We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ca' Formenta
Nearby Hotels
$335
$281
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Foscari Palace(Venice)(Great Value!)
$235
$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
$474
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$344
$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$417
$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$365
$328
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
$177
$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$1,376
$583
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$409
$354
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$285
$275
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (671)
Filter reviews
671 results
Traveler rating
289
316
45
15
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
316
45
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvia garibaldilagoon viewarsenale stopwater taxigrand canalwide streetminute walkst marks squaresmall hotelco opthe hotel staffcoffee machinebars and restaurantsshower cubiclecroissantsexcellent locationthe ground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 671 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2011

While the rooms are a bit small, especially the showers, the spread of breakfast was a great way to start a day of exploring Venice. The service was excellent for in house questions and for tips on shopping, eating, and drinking in the neighborhood. When we returned from a day of walking, we were offered drinks and refreshment. Every time I came down to the lobby to use the free wifi, I was offered a drink. We stayed 5 days and enjoyed our stay and will stay here again as it is a great bargain compared to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craigpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed in the “penthouse” (basically the entire top floor) It was a large room with a private entrance to a huge, rooftop patio area (amazing!). The hotel is a hike to St Marks, etc. but we are walkers so no trouble (Venice IS a walking city). It is in a “locals” area and everyone was great. The park/boulevard right on the street there is very nice. The stores and cafes right nearby are worth visiting. The hotel staff was also great. The hotel was clean – not super fancy - but nice enough for sure. Staying in an old, converted merchant’s house was simply a fabulous thing. We took a water taxi back to Leonardo airport and were picked up at the hotel dock our last day and dropped off at the airport dock – very cool (we had taken a train in from Rome).

Room Tip: Get The Top Floor (room is entire floor)!
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinDannyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This inconspicuous little hotel is very well located just steps away from the too-busy parts of Venice. Its 2-storey facade in the midst of mainly 3 and 4-storey buildings makes it look a tad understated, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there once the initial lack of street appeal was forgotten. Interior presentation was much better, the wallpaper in our room was fine, but the carpets really do need to be replaced. Otherwise, good maintenance appears throughout. We found it clean and very comfortable, if you forget about Noth American sized rooms and bathrooms. Pay the few euros extra and get a room on the front. The views of the lagoon are quite impressive.

The continental breakfast was adequate, but the breakfast room is quite small so you may have to wait for a table.

Via Garibaldi is a wonderful place to stroll and dine in any of the many sidewalk eateries.

Room Tip: Front rooms have great views. Back rooms would have none!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John_CornerBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We arrived at this hotel last Monday for a week stay – what a let down having read the reviews. The beds were extremely hard as were the pillars, they where standard; wallpaper hanging off the walls, and Showers did not work without flooding the bathroom. The breakfast staff had a novel way of cleaning the table cloths at breakfast. They simply turned them over with all the debris falling onto the floor, which of course were picked on people’s feet as they walked up and down through out the hotel. When I confronted the manager he could only say the hotel was due for renovation. He made no apology. I did get insect bites during the night, but from what I do not know

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denis_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Overall, agree with all the positive reviews, good location, OK breakfast, room with view, charming front of house.
would recommend to anyone who wanted to be part of the local life, away from the hordes in the centre, but be a 20 min walk to St Marks.

Would recomend Ristorante Giorgione,just down Via Garibaldi, and book or get there by 7. Charming, good food, about 60 euro for 2, good value.

We came by train from Paris -I thouhgt it would be like the Orient Express, deluxe cabin and amazinf restaurant car for romatic dinner (see Angelina Jolie in The Tourist). In reality, the carriage is like a broom cupboard-and as the restaurant staff were on strike and often are -f so no restarant car, food was limited to a weird crossant and an 'orange' drink. Luckily we bought some foodf at the station buffet so did not starve.

Avoid water taxis at the station, for 12 Euro, vs *0, the vaporetto is a great way to spend and hour going down the Grand Canal, ditto from the airport. It is a 5 min luggage pull from Arsenale to the hotel.

On the way back, going to the airport we treated ourselves to a water taxi, 100 euros as advised by the hotel (their website says 80,( probably 2 weeks out of date..). It only took 30 minutes. When we arrived my wife got off, I handed her the bags, got off myself and gave the driver 100 euros. He pointed to a sign that said "110 euros to Venice". I said 'maybe , but I'm coming from Venice and the hotel said a 100, so there it is'. Sadly for him, we were on dry land with our bags and he was stuck in his boat..........

Venice .Lovely place, quite unique, but be prepared to hang onto your wallet.

GiodineT marksW

Room Tip: tell them, in advance, that you are on honeymoon and you are looking forward to a lagoon view room, they will also give you a complimentary bottle of chilled proseccco--- a very nice gesture. I also asked them to put 25 euros of flowers in the room, thus earning further brownie points from my beloved.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nykwilkyins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews