We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,883)
Filter reviews
1,883 results
Traveler rating
997
625
167
41
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
997
625
167
41
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water taxi st marks square lovely hotel canal view san marco central location boiled eggs ham marco polo airport breakfast room euros cheese concierge porter mosquitoes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 1,883 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2017

Great location in s Marco area. Quiet location away from crowd noise, but only a 4 minute walk to St. Marks square. Front desk staff is very knowledgeable and helpful. Venice is not easy to navigate but the staff gives great directions and suggestions.. Our room was very clean and spacious, much larger than we expected (it is hard to convert meters to feet and get an accurate idea of the space). Very comfortable king sized bed with sitting area. Breakfast was very good.
Caution- Getting to the hotel with heavy suitcases is tricky if you take the water bus/ground transport from the airport due to bridges, canals, blocked walkways,and an occasional dead end. It is expensive but very well worth paying for a water taxi to deliver you straight to the front door. Besides, the scenery and views are great on the ride in.
We would definitely stay at the Duodo hotel again!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Alanmflys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

Dear Madam , Dear Sir,

we wish to thank You for the kind review.
We are glad for the nice words about our house and our staff.

We hope you would like to return in the future, for us it will be a pleasure to see you again.

We would like to remind you that you can always book directly through our Official Website, this way you can always have the best offer using the promocode “DUODO16”.

We hope you had a good homecoming.

With Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017

My husband and I stayed here for our Honeymoon years ago and recently returned on a trip with my parents. As we remembered, the rooms were decorated with rich Venetian décor with tall ceilings and lovely marble bathrooms. Housekeeping did an excellent job of cleaning the rooms and restocking the toiletries during our stay. And the hotel’s location is fantastic, halfway between the Rialto and San Marco Square but tucked away from all the noise. The hotel has made a couple of changes in the last few years. For starters, the bathtubs are now shower/tub combos which was a nice change. Unfortunately, breakfast has completely gone downhill. It’s been moved into a cramped room with few good food options including undercooked soft boiled eggs. It was so cramped that we were forced to share a table with strangers and guests arriving after us had no where to sit. Breakfast was ample and served in a large room during our previous stay so this was disappointed. We chose to eat breakfast elsewhere during the rest of our stay. We also had issues with the Air Conditioning – it would shut off after only a few minutes of running and we kept having to restart it. This feature caused the room to get too hot overnight. It was unseasonably warm during our visit, but leaving the windows open wasn’t an option since we got attacked by mosquitos. Other than the inadequate breakfast and the Air conditioning issues, we still enjoyed our time at this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Krista S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2017

After spending time in a less-than-great hotel in Rome we were pleasantly surprised by the elegant beauty of the Duodo Palace Hotel. We were given a spacious room on the top floor looking out over several domes and statues (room 402).The beds were comfortable and the hotel was spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were wonderful and the staff friendly. I don't think we would have enjoyed Venice as much as we did if we'd stayed near the Grand Canal which is busier and lots more touristy. I would strongly suggest you not try to find it on your own, though, since it's tucked away into the middle of the island and would have been almost impossible to find the first time. We hired a great guy to take us and our luggage to the hotel - best $25 we could have spent! You could also be taken to the hotel by small boat or gondola since it sits on a quiet canal. The Duodo Palace is near a quiet square with a beautiful theater (wish I could have gotten tickets to an event there) and excellent restaurants and shops. Also, there are many corridors that allow you to easily get around the island. It felt like a private neighborhood. My only complaint would be that we noticed that the tours and water taxis cost us more when booked by the hotel's desk staff than if we'd arranged them ourselves. I asked why we had to pay a cash fee (from $12 to $26) up front when booking and we were told it was part of the cost of the event. That proved to be untrue, as we could tell when we had to pay the full posted tour/taxi/whatever cost later. I didn't make an issue of it thinking that I just didn't understand them due to the language barrier, but found out from other guests that they didn't have to pay the fees. I loved the hotel and would stay there again, but I would not ask the staff for assistance in booking anything. It's probably cheaper to go directly to the vendors which you can find near the shores or canals, or to make reservations via email.

Room tip: We stayed in room 402 which was on the top floor, had a lovely view and was very quiet.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 3DKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

Dear Madam , Dear Sir,

we wish to thank You for the kind review.
We are glad for the nice words about our house and our staff.

We hope you would like to return in the future, for us it will be a pleasure to see you again.

We would like to remind you that you can always book directly through our Official Website, this way you can always have the best offer using the promocode “DUODO16”.

We hope you had a good homecoming.

With Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile

This is a 600 yr old palazzo which opens straight onto a small canal which has been converted into a stylish boutique hotel. It has a shabby chic feel which we loved, and all the furniture looked traditional or period.
We stayed 3 nights, and arrived the first day by water taxi to the front door.... expensive but it made us feel like extras in a James Bond or The Tourist film, so it set the right tone for the visit!Thereafter we found the back door which opened into a little square and meant we could get around on foot for the rest of the trip. Its position is perfect to visit everywhere you might want to go.
Our room was lovely and overlooked the canal, and we paid for the romantic break supplement so we got fresh fruit and a bottle of chilled prosecco in our room to greet us.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast buffet extensive enough for our needs. They even provided soya milk for me as I am a vegan, and made me soya cappuccinos & soya hot chocolate without my asking once they knew me.
We will definitely go back next time we are in Venice!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank AADDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

Dear Madam , Dear Sir,

we wish to thank You for the kind review.
We are glad for the nice words about our house and our staff.

We hope you would like to return in the future, for us it will be a pleasure to see you again.

We would like to remind you that you can always book directly through our Official Website, this way you can always have the best offer using the promocode “DUODO16”.

We hope you had a good homecoming.

With Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews