We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“showing sign of age” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mercurio Venezia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Ranked #111 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“showing sign of age”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

the location was wakable from the San Marco vaparetto stop, but the walk is tough if you've got a lot of luggage. There are no lifts and the hallway to our room had us going up,down and all around. The English speaking staff was great. Friendly and very helpful. The hotel is undergoing necessary repairs. The room size was ample for a party of 3 with a view of a canal but it is showing signs of age. There are many cracks in the walls and ceiling. The bathroom had some mold and the shower/tub had a broken piece. Our biggest issue was the dirty pair of underwear we found on the floor behind a chair. I guess housekeeping doesn't do a very thorough job. Also, the in-room safe was small and could be picked up and carried away. We were hesitant to put our valuables in there but did anyway and had no problems.
I can see why it is only rated as a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMB-9-46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    344
    114
    38
    10
See reviews for
161
370
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
almancil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Thank you so much for helping to make our trip so enjoyable, we have just returned from Portugal from a wonderful weekend in Venice. The welcome we received after a long and tiring journey, immediately put us at ease. The location was ideal for us, halfway between Rialto and San Marco, made sight seeing and getting lost easy, set on a quiet canal in a peaceful location. The rooms were immaculate, warm, and the hotel staff friendly, helpful and knowledgable. Sheets and towels changed daily. We left the hotel at 6 A.M. this morning, and the night staff went out of their way to prepare us a little breakfast to send us on our way. By Venice standards, excellent value, and I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lunakit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meldola, Italy
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

This hotel has a good location and at the time we went it had recently been renovated. The room we had was nice and spacious, however lacking any information that is essential for example: fire escape route, breakfast info, how to use the telephone or internet. There was absolutely no information anywhere. Three flights of steps with no help with your luggage. Reception was lacking hospitality. I would look elsewhere for my next stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mystique59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Hotel is located about 5 minutes walk from San Marco square (and the vaporetta stop), which makes it a very nice point to start exploring Venice. We stayed here for 3 nights, our room had a very nice bedroom with a big bed (nice firm mattress, great pillows), living room with a sofa (opens up into a double-sized bed) and a big bathroom (shower, no bath) with new, fluffy towels. We had three people in our party (grandmother, mother and a 7-year old child). Service is excellent - we arrived at 1 am, and the beds were all made up for us (sofa was also made into a bed), and the room was air conditioned. Breakfast was more than ample, selection of smoked meats and cheeses was varied and everything was fresh. A very nice touch - at breakfast they serve freshly brewed cappuccino in addition to the regular coffee. The hotel is located right on the smaller canal, and the building is old (hence, high stairs throughout and old, small closets in the room) but the building is kept in excellent condition. Everyone in my family is asthmatic and allergic to pretty much everything, and we were very cautious going to Venice in July, thinking of mold and insects, etc, but the hotel is all smoke-free, and again, very very clean. They allowed to keep my daughter's soy milk in the fridge at the reception for the duration of our trip, and they also kept our bags at the reception after check-out for half a day at no charge. The property owner and the reception team are super nice and help with directions around Venice. So for your trip in Venice, I strongly recommend this hotel. My only advice is to download a map into your mobile phone with GPS before coming to Venice, as finding the hotel for the first time, at 1 am, with a sleepy child was a challenge (however, there were some people, gondola drivers and police around at that time to ask for directions).

Room Tip: Get a good map to ensure you find the hotel from the water tram stop for the first time. Navigating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltillo, Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

The hotel is very modest but the service is good.
The best think of this hotel is that is located 5 minutes far away to plaza San Marcos and the vaporeto station, so is very easy to move arround once you get familiar with the area, is a little difficult to find the first time due it doesnt have a big advertisement.

The room we stay was single, one bath, tv and clean. The price compared to others hotels is very cheap, so if you dont want to spend much money is OK, the price we pay on Dec was $60 Eur per night.

It includes breakfast, is not as big as we are use on America, but it has ham, frut, yogurt, coffe, juce, chease, and sweet bread.

One advice buy the vaporeto ticket for two or three days depending of your stayment, but you can use it to go anywhere, Burano, Murano, arround the "Canal Grande" its alittle bit expensive but it worth, we pay $25 Eur for 36 hours per person.

If you want to have a good lunch take te boat to LIDO is a nice place with better prices, Plaza San Marcos is good but you can imagine the prices.

If you want to but Murano stufs, I mean if you really want to spend some money you can go, but if not, you will just spend time walking watching the stores and cute hadcrafts of glass, I think there are more places to go if you have short time in Venice.

If my comment is good for you pleas rate it as usefull. Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pablo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights, it is more than 2 stars, cleanliness of room was superb. It is just 5 minutes walk from San Marco stop and just behind the San Marco square. It is a small hotel but good. The only disappointment was right at the entrance there are too many stairs to the reception desk, it was bit inconvenient with heavy bags and again some stairs to go to the room. The waiteress in the breakfast room was very efficient and quick, the only thing lacking was she couldn't speak English but it didn't affect the service at all. We are very happy with our stay. We had the newly refurbhised room so have no idea about the old rooms.
We stayed in room no 52 which was nice but couldn't keep the windows open as they view was not good at all. Overall good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbhised room. We stayed in room no 52 which was nice but no view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1234sonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Kent.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Mercurio is about 10 mins from the main stops at St Marks Sq for the boats coming from the airport and we found it easy to find with the Fenice Opera house as a nearby landmark and some good directions on the hotel's website.. It is off the beaten track a little but perfect location for seeing Venice. Our Superior room overlooked the canel with gondolas meandering their way all day long. It was very good size with a balcony and two separate sleeping areas with a Queen Size bed and a sofa bed. Excellent clean bathroom and the room was tidied and beds made etc every morning. Breakfast was OK continental fare. Overall cannot really fault this hotel at the price we paid and can highly recommend it for the budget traveller.

Room Tip: We had a Superior Room...63. Very Big, Two beds (1 was a sofa bed). Top floor so quite a few stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#105 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#109 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Becher
Hotel Becher
#56 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#67 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
San Marco
Hotel dell'Opera
Hotel dell'Opera
#96 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#187 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercurio Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercurio Venezia

Property: Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Address: Calle del Fruttariol | San Marco 1848, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#151 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mercurio Venezia 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mercurio is a family-run three stars Hotel located in the old town center of Venice at a stone's throw from St. Mark's Square and La Fenice Theatre. Attention to guests and to rooms detail are a must for us, we guarantee a pleasant and relaxing stay in the very center of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Mercurio Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercurio Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing