We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible location, great room- make sure you get it on a deal”
Review of Palazzo Selvadego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palazzo Selvadego
Ranked #163 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here in November and booked it, last minute, through Expedia on a really good deal (just over 300 pounds for 2 people sharing one double room over 3 nights).

Took us quite a while to find as we kept walking past it (it's just a discreet doorway so very easy to miss) but we were delighted with the quality of the interiors and the room/bathroom. This is a 4* rated hotel but, apart from being slightly small, ours felt like a 5* (though there are no mod cons/pool/gym etc). If you have breakfast included, you have to walk around the corner to the very impressive Grand Monaco (the parent hotel), where to sit in a room which is right on the waterfront with incredible views.

The main selling point, for me, was the location- which was literally next to the square- probably as close as a few steps away!

The only thing I'd say is I've looked into this hotel since our last trip and it appears it can be extremely pricey most of the year- not sure i would have been so blown away with it had we paid huge fees! Keep an eye on Expedia.

Room Tip: Our room didn't have any views- but we didn't care because everything else was great and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ILikeBlinking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrieleMarchiori, Direttore at Palazzo Selvadego, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear ILikeBlinking,

I carefully read your comments! I thank you very much for your nice words.
Rates are always depending by the season and by the day. You pay less in December, January, March,... and you pay more in April, May, June, September, October,... and you pay less during the week-days and more during the week-end days.

I really to hope to see you again.

Sincerely yours,
Gabriele Marchiori, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 398 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

The one odd thing is that you must check-in and check-out at a different hotel a two minute walk away (Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal). But other than that, the Palazzo Selvadego was a very pleasant experience. We lucked out because we were given a massive second floor apartment that had an extra bathroom and a living room. The rooms were well maintained and had some nice modern touches, like free WiFi (although the bandwidth was a bit low), one 115V power outlet and the all-important safe. As for other services and amenities, there really were none. But that was fine by us since we weren't in Venice to lounge around a hotel anyway. The Palazzo Selvadego was a great place to crash at the end of long day of trekking.

The biggest plus is the location. It's in the middle of many attractions but being a side street so it's not overrun with tourists and there was little noise to speak of at night. You're two minutes from the lagoon and all the ferries, one minute from Piazza San Marco, and five from all the shopping of the Mercerie.

Room Tip: See if you can get apartment 520.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MiniSpartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrieleMarchiori, Direttore at Palazzo Selvadego, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear MiniSpartan,

i thank you very much for the comments! We try always to render the guest's stay more comfortable as possible! I will take into consideration to improve the bandwidth of our WiFi.

I really to hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again at Palazzo Selvadego.

Sincerely yours,
Gabriele Marchiori, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Literally 30 seconds walk to San Marco Square, the rooms were very nice and well kept. The location of this hotel was fantastic, right in the middle of the action!

The room was spacious and the bathroom was large and really nice. The entrance to the hotel is hard to find at first, but after checking in at the Hotel Grand Monaco first, you're then escorted around to Palazzo Selvadego. Breakfast was also served at Hotel Grand Monaco. Wifi access was included in the room rate, although the first token we tried to use didn't, they simply swapped it out for a new one and worked a treat.

The day before we left, the concierge downstairs was very helpful printing out timetables for the trains from Venice to Milan and suggesting the best way to get to the train station in the shortest amount of time.

One small issue was having a room right next to the laneway that led up to the Hardrock Cafe, that tended to generate a bit of noise late at night, but other than that, the room was great!

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the lane way if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimsyAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Location:
It could hardly be located in a better place: It’s only 50 metres away from San Mark Square
Rooms.

Rooms:
The first room I was first assigned had a double bed and it was much smaller, darker and felt enclosed; it had more the looks of a 2 stars hotel than anything. When I mentioned to the concierge that they room I had reserved (and paid for) was a double room they realized the mistake and they changed me to one that was more spacious, had larger windows and was brighter. The room and bathroom were modern and very clean.

Service:
The hotel does not have a concierge service per se so if you want to ask something you’ll have to rely on rather apathetic staff. The most notable exception was Adriano, who was quite nice and when asked about a restaurant he recommended as a very good one (Al Paradiso) and made the reservations for us.

Wifi: When I was there they offered WiFi access for a relatively reasonable fee (around 20 euros for three days), which for Venetian standards it’s quite reasonable.

In summary, if I were on the same budget I would for sure return to the hotel, provided I could get a room like the one I was given at the second try.

Room Tip: Do inquire in about about the type of room you will be getting because it may make a big difference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canuckglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrieleMarchiori, Direttore at Palazzo Selvadego, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for the comments.
I would like to poiht out that starting January 2013 wifi access is free, at the Monaco & Grand Canal too.

I really to hope to see you again for the second visit in a room on the top floor.
Please consider my self always at your disposal.

Sincerely Yours,
Gabriele Marchiori, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 2 nights during the Best of Italy tour by Globus. It was wonderful! The rooms weren't very large but the location was superb. We could not have asked for better. We thought that the open windows would bring in a lot of noise, but the street underneath our room was very quiet. Out breakfast was in a sister hotel and it was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My sister and I stayed in this hotel on the first leg of our first trip to Italy. What a fantastic experience! Ancient buliding in the heart of Venice, steps from Piazza San Marco - we were actually the only people on the piazza first thing in the morning and last thing at night.

The room was beautifully decorated in keeping with its heritage, the bathroom was modern and clean, and breakfast was around the corner at Hotel Monaco overlooking the Grand Canal!

What's not to love??

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovetotravelsisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrieleMarchiori, Direttore at Palazzo Selvadego, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for the comments!
Our major aim is the guest satisfaction and to render our guest's stay the most pleasant and memorable.
I really to hope to see you again at Palazzo Selvadego.

Sincerely yours,
Gabriele Marchiori, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Satellite hotel of Grand Monaco and Canal hotel down the street by the vaporetto stop.

PROS:
- AMAZING location right by Grand Canal, vaporetto stop, St. Mark's Square
- we had the ability to drop by the hotel for a mini-siesta and recharge throughout each day
- high end shopping district and lots of restaurants
- clean room with lots of space, updated look and lovely bathroom (also had a real hairdryer!)
- good soundproofing in our room
- perfect if you're in Venice to sightsee and spend your time out of the room
- free wifi in your room (laptop connected fine, iphone had issues)
- great for couples

CONS:
- no frills - i.e. large lobby, elevator (as per usual in Europe), small check-in/out desk
- was difficult to find the front door! (Beside Ermenegildo Zegna, the unmarked doorway)
- lots of stairs and a bit maze-like (must have bought the buildings next door and expanded into there)
- tiny TV as is the norm in Italy for independent hotels
- mattress was starting to get a bit sunken in but was not a problem
- it was expensive but for the location convenience, it was totally worth it on our trip

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
San Marco
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
#167 of 384 in Venice
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#63 of 384 in Venice
751 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#204 of 384 in Venice
1,097 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#60 of 384 in Venice
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Selvadego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Selvadego

Address: San Marco 1124/B, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#117 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $152 - $698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Selvadego 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Four Star Superior Hotel, owned by the Benetton Group, as the Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal, started to be a hotel from the end of the XII century on, when it was already chosen by ambassadors, prelates and important people of the Venetian life.With its late-Gothic facade in Venetian Byzantine style it surely is one of the most remarkable and significant examples of the Venetian architecture of the late thirteenth century. Today, the 34 rooms of Palazzo Selvadego are equipped with every comfort and immersed in a calm and relaxing atmosphere and are able to transmit from the first moment the uniqueness of this building, thanks to its design and also to the exposed beams in the rooms. Services include safety box, minibar, TV, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries in the bathrooms and a kettle with various teas and coffee available to the client. Breakfast is served in the restaurant of the Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal which is just 70 meters from the Palazzo Selvadego and according to the weather it will be served on the magnificent terrace of the Restaurant "Grand Canal" with breathtaking views on the Grand Canal and St. Mark’s Basin. This place has always been the meeting point of the mundane life in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, ACCOR, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Palazzo Selvadego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Del Selvadego Venice
Palazzo Del Selvadego Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing