We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and nice bedroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
Ranked #134 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Location and nice bedroom”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The location is in the Saint Marco. It is in the middle of restaurants and shops area. It is very close to the Saint Marco landmark too.

Small bedroom but nice interior, I love it. And its value for money.

I love the idea of open area for smoking and having coffee in the 2nd floor.

Unfortunately there is no free WIFI! ops yes there is only for 15 minutes. What you can get for 15 minutes internet? LOL. As far as I remember you have to pay 2 Euro for 1 hour access and only for 1 device. I guess the whole hotel industry in Italy has to understand how far they have left behind of the world hotel standard! One more thing, there is a picture of roof top open restaurant but when I checked there is nothing on the roof.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DewiRetnowati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    294
    68
    14
    8
See reviews for
89
299
50
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just back from Venice and a great stay at the Antigo Trovatore.

Can really recommend this hotel if you want a reasonable price in a great location - its almost next door to the Danielli.

Accommodation is clean and staff are friendly.

Breakfast comprises of Tea/Coffee, Juices and Croissants.

Had a room with a terrace - worth the extra - a 10 square metre space in the middle of Venice where you can catch the rays is worth every penny.

What you save by staying at this hotel you can spend on a drink or two round the corner at the Danielli.

Will be staying here again next time in Venice.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomr144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antigotrovatore, Responsabile reception at Hotel Antigo Trovatore, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are very happy that you enjoy your stay in our hotel.
Hope to have you as our guest again.

Best regards
All the staff
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

clean comfortable friendly ideal quiet. location superb. handy for all attractions, easy to find, just excellent all round and will stay again if i return to venice, no hesitation in recommending. good bathrooms, clean and tidy, cant say anymore

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank codhead1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Everything was great for our stay here. Friendly staff especially the lady who serves breakfast, great service, nice clean rooms and great location! Haven't really got much to fault them on. However, I know this is not uncommon but it is one of my BIGGEST pet hates. Our double bed was two singles pushed together!!! This drives me and my partner insane because the beds fall apart in the middle and considering it was our honeymoon we would have rather not slept in single beds! I think that this should be advertised... a double room is not a double room if it has two single beds! Gah!! Rant over. Nice hotel. Stay there.

Room Tip: 303 with a terrace overlooking St Mark's square. Unbeatable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a great stay at Hotel Antigo Trovatore. The hotel is in excellent location, very clean, modern and quiet. Perfect hotel for a 1st stay in Venice. Paying extra for the private terrace did worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antigotrovatore, Direttore generale at Hotel Antigo Trovatore, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are very happy that you enjoy your stay in our hotel.
Hope to have you as our guest again.
Best Regards,

All the staff
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had a bad impression of this hotel from the very start, since it was fronted by what appeared to be an unsmiling, young, black-haired, female robot, who informed us perfunctorily that our room wouldn´t be ready until half one, despite twelve being the check-in time. Since it wasn´t yet 10 (we'd travelled overnight), we had little choice but to leave our luggage there and go out into the streets, despite our tiredness. It was clear right away that the location was great as we were only seconds away from Venice´s epicenter, San Marco´s square. Unfortunately, it´s also the most expensive part.

My wife's sleep that night was disturbed by a loud, drilling noise, which turned out to be the glass light vibrating violently against the roof. (It took us a while to actually figure out what was actually causing the noise.) We complained at 7 to the night porter, but he said we´d have to wait until his boss arrived. The robot was on station again at 8 and broke records in terms of bad customer service. She smiled disbelievingly, even when we explained that it wasn't noise from other guests, but from within the room itself, and thus the responsibility of the hotel. Her unprofessionalism and lack of interest was incredible. She made no attempt to solve the problem, other than suggest that the cleaner have a look at it, and refused to believe that it was actually the glass vibrating against the roof, either by means of a draft or pipes running through the ceiling, until I insisted she come and witness it for herself. Even then, she made no attempt to solve the problem.

I fixed it myself by jamming tissue paper between the glass and the ceiling, but the receptionist made no further inquiries, nor did she make any serious attempt to change the room when we first complained. She also said the manager was not in yet, and that she didn't know when he/she would be in - a standard brush-off in the service industry, which we are familiar with from having worked in it. Of course, if her manner had been more serviceable, we wouldn't have been so annoyed, but overall her attitude spoiled what would have otherwise been quite an acceptable hotel. I should add the other staff, including the night porter were nice.

By the way, the hotel has a bizarre policy of not allowing you leave the hotel with the key. Also the showers are badly designed, with the glass doors not fully sealing the shower area, inevitably resulting in water spilling all over the bathroom area.

Room Tip: Can't recommend any rooms as we weren't given a choice to change.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eriugena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antigotrovatore, Responsabile reception at Hotel Antigo Trovatore, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are very sorry that you stay in our hotel was not a good time for you.
But we would like to say few things, romms are garantee from 14 and i am sure that this is write on your reservation paper, this is because the check out is at 11 o'clock, so as you can image we need time to clean all the rooms. We give to you the possibility to leave the bags at the reception ( and a lot of hotel do not give this type of service) we can suggest to you next time to read proprely you confirmation letter about check in and check out time. About the policy to leave the key at the reception most of the hotel has this policy, we choose this, because happena lot of time that guests lost the room's key around Venice, and then didi not want to pay the price to do another key.
Unfortunaly you did not write your surname, so is very difficult for us, find out in which room you were.
Again, we are vey sorry about all that problems about your stay.

Best Regards,
All the staff
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Friendly and helpful personnel, excellent location, very clean and comfortable room, satisfactory breakfast. I was very pleased with my decision to stay here for my first visit to Venice and would definitely consider staying here again and would recommend to friends and family. The location was perfect! 1 minute walk to Piazza San Marco yet the room was very quiet. Very nice restaurants and stores on the street. Taxi bus boats just steps away will take you where you need to go. Considering that Venice was packed solid for Carnavale, this was really the best place to be as I got to see all the costumes on parade yet could quickly pop into my hotel for a rest break if needed. Next time I will book directly through their website as doing so will include breakfast and wifi, which are not included when you book through a hotel booking site.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownGirl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antigotrovatore, Responsabile reception at Hotel Antigo Trovatore, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Cliente,
grazie mille per le bellissime parole e siamo molto contenti che le sia piaciuto l'hotel..
Speriamo di averla ancora nostro ospite.

Cordiali saluti

Tutto lo staff
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Commercio & Pellegrino
Castello
Hotel Campiello
Hotel Campiello
#96 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#79 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#99 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Castello
Hotel Paganelli
Hotel Paganelli
#101 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#23 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antigo Trovatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antigo Trovatore

Property: Hotel Antigo Trovatore
Address: Calle delle Rasse 4534, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#129 Family Hotel in Venice
#143 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antigo Trovatore 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Antigo Trovatore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigo Trovatore Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing