We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, comfortable and quiet”
Review of Palazzo Selvadego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Palazzo Selvadego
Ranked #158 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
South East England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, comfortable and quiet”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

you couldn't find a better location than this, as previous reviewers say. Unlike some previous reviewers, we found the staff at both the Selvedego and Monaco Grand Canal extremely helpful and courteous. The breakfast was excellent, with a good choice of hot and cold food. The bed (room 520 - large superior double which has an extra room and bathroom) was very comfortable and the room was unbelievably quiet considering the location - you can hear people in the room above if they are moving around but the noise isn't intrusive. Best of all, the hotel is on the doorstep of a really excellent restaurant Da Carla (straight down the passage on the right of the door of the hotel).

Room Tip: 520 is a good choice if you want to be independent. It is in an annexe with a separate entrance to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spalding64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrieleMarchiori, Direttore at Palazzo Selvadego, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
I thank you very much for your comments and for the nice words and I really to hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Palazzo Selvadego!

Room 520 is a large and nice room but at the Palazzo every room is completely different one from the other and every room has a different history!

Sincerely yours,
Gabriele Marchiori, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    149
    36
    16
    5
See reviews for
40
183
41
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great location right at the entrance of San Marco square, but tucked away on a side piazza so it's not affected by the heavy foot traffic of the square. Also only steps away from the San Marco stop of the public transportation so no need for a private water taxi. Save the extra euros for the world class shopping right outside the hotel door, no exaggeration. From all the high end European designer labels, local leather goods at amazing prices, hand embroidered Italian linens etc. etc. it's all there. There are numerous restaurants of all kinds in the immediate vicinity. Rialto Bridge, Academia and all the other main attractions are accessible by foot. The immediate surroundings in my opinion are the most charming in the city. The hotel itself is clean and bright with wide hallways. The rooms are beautifully appointed with nice linen sheets, clean and spacious bathroom with nice towels, ample storage, toiletries and everything one needs to make their hotel stay comfortable. I could not be more pleased with this hotel. Also, value for money is exceptional.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant in this hotel, but the affiliated Hotel Monaco a few steps away has a restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here in November 2012 with a tour group. Walking through the narrow alley up to this old bhuilding we were pleasantly surprised when we saw our room. Large, beautifully decorated , chic and modern room, very nice stylish bathroom and great shower, coffee pot and coffee in the room (first one on our trip). The location is perfect, right behind St. Mark's square.
The hotel itself has no lobby or amenities of its own. This hotel is part of Hotel Monaco which is next door. A very nice breakfast was served at the Monaco with a beautiful water view. We also took the water taxi from Hotel Monaco's lobby to the airport. Not having its own lobby and services may be a small drawback but the location and the room and other amenities make up for it. We highly recommend this hotel although I must say some of the other hotels we saw in Venice form the outside looked pretty nice too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Rox-In-Box
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I've no idea how much the hotel would be alone as I got it through a package on easyJet. The location was amazing (right around the corner form San Marco square) but still quiet at night. The room was a good size, the bed was comfortable, there was plenly of closet space, it was clean, had A/C and an amazing shower. I would recommend it.

Do keep in mind that you need to check into the main hotel but it's not at all far and not a massive inconvenience as a bellboy helps bring your stuff to your room while showing you how to get there. Not a good place if you like room service (as there isn't any) but you can find food in San Marco square until midnight. Also, there is no iron so pack your own.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lfpnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had booked this as part of a British Airways package mainly for the price and the location. It is literally next to St Mark's Square so the location could not be bettered. We had room 520 which was an apartment, hence we had living room, kitchen "area", bedroom and two bathrooms. However, I agree with the comments of the reviewer just prior to mine, the shower in the ensuite off the bedroom was completely dangerous to get in and out of - and I am 5 ft 8 in with a 6 ft 3 in husband! A very high step. Our "other" bathroom had a traditional low step in and out of the bathroom. We had two fridges and tea and coffee making facilities in both the living room and the bedroom. Honestly, if we had known we would have this much space we would have invited all our friends! Amazing for Venice where I understand that hotel rooms can be poky.

The bed was two singles "zipped" together but comfy. You spend so much time walking around Venice that you could sleep anywhere. There was loads of space for suitcases, bags, wardrobe space to hang things up. But, as stated above, the very best aspect is that you are so close to the main touristy areas.

The bad - no facilities at all, so if you want a bar or restaurant within your hotel, there is none, although it is only a couple of minutes to the Hotel Monaco. However, prices down there are eyewatering so we didn't bother using it at all. As previous reviews state, you have to go down there to check out and the staff are very "sniffy" and not at all friendly. I wanted to check in on line and they charged us 3 euros for an hour's use when it literally took 2 minutes. (NB when we have used a BA package in the USA on several occasions, hotels in the US always allow free use of the internet to check in on line). We asked the concierge for some information but he was completely uninterested in helping us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank B0kk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The location was wonderful, steps from Piazza San Marco! A very comfortable bed, english TV (not that you really spend time in Venice watching TV...still it was nice), clean spacious room. The bad, the shower/tub while beautiful and large, were also a serious hazard...being only 5'2" the step into the shower was mid thigh high (not an issue for me...but someone not as young, less limber...wouldn't have been able to do it)? The tile was also loose on the step into the shower...it was probably just this room, but room 502 needs a little fixing. However, none of this deterred our enjoyment of the hotel, it was a wonderful stay and the staff was helpful and very nice.

The check-in/check out is a little awkward as others have noted, however we did appreciate them escorting us to the hotel upon check-in...its a short walk through couture heaven, but one could get easily lost in those tiny Venice streets, so the escort is appreciated.

The breakfast at the Hotel Monaco was pricey (35 euro pp for a buffet of eggs, bacon, fruit, pastries and juices)--however the view is spectacular! So while the breakfast isn't worth 35 EUR, the view is priceless!

While the hotels prices are on the the higher end...the location is perfect and rates are comparable to others in the area. Overall, I'd highly recommend the hotel!

Room Tip: Room 502 has a VERY high step into the shower--but the room is wonderful otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krssy215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The only positive point about this hotel is its location, just next to St Mark square. Apart from that, it's pretty awful. This old building is a Monaco hotel annex, and is kept by 1 man who vaguely supervises who comes in and out. No bar, no sitting room, onlly the bedrooms.The entrance door is very narrow, and I wonder what would happen in case of fire panic. There are steps a bit everywhere, and only a few spots are equipped for handicapped people. Now about the very tiny room : I was given a room with a very narrow bed, so narrow that I had to get up to turn on and off the electric switches which were far away from the bed.Small bedstands, with coffeepot on top of one of them.The room was not very clean : a dog had obviously peed on a wall. i asked twice for some cleaning, but nobody would care. The chair was stained, and there was dust under the pieces of furniture. In front of the window : a wall. The air conditioning system was noisy, and the small refrigerator was heating the safe on top of it. The TV was probably bought 50 years ago, and did not work well.The electric contact card was not working well, and the lights would go out at once ! The toilet seat was unscrewed : It was quickly fixed.The shower was not running but driping, clogged up with hard water fur...+ Low water pressure. Plastic bags in the waste baskets on day 1, but never again. Etc, etc...When I asked to get a better room, the answer was "yes, for 450 $/night"...When you leave, you have to go and pay at the Monaco hotel, where the reception staff is slightly patronizing. And, of course, nobody would care to ask you if you are pleased...Definitly void this hotel.

Room Tip: Just don't book a room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#63 of 385 in Venice
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
#171 of 385 in Venice
423 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#72 of 385 in Venice
977 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#203 of 385 in Venice
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Selvadego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Selvadego

Property: Palazzo Selvadego
Address: San Marco 1124/B, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#118 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Selvadego 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Four Star Superior Hotel, owned by the Benetton Group, as the Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal, started to be a hotel from the end of the XII century on, when it was already chosen by ambassadors, prelates and important people of the Venetian life.With its late-Gothic facade in Venetian Byzantine style it surely is one of the most remarkable and significant examples of the Venetian architecture of the late thirteenth century. Today, the 34 rooms of Palazzo Selvadego are equipped with every comfort and immersed in a calm and relaxing atmosphere and are able to transmit from the first moment the uniqueness of this building, thanks to its design and also to the exposed beams in the rooms. Services include safety box, minibar, TV, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries in the bathrooms and a kettle with various teas and coffee available to the client. Breakfast is served in the restaurant of the Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal which is just 70 meters from the Palazzo Selvadego and according to the weather it will be served on the magnificent terrace of the Restaurant "Grand Canal" with breathtaking views on the Grand Canal and St. Mark’s Basin. This place has always been the meeting point of the mundane life in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Palazzo Selvadego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Del Selvadego Venice
Palazzo Del Selvadego Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing