We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
Ranked #152 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Hotel has ideal location, which is all you need if you are going to be spending your whole day around Venice. Room was mediocre and shower was horrible. No water pressure. There was a warning about ants in rooms as well when we arrived. I didn't see any, but not comforting. Like I said, we spent most of the day out of the room anyway, and the location really is great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enrica3anatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Antigo Trovatore
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 575 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a very good location, it's very near the Praça San Marcos. The rooms are simple but clean. The breakfast is not organized and they have poor options (only bread, butler, coffee, cappuccino and juice) - no cheese that I love :(

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janarbcamargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

First time to Venice and I am so happy we stayed here. The hotel is right next to Dige Palace and St. Marks plaza and hundred if shops and restaurants. Our room was good sized with AC (but the widows open for cool breeze). The hotel us old but very well maintained and the bathroom in our room was large with tub and shower. Venice was a real "ah ha" City for us. Having such a nice hotel so close to everything was bug plus. When we return to Venice again I will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markobrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

From our balcony (worth paying a bit more for that) we looked across the rooftops to the back of the Palazzo Ducale. 3 minutes' walk from San Marco; 2 minutes from the vaporetto (San Zaccharia); in the heart of the old city. Comfortable, very clean, unfussy and air-conditioned! A great place to stay: we had a very happy visit and would certainly use this hotel again. Breakfast monotonous and unimaginative.

Room Tip: Pay for a room with a balcony: really worth it for the air and the view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antigotrovatore, Responsabile reception at Hotel Antigo Trovatore, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for the nice words.

Hope to have you our guest again.

All the staff
Hotel Antigo Trovatore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Me and my partner arrived 30th August for 3 nights. We have done a lot of travelling over the years and this is the first time I have left a review...this is a really fantastic hotel in a brilliant location. Our room was super clean and air conditioned and staff were very welcoming. We are not ones to visit the same place twice however we will be staying at this hotel again and we will be visiting beautiful Venice again. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gema10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We visited Venice, The master piece city crafted by the vinci.in february 2012. The hotel was located exactly where we wanted within a comfortable walking distance from the CENTRAL ATTARCTION of venice like Dogg s Palace and St Mark Square. The hotel rooms were cozy, neat and clean. The receptionists were friendly and helpful. Another big advantage of this hotel was it was very near from the veporatto station.In this budget the room which we got was spacious and very nice. The lift was good, lobby and the other areas were also clean and there was a touch of warmth in the decore everywhere.The hotel is surrounded by many resturants serving mouthwatering sea food and other dishes. What any one can ask more to make travelling easy and memorable.We enjoyed our small stay.We will surely prefer to come back here again.If you have limited budget and less time to explore Venice then this is a perfect stay for a traveller.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManamiRoyGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

While this was not a 4 star resort, it is walking distance from the boat ports. Very close to restaurants and shopping. While the room was nothing to write home about, it was clean and had all of the things we needed it was small. This European charmer is a place to sleep and shower. If you are staying in your room to much you are not enjoying the beautiful sites of Venice. I would for sure stay there again.

Room Tip: Location location location
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank hueyx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Commercio & Pellegrino
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#84 of 384 in Venice
435 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 384 in Venice
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Paganelli
Hotel Paganelli
#102 of 384 in Venice
906 reviews
Castello
Hotel Campiello
Hotel Campiello
#96 of 384 in Venice
850 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#129 of 384 in Venice
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antigo Trovatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antigo Trovatore

Address: Calle delle Rasse 4534, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Family Hotel in Venice
#142 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $106 - $1,041 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antigo Trovatore 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A familiar and confortable enviroment embraces the guests at the ANTIGO TROVATORE Hotel. Located at less one hundred meters from the splendid ST. Mark’s Square, in the heart of Venice, the hotel is easily reached from the Riva degli Schiavoni where there are a number of boat stops for the city water transportation system and where our street, Calle delle Rasse, opens out into. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Antigo Trovatore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigo Trovatore Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing