We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Selvadego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo Selvadego
Ranked #169 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 2 nights during the Best of Italy tour by Globus. It was wonderful! The rooms weren't very large but the location was superb. We could not have asked for better. We thought that the open windows would bring in a lot of noise, but the street underneath our room was very quiet. Out breakfast was in a sister hotel and it was very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    141
    35
    16
    5
See reviews for
37
178
39
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My sister and I stayed in this hotel on the first leg of our first trip to Italy. What a fantastic experience! Ancient buliding in the heart of Venice, steps from Piazza San Marco - we were actually the only people on the piazza first thing in the morning and last thing at night.

The room was beautifully decorated in keeping with its heritage, the bathroom was modern and clean, and breakfast was around the corner at Hotel Monaco overlooking the Grand Canal!

What's not to love??

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovetotravelsisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrieleMarchiori, Direttore at Palazzo Selvadego, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for the comments!
Our major aim is the guest satisfaction and to render our guest's stay the most pleasant and memorable.
I really to hope to see you again at Palazzo Selvadego.

Sincerely yours,
Gabriele Marchiori, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Satellite hotel of Grand Monaco and Canal hotel down the street by the vaporetto stop.

PROS:
- AMAZING location right by Grand Canal, vaporetto stop, St. Mark's Square
- we had the ability to drop by the hotel for a mini-siesta and recharge throughout each day
- high end shopping district and lots of restaurants
- clean room with lots of space, updated look and lovely bathroom (also had a real hairdryer!)
- good soundproofing in our room
- perfect if you're in Venice to sightsee and spend your time out of the room
- free wifi in your room (laptop connected fine, iphone had issues)
- great for couples

CONS:
- no frills - i.e. large lobby, elevator (as per usual in Europe), small check-in/out desk
- was difficult to find the front door! (Beside Ermenegildo Zegna, the unmarked doorway)
- lots of stairs and a bit maze-like (must have bought the buildings next door and expanded into there)
- tiny TV as is the norm in Italy for independent hotels
- mattress was starting to get a bit sunken in but was not a problem
- it was expensive but for the location convenience, it was totally worth it on our trip

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed from 29 April to 2 May 2013

The advantage of this hotel is the location, just one minute from Piazza San Marco. The rooms are modern and well maintained, and the staff are very polite and helpful. However, on two mornings I was woken at around 7.00 am by noises from an upstairs floor which appeared to be maintenance work of some kind - though this may have been from other premises in the same building. Other than that, the hotel is located in a quiet alley just off Calle Valoressa and was generally very peaceful at night. I recommend checking in at the Hotel Monaco as they will help you with your luggage to the Selvadego. Checking out there is also very efficient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank n_kernohan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Less than 100 feet,from Piazza San Marco. Nice but very small rooms. Excellent friendly staff. Part of Monaco and Grand Canal where breakfast is served. Really great breakfast and you can eat it on terrace overlooking the harbor. Could see a canal from our window. Not cheap.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weavercs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrieleMarchiori, Direttore at Palazzo Selvadego, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest. I thank you very much for choosing Palazzo Selvadego and for the nice comments .
Palazzo Selvadego has 34 rooms. completely different one from the other. Differences are for the size and taste. Palazzo Selvadego is one of the most ancient hotel in the town and Selvadego means " wild man" .
I really do hope to Have the opportunity to welcoming you again!

Sincerely yours,
Gabriele Marchiori, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had a short stay in Venice, and chose the Selvadego.
Nice room, good size, comfortable beds. Location is relatively quite, and staff attentive, although little interaction was required.
The room was warm-hot, and the A/C didn't work. On inquiry we understood it is a property-wide system that is either on heating or cooling, and cooling mode wasn't due until the following week.
Nonetheless, the system wouldn't even turn on or blow air. A bit disappointed, especially considering the cost.
Location is good, right off the square.
Coffee/tea making facilities (as I would expect), but cups were tiny - we asked (unsuccesfully) for larger - but ended up buying our own.
no pool, no restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandddweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Great location in Saint Mark's square - so great to be close to a landmark especially for first time visitors. Rooms were modern and clean. Concierges were helpful and friendly. Hotel Monaco staff (for checkout) was quite rude, as other reviewers have stated.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ribbit927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#121 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#197 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
San Marco
San Marco Palace Suites
San Marco Palace Suites
#262 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#76 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Selvadego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Selvadego

Property: Palazzo Selvadego
Address: San Marco 1124/B, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#118 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Selvadego 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Four Star Superior Hotel, owned by the Benetton Group, as the Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal, started to be a hotel from the end of the XII century on, when it was already chosen by ambassadors, prelates and important people of the Venetian life.With its late-Gothic facade in Venetian Byzantine style it surely is one of the most remarkable and significant examples of the Venetian architecture of the late thirteenth century. Today, the 34 rooms of Palazzo Selvadego are equipped with every comfort and immersed in a calm and relaxing atmosphere and are able to transmit from the first moment the uniqueness of this building, thanks to its design and also to the exposed beams in the rooms. Services include safety box, minibar, TV, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries in the bathrooms and a kettle with various teas and coffee available to the client. Breakfast is served in the restaurant of the Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal which is just 70 meters from the Palazzo Selvadego and according to the weather it will be served on the magnificent terrace of the Restaurant "Grand Canal" with breathtaking views on the Grand Canal and St. Mark’s Basin. This place has always been the meeting point of the mundane life in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR and Despegar.com so you can book your Palazzo Selvadego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Del Selvadego Venice
Palazzo Del Selvadego Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing