We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Great Location and Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Ranked #108 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I didn't find the Mercurio easy to find with my Google map but it was worth searching for. The staff speak good English and are very helpful. The location near La Fenice is superb anyway and especially of your are going to La Fenice! The room was plain, simple and adequate. The shower was a little small for a portly gent. It was excellent value and I would return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 877 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Mercurio as part of a Rick Steves tour to Italy. You have to climb a number of stairs to reach the lobby area - which is probably a good thing considering Venice's problems with flooding. Our room was immediately off the Lobby, which I thought might be a problem from a noise standpoint, but it never was. The room and bathroom were both very small, but adequate. We had two twin beds which were pushed together and a small table and chair - which was basically all that could fit in the room. There wasn't much room for the suitcases. Others in our group had larger rooms. The hotel has free wi-fi in the rooms. The continental breakfast at the hotel was good. The hotel is in a terrific location - near restaurants and bars and a short 5-10 minute walk to St. Mark's Square, but was on a quiet street, so there was no street noise at night. The hotel staff was terrific - very friendly and helpful. It was a warm day in mid-September and the air conditioning worked well. The hotel could stand to be remodeled, but in spite of that, I would stay there again, but would try to get a larger room.

Room Tip: We were in a room off the Lobby, which was very small. I would ask for a larger room if I were to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aschneider703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I wrapped up a 3-week European vacation/honeymoon with several days at the Hotel Mercurio, and it was the perfect exclamation point to our trip. Monica at the front desk, who had communicated with my wife maybe once by phone more than a month before our arrival, not only remembered us when we walked in the door, but she also remembered it was our honeymoon. She also was very helpful with recommendations for places to eat, and very matter of fact about places to avoid. The hotel is located in a location with easy access to the Grand Canal, and St. Mark's Square, and the room we had was spacious, will appointed, and very relaxing. Would....correction, WILL definitely stay there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank West_on_40th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very helpful hotel staff. You need to be able to climb stairs as reception is up one flight, the breakfast room up a further flight. Rooms are very modest. But you have La Fenice on your doorstep, it's 5 minutes to San Marco and 10 to the Rialto.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlosLeftie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The owners are fantastic, and I couldn't have been happier with the month we spent there. They have fantastic porters that will carry luggage into the city, while you get to leisurely make your way in from the airport. Listen for the band that rows past on some days.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eli815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Price excepted, this was a great stay. The location was fine, the staff were wonderful, it included wireless and breakfast. But at $190 at night we found it expensive. Looking around I think all of Venice was pricey though. Note there is no elevator, lots of stairs. Room overlooked a canal with gondolas. Spent 3 nights here, but could have done 2 nights. Ready to leave Venice on day 3 and move on to less people. Very close to St. Marks square. Don't stay here if you expect luxury bright rooms with a romantic feel. Stay here if you want a 2 star hotel for budget reasons - maybe a low 3 star. Our mattress was horrible, sloped like a salad bowl. But we didn't complain, liked the location and decided to put up with it.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnorkellingJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Another perfect suggestion found in Rick Steves book of Italy 2012. We couldn't have been more pleased with the hotel. Our room was beautiful. Decorated just like you would expect in Venice with a stripped spread, a lovely sitting room and an exceptional bathroom. The front desk was always helpful especially during our departure when the water taxis decided to go on strike!
The breakfast was continental style . The hotel is located within walking distance of all the things you would ever want to do or see in Venice.
Venice was a bit more touristic than I thought it would be with all the shops geared for the typical tourist...almost took away the charm of this amazing city. Just like all tourists we did the walk through the San Marco Piazza at night in the rain, took a gondola ride at night listening to the gondola singer in front of us..also in the rain (sprinkling) but still romantic. We met so many nice people there including a great owner of an Irish pub named Alberto who gave us an umbrella and suggested a superb place to eat. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the room floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#73 of 385 in Venice
750 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Becher
Hotel Becher
#56 of 385 in Venice
950 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#125 of 385 in Venice
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#107 of 385 in Venice
817 reviews
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#140 of 385 in Venice
564 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#63 of 385 in Venice
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercurio Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercurio Venezia

Address: Calle del Fruttariol | San Marco 1848, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#150 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $81 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mercurio Venezia 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mercurio is a family-run three stars Hotel located in the old town center of Venice at a stone's throw from St. Mark's Square and La Fenice Theatre. Attention to guests and to rooms detail are a must for us, we guarantee a pleasant and relaxing stay in the very center of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mercurio Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercurio Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing