We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay, great staff & pretty Hotel”
Review of Duodo Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Duodo Palace Hotel
Ranked #75 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2006

The staff was very agreeable and accomdating, room was small, but the bathroom was large and modern, the view was a courtyard. The pictures of the bedroom (on the web site) was a bit misleading, ours was very plain. The breakfast was more than adequate, and the staff was informative. The resturant in Fenice Square (Antic Martini) was excellent. The location is near everything and yet off the beaten path. We had three wonderful days in Venice and will return again & again.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank b4wego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

994 - 1,000 of 1,553 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta, GA
14
Reviewed May 20, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Duodo Palace for two nights in April. We found it to be a delightful hotel. On our first trip to Venice we stayed in a hotel on the Grand Canal, but the that one did not begin to compare with the lovely Duodo Palace. We actually preferred the location of the Duodo. It is close enough to the main sights without being too close. We loved the quiet Campo near the hotel. Not only is the Duodo a beautiful property, but the staff is eager to be helpful to the guests. We are looking forward to returning to Venice and the Duodo Palace.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, TX
311
Reviewed April 22, 2006

We just returned from our trip to Italy which started our with a 3 night stay at the Duodo Palace Hotel. It was wonderful. The room was beautiful with a great view. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. I will definately choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hinckley Leicestershire
110
Reviewed April 21, 2006

Obviously the hotel had overbooked and when we arrived we were placed in what can only be described as a cell. The room didnt appear to be part of the hotel and was about 100 yards away. We entered the room direct from an alley way. We were kept awake all night with the noise of people walking down the alley and dragging cases along the cobbles. On the second night we had the pleasure of what appeared to be a business above our room dragging furniture around. Despite various complaints to the staff we didnt get anywhere. This was supposed to be a special weekend for my 35th birthday arranged by my wife who was extremely upset that she had booked a 4 star hotel especially for the occasion and had researched the hotel following the excellent reviews on websites such as trip advisor. How wrong could you be. As the hotel was mainly full of older couples we can only assume that they had decided to keep the younger guests outside. Needless to say we do not recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2006

Listen up Americans. I've have stayed in many hotels and B&B's throughout the world and the Duodo Palace in Venice was great. Perfect location away from the crowds but centrally located. Rooms were clean and well appointed. Free intenet access and good breakfast. Stayed in junior suite with lots of space and modern conveniences. Staff was very friendly and all spoke english. Would stay there again and this was my second trip to Venice.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveDLasVegas_NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2006

Just returned from 3 nights at the Duodo Palace and couldn't fault a thing. Our room 103 didn't overlook the canal but we didn't expect it to for the price (about £80 a night) when you consider you can easily spend that on a meal and wine at a reasonable restaurant in venice you realise what a good deal that is. The bedrooms were spotless and typically venetian with gold fabric walls and furnishings- the bathroom large and spotless. The location of the hotel is great 10min walk to Rialto,St Marks or accademia but still very quiet. The break fast is continentla in style, venetians don't eat breakast- you can buy eggs and bacon but they are a bit pricey, the breakfast included is fine so I wouldn't bother-I particularly liked the panettone- currant bread spread with butter. The hotel staff were really helpful and not snooty (which they can be in some places in venice- the unmissable cafe Florian in Piazza St Marco, for instance).

We ate at Gallileo just round the corner from the hotel on or first night and the food was excellent- if you like cheese we'd highly reccomend the ravioli gallileo- they have the typical four course meal but we didn't have all of them , a pasta and a main course is fine. It was a little pricey at 90 euros all in with a half bottle of wine but the quality and quantity of the seafood was worth it(tuna and seabass). We ate at a touristy place by Rialto in front of the rialto hotel as its so scenic by night and paid just a bit less but we only had pizzas but two fab starters, highly reccomend the melon and parma ham or the beef carpaccio here, you get loads - the pizzas were nice too and the wine not too bad price. We ate round the corner from the hotel at the teatro- the food was ok and seemed reasonably priced but when you add a 12.5% service charge and cover charge it added over £20 onto the bill. We wanted to eat at Da rafaelle on cala ostreghe but we picked the night it was closed ! that is something you need to watch as it seems to be a district thing in Venice- we also got caught out by trying to visit Peggy Guggenheim Art gallery on a Tuesday- don't it's closed. We only had 3 days so by the time we were back at the room couldn't be bothered to venture far but I'd try Dosodoro or SantaPolo/Croce as the restaurants there looked better value. We also walked down to Zattere which looks over Giudecca- there was a great view and some reasonable restaurants there too.
As first time visitors (but not the last !)to Venice we did all the must dos- some tips........ get a ticket for the Palazzo Ducale- its fab and don't miss the Doges Apartments- if you think Versaille is opulent you need to see this- the same ticket at 11 euros covers you for the museum in St Marcs Square (the museo correr which is really good and is at the top of the square-the ticket also covers you for palazzo mocenigo)- if you go in the cafe in museo correr (and do nothing else from the cafe del arte you get the best and cheapest) view of St Marcos square and the coffee is reasonably priced. Also in the basement of the pallazo ducale( doge palace) there is a cafe where you can have a sandwich and watch the gondolas pass by through a window which is not far off water level- the only place we found to do this. Like all places in venice if you stand up the cost of what you have (food or drinks)is a third less than sitting down but hours on your feet means you soon give up on that one.
Final tip get a number 1 waterbus service from St marco to Piazza del a roma early on in your trip- takes about 40 mins and you get lovely views of the Grand canal we walked all the way back from Piazza del Roma by crossing over the bridge (there is a great sandwich shop here) through the streets down to Rialto and then onwards- shopping is a lot cheaper here and you do get to see how the venetians live.

I've seen a lot of postings re getting to this hotel it really isn't bad at all- you get the vaporetto Aliguna from the airport buy your ticket in the airport at the ATVO/Alilaguna desk at 10 euros- stay on until St Marco (Valleresso)you can't miss it-takes about 1 hour 20mins.Walk straight up calle valeresso which becomes calle frezzaria and then turn left onto calle barcoli continue toward la fenice toward campo san fantin. Failing all that ask for la fenice (opera house)stand in the square near el teatro restaurant you'll see a tiny burgundy and gold sign for the hotel which is just down a side street. Personally finding it's not half as bad as we thought-the maps in the AA spiral guide to venice werereally good and we used them continously. On reflection we wish we had booked a private water taxi it is costly at about 80 euros but it would have been a really nice way to arrive at the hotels own landing stage. If you are on a budget don't worry the vaporetto is great and I can't ever remember a more fascinating way to get from the airport- it also lets you get your bearings and gives you confidence on the waterbus. Overall a great and beautiful city-like stepping back in time............enjoy - we did !


  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank denholsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2006

Great hotel. From start to finish I could not complain about a thing. The hotel staff were very helpful and recommended great places to eat.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alastair730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#53 of 385 in Venice
1,902 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#78 of 385 in Venice
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#120 of 385 in Venice
2,208 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,450 reviews
Castello
Liassidi Palace Hotel
Liassidi Palace Hotel
#73 of 385 in Venice
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duodo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duodo Palace Hotel

Address: Calle Minelli San Marco 1887, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Venice
#51 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#60 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $102 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duodo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Venice, Duodo Palace Hotel is set within a historical building, and has been beautifully renovated and restored to create a new four-star hotel in Venice. Saving some of the most important architectural elements from this 600 year-old palazzo, including the frescoed ceilings in each bedroom, the hotel has a truly Venetian feel. Literally located a stone’s throw from La Fenice, the hotel could not be more centrally located. You can stroll to San Marco Square, the Rialto Bridge, or the Accademia, in 10 minutes or less. The top floor accommodations offer sweeping views of the city’s rooftops and major monuments. Glance below and you can watch a gondola slowly glide by your window. Offering direct access to the hotel from the canal, your water taxi can drop you at the door of the Duodo Palace Hotel where you will be warmly greeted by the staff. The hotel’s 38 bedrooms, adorned with beautiful Venetian fabrics, offer the modern amenities required by today’s traveler, including fully marble baths and plush towels. Relax in the cozy bar, or enjoy a book in the study that has the remains of a piscine - an ancient well - where you can almost hear the voices from the past as they share the day’s gossip Welcome to Venice ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Splitty, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duodo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duodo Palace
Duodo Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing