with us was a good one and that the view from your bedroom was... let's say... "good" :-) We hope to meet you again and to have the pleasure of taking good care of your next stay at the Hotel All'Angelo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend at the end of July and although the air conditioning was playing up at the time the staff did all they could for us. The front desk were very helpful and they went out of their way to help us find somebody to take care of an injured pigeon, this is I understand quite rare in Venice so a big thank you to them for their understanding. I would certainly stay there again, but would perhaps choose a cooler month!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sootyalbatross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front Desk Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
oh yes, we love animals and we were very pleased to help that injured bird you found in our streets. You did a very good thing by saving it from the crowds. By the way, thank you very much for the lovely review you left on Tripadvisor: it is always nice to see that our valued guests enjoyed their stay and appreciated our central location. We hope to have, once more, the pleasure of seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#53 of 385 in Venice
1,899 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#204 of 385 in Venice
1,120 reviews
San Marco
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
#169 of 385 in Venice
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
San Marco
Hotel Dona Palace
Hotel Dona Palace
#66 of 385 in Venice
891 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#78 of 385 in Venice
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to All'Angelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about All'Angelo Hotel

Address: Sestiere San Marco 403, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $79 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — All'Angelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Splitty, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your All'Angelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Angelo Hotel Venice
Angelo
Albergo All Angelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing