We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on a Venice canal, near St Mark's Square”
Review of All'Angelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
All'Angelo Hotel
Ranked #217 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Was there in May 2013, on a tour of Italy with a group of 38.

Hotel location was great, right on a canal, and a short walk to St Mark's square.
Like most/all buildings in Venice - the building is old. But the hotel is decent, clean, with good service. Not a luxury hotel, but a nice one. Nice bar area overlooking canal.
Great spots right on canal for photos as the gondolas go by.

Room for three of us was surprisingly quite large. Beds were basic, but more or less comfy. Tons of room and lots of closet room.

We had an issue with a leaky toilet, which was taken care of promptly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moderate_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front Desk Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you very much for your kind review which you have recently left on Tripadvisor. Part of a group or individual guest for us it makes no change: all of our guests are treated the same way and they are all very, very important to us. We are glad to read you have enjoyed our very central location (we are one stone's throw from San Marco Square), the good service and the cleanliness of our bedrooms. We hope to welcome you again soon in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (897)
There are newer reviews for All'Angelo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 897 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

Hotel is very run down, average breakfast.
Water leaks from roof , walls .
Air conditioning 2 months later from other posts still does not work so rooms are a cosy tanning weather without the sun of 27.4 degrease. Showered 3 times in the night.

Only good part of hotel is it offers service with a smile and gives good directions.

For the amount paid there is a lot better to be found

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front Desk Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
we would like to thank you for your review. We are very, very sorry that your stay was not enjoyable at all: we know that the biggest problem was the air-conditioning which was not too strong. By the end of July and beginning of August we had an exceptiona weather heat wave with average day temperature of +35°C. This is very unusual for the town of Venice and hit the efficiency of our air-conditioning system, which slowed down. We had our engineers and porters working on it for over 7 days to had it repaired: it now works fine. During those hot days we did all we could to minimize our beloved guest's inconveniences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Upgraded room to junior suite (room 105) was perfect. Great bathroom. Had a nice view of canal.
Word of warning. Wine bar is expensive! ! 2 JD and 2 baileys 39euro!
Other than that great hotel and location behind St Marcs!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front Desk Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you very, very much for the lovely review you left on Tripadvisor: we have just read it. We are really glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and your beautiful room 105 (it is one of my favourite!). We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to our nice Hotel All'Angelo, perhaps soon in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in mid July as part of a Globus tour. The location was great. Considering the hotel is about 400 years old, the rooms are all different- a bit quirky. We were on the first floor, so didn't need the elevator and the room for our kids had a great view of the canal behind the hotel. The A/C was ok (we were there during a heat wave) but only seemed to be on when we were in the room with our card in the slot. The bathroom was nice too... all marble! The wifi was spotty in the lobby area. Overall ... a decent choice if you consider the age/location.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the canal.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front Desk Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
we have just read your review and we would like to thank you! We accommodate many Globous Tours and seeing that our service is up to your standard only gives us joy. We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again at our Hotel All'Angelo... as part of a Globus Tour or as an individual. Thanks you again and give our regards to gorgeous Canada!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I don't know what the standard of hotels are in Venice, but I hope this isn't representative. We are here right now (Late July) as I write this. Its 90+ deg weather and the AC does not work and they can not repair it. Worse is the front desk smiles and lies to your face about it. I asked early on our first day if the AC was working, and the front desk gentleman told me yes, it was just very hot. OK, so when cools off in the evening it should be better. Had he been honest and admitted it was out, we would have asked to move to another hotel. We came back in the evening when outside temps had become more pleasant to find our room was still hot as daytime. I asked to have it checked and bring a fan to the room, and the nice gentleman who brought the fan finally told us the AC was dead for the entire hotel.

At this point it was around 10pm, and we are here for only 2 nights, so transferring to another hotel is not an option. We hoped they would repair it on day 2. The morning was no better. I also informed them the previous day that our room refrigerator did not function. I asked them to look into it. He said he would. We came back this afternoon and I asked if the AC was repaired, he said "yes but it is the same as yesterday" and I said "so it isn't working" - to which he finally admitted yes. I asked him about the fridge, and he told me "it is repaired, but it does not get cold". I'm not sure if he just knew English words and had no idea what he was saying, but it sure seems like they just lie to avoid trouble.

We booked this hotel with miles, and I'm pretty sure we're going to contact the travel company and see about a refund.

If you're a regular traveler to Venice this place may be an option to be close to San Marco despite being awful. If you're a first and potentially only time traveler to Venice, stay far far away. This hotel will ruin your experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shadowimg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front Desk Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Guest,
at the time we are writing this reply you are still staying with us.
Please note that nothing is eternal in this world: every thing breaks down, now and then. We are deeply sorry that our air-conditioning system has broken down just during your stay with us. We can, however, assure you that we are doing all we can to try to sort our valued guests' problems and to have the air-conditioning fixed as soon as our engineer is able to. And this exceptional heat is not helping us, surely.
Of course we hope you understand we did not damage the air-conditioning on purpose, just to unplease YOU.
And, of course, we hope you understand ALL of our staff is doing all it can to minimize any inconveniences: we are working very hard and are constantly under pressure because of this... we are not having any fun at all, believe us: we are actually working for you and for all of our valued clients, instead!
Most of all we do not lie and we do not smile at anybody's face about it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Well we booked 2 triple rooms
The rooms were very ordinary not at all modern or up to the mark in terms of facilities
The reception staff was good though
One of the beds was broken and replaced 1 day later
the location is excellent near st marks and san marco square
Go there for the location not the rooms

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wad214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front Desk Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
we would like to thank you that you took time to write a review about our nice Hotel All'Angelo in Tripadvisor. We are glad you appreciated our very central location and we hope your stay was enjoyable. We hope to have the pleasure of looking after your stay again, perhaps in the future and at the Hotel All'Angelo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Albergo All' Angelo was not our first choice. But the Stukey Hilton was booked up so this was their recommendation. By and large, it was a nice hotel--pricey, but given the location just off San Marco square, that's more or less to be expected. I can't fault the staff or the rooms. They we're not what you'd find in the states with a four-star hotel but for Venice, probably in line with other Venetian hostelries. The "free" breakfast was good and convenient, well stocked and attractively presented, though word has it you should eat early before the pickings become somewhat slim. There's an espresso machine, fresh fruit and pastries, prosciutto, scrambled eggs, cereal, etc.

Now, about the elevator... The building was built, they say, in the 17th century. So far as I could tell, the elevator may have been also. In any case, we'd no more arrived (early) than it broke down. My wife does not do stairs well so I insisted on a ground floor room, which I was politely informed simply didn't exist. Instead, they moved us from the fourth floor to what they termed the "first" floor, which was, in fact, up a full flight of stairs. That was nice of them but torture for my wife. Worse, the elevator remained out of service for the full two days of our stay. The poor porter...I truly felt sorry for him. The hotel has, I believe, five levels.

The hotel also has a water entrance and a Venetian "alley" entrance, a bar, a pleasant lobby with free Wi-Fi (none in the rooms). The signal strength was adequate if not exactly spectacular. Others have complained about the elevator at this hotel so I was not really surprised to find it inoperative. As for other complaints in reviews, we encountered no other problems. I was especially relieved to find the air-conditioning working fine, even by frigid American standards. Be advised hotels near San Marco are quite expensive. Our pretty much standard room was more than $300 per night. I'm guessing some of the other, more elegant places nearby were considerably more.

As I mentioned, there are two means of access to the hotel. A private water taxi from the airport is fast, trouble-free, and exciting. It's also 120 euros. Sharing a ride is possible if you can find anyone else going to your hotel (good luck with that). Would I sleep with the Angelos again? Probably not if I could find some place better nearby for a similar cost. I saw several nicer hotels near the square but didn't inquire as to price. With hotels in Venice especially, like real estate, it's all about location, location, location. If you're young, healthy, and don't mind walking a little, there are places a bit deeper in the maze of canals and bridges probably nicer and cheaper. Yet, keep in mind NOTHING is really cheap in Venice. That's about the only thing that is.

Room Tip: Try for a room as close to ground level as possible, the elevator is tiny and a tad undependable.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim_Lane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_Angelo, Front Desk Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
we would like, once again, to apologize for the breaking-down of our elevator: as you have correctly said, it did not work at all for two whole days. It was a nightmare for many of our guests first of all, and for us secondly. All the staff tried to accommodate and please our valued clients' requests at its best, considering the unconvenience of 5 floors and a staircase to walk. We would like to thank you for being so objective as to point out very clearly all the services that we provide and our good sides. Should you think of staying again, in the future (and we hope so), please do not hesitate to contact us directly via email or telephone. Thanks again for your understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
#164 of 384 in Venice
436 reviews
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#199 of 384 in Venice
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Dona Palace
Hotel Dona Palace
#70 of 384 in Venice
819 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 384 in Venice
1,864 reviews
San Marco
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Albergo Ca' Alvise
#156 of 384 in Venice
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to All'Angelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about All'Angelo Hotel

Address: Sestiere San Marco 403, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $114 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — All'Angelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your All'Angelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Angelo Hotel Venice
Angelo
Albergo All Angelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing