We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Star Hotel”
Review of Duodo Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Duodo Palace Hotel
Ranked #68 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Star Hotel”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel!It seems complicated to get there but it isn't.Look carefully at the map and it is a short way from San Marco to Duodo Palace.The staff could not be friendlier and more accommodating.Nothing is too much.The rooms are spacious and very clean and there was a bottle of prosecco in the room on arrival.Very generous,although it is not the cheapest place.Breakfast is great,very thought through.The area is very quiet although La Fenice is round the corner and very worthwhile a visit!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffi02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review.
We are 5-10 minutes distance from San Marco square and 10 minutes from Rialto.
The secret to find us is to follow the directions for the Opera House (Teatro la Fenice) and when you get there looking for the Antichità Marciana, a little antique shop on the corner, you should turn on a little alley on the right or left depends from which way you came (calle della Verona or calle Barcaroli).

We wait to see you again at Duodo Palace Hotel for your next journey.

Sincerely,
Sebastiano Cagnin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    830
    516
    103
    27
    13
See reviews for
197
983
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Morgan Hill, CA
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Upon arrival to Venice (January of this year) we weren't quite sure how we were going to get to the hotel. The water taxi was charging us 70€ to take us there but since the tide was low they couldn't dr us off in front of the hotel. We would have to walk 10 mins from drop off lugging our luggage around. 70€ was a bit too much don't u think? We opted to take public water transportation which cost us 7€+ per person. Disembarking at the Rialto station it took us about 45mins to finally find it. We found that most ppl weren't familiar with the hotel therefore they couldn't direct us to it. If u find the Opera House ur not too far from it. It is tucked in between alleys and some antique type stores.

When we finally found it we were welcomed by a friendly front desk person. The room was surprisingly spacious, the bathroom surprisingly big. The free wifi worked well, the signal was sufficient. The breakfast that was included with what we purchased was ur typical pastries and meat/cheeses combo. The dining room isn't big but the hotel wasn't packed with ppl either. The only drawback to this place was the unpleasant smell of the canal emitting through tub or the sink. The almost gas like smell was quite strong...I'm sure it's worse in the summer. Also keep in mind that the heater is controlled by the front desk and so is the towel drying rack in the bathroom. They kept our room quite warm so we were surprised to find out we couldn't adjust the temp ourselves. The hotel's location was a short walking distance to San Marcos Square. The restaurants are easily accessible. Venice is a city to be explored on foot, no cars on the island. Wear comfortable shoes. If you love Louis Vuitton like I do it isn't a far walk either:)

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank onegr8rt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your delightful review.
We agree with you, the price for a taxi to get everywhere (not only to Duodo) is quite expensive.
An advice to facilitate everyone else wants to reach us when you take the public water bus: don’t get off to Rialto’s stop but to Vallaresso (San Marco) you’ll spend less time and from there, follows the directions to the Opera House (Teatro la Fenice) and you will find us for sure.
Thank you for having appreciated the room we gave you and our easy staff.
We’re sorry for the stink you smelled. In winter like in the summer as well, when the waters is too much low, from the canal side comes a bad odor. As you can understand it doesn’t depend on us. In these scenarios, we set air fresheners in every single room to challenge the smell.
So the heating as the A.C. is controlled by us for specific orders from our Direction. For any sort of problem we invite you to contact the front desk and ask to set the air-conditioner in automatic mode, therefore to control the temperature on your owns.

Thank you again for spending your time with us we look forward to welcome you again at Duodo Palace Hotel.

Best Regards,
Sebastiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soquel, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed here during Carnevale 2013. The location is fabulous. It is close (5-7 minutes) to Piazza San Marco but it is in a very quiet location.
The rooms are very clean. The breakfast is excellent. The staff, including the front desk, bartender and servers in the breakfast room ares very professional, friendly and helpful, . There are many excellent restaurants within 5 minutes walk. I am planning to stay here next year again. A private water taxi to the door is very convenient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbwndw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your special opinion on Duodo and our staff, of course.
We hope to see you again for your next holiday at Duodo Palace Hotel.

Sincerely,
Sebastiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Duodo Palace and it is a great hotel. Rooms are clean and spacious with very good amenities. Toiletries are plentyful so no need to bring anything other than toothbrush & toothpaste. Staff were very helpful as always and the continental breakfast was of a very high standard (even prosecco!!) The location is perfect 3 mins from St Marks and next to the Theater with its own private canal enterance which we used for our airport transfers - so easy. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deanameredith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

“grazie mille” for your kind words on Duodo.
We were happy to see that you appreciated our buffet breakfast even with the prosecco.
As you said we have one canal entrance for transfer services and private water taxies and the other on the street side which let you arrive in 5 minutes to San Marco square, Rialto and Accademia.

We’ll champ at the bit to welcome you for your third time at Duodo Palace Hotel.

Best Regards,
Sebastiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Looking at the history surrounding this hotel, I was a little amazed to find it was built around 1586. Arrival by water taxi saw us delivered right to the front (back?) door where we were greeted by a very welcoming concierge. We had just come off a cruise ship so we were very early for check in and our rooms were not yet ready (understandable) so it was suggested that we take the free water shuttle to Murano where the famous glass factories are. This we did and enjoyed the distraction and our room was ready on returning. We had booked a deluxe room and although the room was tastefully furnished, being on the 3rd floor we had no view whatsoever (other than over the front door). This was a little disappointing however we were not overly upset. Service was friendly and helpful, as mentioned by other reviewers the inability to control the room temperature was a little annoying however agin not a major issue. The hotel was very interesting due to its age. Given this age it was well maintained and quite a pleasure to stay at. One personal annoyance was the very hard bed and pillows. As stated this is a personal view as everyone has their own preferences for this subject. I certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 4th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and see you next Time
Grazie
sebastiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Duodo was recommended by Trailfinders for our last minute trip to Venice, and once again they were spot on. The welcome by the concierge was first class, very informative, very helpful providing us with maps and routes to a good restaurant (we arrived at 7:30 pm quite hungry) and recommended sightseeing walking tours we could do during our stay. The rooms were stylishly furnished and clean. In all we had four rooms as our stay was split having two nights in standard rooms and two nights in deluxe rooms. Our first standard rooms overlooked the rooftops of Venice which we thought was fantastic, a sea of terracotta tiles. For our last two nights the hotel gave us two rooms overlooking the canal where we watched boats/Gondolas pass in the late afternoon. Control of the heating seemed to be a little quirky but nothing serious and we didn't find it a problem that we needed to mention. Breakfast was typically continental except for the bottle of chilled Prosecco which was a nice touch. There is a small breakfast room as mentioned by a previous guest but also a larger grander one which we also used. I do recommend sitting in the Duodo's small sitting room with a book and ordering a hot chocolate after walking around Venice and taking the complementary boat from outside the hotel to Murano - you don't have to buy the glass found there, escape and go to the town and have lunch:-). In summary we recommend the Duodo Palace as it is stylish, friendly, a touch of luxury and a great oasis for your stay in Venice. I would return to Venice and the Duodo.

Room Tip: I don't think there is much in it unless you are booking the superior deluxe rooms. The standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maclacoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you and I hope to see you again in our Hotel
regards
Sebastiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Good location, nice rooms but there is room for improvement when it comes to services offered. Overall, the staff was nice and helpful, but there are a few things that could make our experience better (I may be a nitpicker):
- the temperature can not be adjusted from the room and we were told to address any request to the reception desk. And we did...repeatedly... but nothing happened :(
- the breakfast room is very small and you may need to wait in order to get a table
- the breakfast is good, but there are not many options to choose from (and no hot dishes)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mishaellla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your opinion, even though you weren't completely satisfied of our service, I can assure you that your advices will result helpful for our improvement.
We hope to see you again, here at Duodo, if you'll give us another chance.

Best regards,

Sebastiano Cagnin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 385 in Venice
1,823 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#71 of 385 in Venice
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#73 of 385 in Venice
984 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#31 of 385 in Venice
2,009 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#32 of 385 in Venice
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duodo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duodo Palace Hotel

Property: Duodo Palace Hotel
Address: Calle Minelli San Marco 1887, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Venice
#47 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#61 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Duodo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Venice, Duodo Palace Hotel is set within a historical building, and has been beautifully renovated and restored to create a new four-star hotel in Venice. Saving some of the most important architectural elements from this 600 year-old palazzo, including the frescoed ceilings in each bedroom, the hotel has a truly Venetian feel. Literally located a stone’s throw from La Fenice, the hotel could not be more centrally located. You can stroll to San Marco Square, the Rialto Bridge, or the Accademia, in 10 minutes or less. The top floor accommodations offer sweeping views of the city’s rooftops and major monuments. Glance below and you can watch a gondola slowly glide by your window. Offering direct access to the hotel from the canal, your water taxi can drop you at the door of the Duodo Palace Hotel where you will be warmly greeted by the staff. The hotel’s 38 bedrooms, adorned with beautiful Venetian fabrics, offer the modern amenities required by today’s traveler, including fully marble baths and plush towels. Relax in the cozy bar, or enjoy a book in the study that has the remains of a piscine - an ancient well - where you can almost hear the voices from the past as they share the day’s gossip Welcome to Venice ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duodo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duodo Palace
Duodo Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing