We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“city break”
Review of Duodo Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Duodo Palace Hotel
Ranked #72 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Arriving by water taxi straight into the hotel was amazing. The hotel is very grand looking in the foyer and public areas. Our room was very small and dark. However the bathroom was very nice. The breakfast had limited choice. The staff were helpful. Ideally placed for catching a gondolo ride. Short walk to the Rialto bridge.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat999_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for your lovely review; arriving with a private water taxi is always a great beginning! The entry level room is never a big one. Also, don' t forget that Duodo Palace is a really old venitian building, but our bathrooms are with a nice size. Thank you for the helpful staff and the central location, very close to the main attractions.
Sincerely

Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,525)
There are newer reviews for Duodo Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

667 - 673 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

When searching on the internet for a hotel with a convenient location in Venice, Italy, I thought the Duodo Palace Hotel rooms looked superior, quaint, with old European style decor, with wonderful views of the canals. The hotel write up and pictures sounded exactly what I wanted, where I wanted to stay. I booked in advance with a high price tag, When I arrived in Venice, the water taxi took me to the hotel and yes was greeted by the doorman, the lobby was small but beautiful, exactly what I saw on the internet , after checking in and going to my room I was in shock, very dissapointed with the room, it was like I was thrown into a closet. very smal, mini room, two single beds foot to foot. not nicely decorated at all. Looked out the window and saw the roof and furnace, not a street or a canal.......This room was sure not worth the $$$$ I spent

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weezieOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for your review. This is an opportunity to advise all the guests that the entry level "classic" double room is not a Junior Suite with canal view. For the canal view there is a big difference in the price. Probably we didn' t get the opportunity to upgrade you because of a full occupancy. In any case the assigned room was the correct one, as stated on the reservation. If you need to book a room with view, you can send us an email to check the availability and the best offer for the supplement. We will take care of your needs.
Sincerely

Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I were on our honeymoon and went through a travel agent. Was told this hotel was 4 starts and had great reviews. When we opened the door to the hotel there was a horrible smell. After checking in, the receptionist took us to our room, he was very nice. But as we got closer to our room the smell got worst, it smelled like DOODOO! After we got settled in our room, we lookd out the window and it was a sewer with dead rat and dirty socks. The room had a distinctive smell to it also. Our first night I couldn't sleep because of the smell. The pillow was rock hard so I tried to fluff it. After turning the pillow over, I saw a small blood stain on the pillow which grossed me out. I had to go to the closet and luckily there was another pillow I was able to use. By the second night my husband had multiple bedbug bites all over his body. How can a 4 start hotel have bedbugs????? What a horrible experience! We do quit a bit of traveling and never have had an experience like this before. I am not sure how this hotel got such high ratings but it was a HORRIBLE experience. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank babygirl1628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
we are extremely surprised about your review. This is absolutely the first time we receive a complaint for this kind of reason. We inform you that our rooms have been checked by a special health company and nobug traces has been found! We suppose, due to an open window, it could be mosquitoes: we are in a typical area in the middle of the lagoon. Anyway, advising our staff at the reception, they always take care of our Guests with different solutions. We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience but, reading all of our reviews, we have no complaints at all on this matter.
Sincerely

Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I don't usually worry about staying in the nicest hotels, just because we spend so little time in them. But, after almost two weeks in tiny places in Rome and Florence with no bathtubs, our stay at the Duodo Palace was a welcome change. It was truly magnificent! High, painted ceilings, Murano glass mirrors and light fixtures. Don't miss the free boat ride to the glass blowing factory! The bathroom was all marble, old- yet brand new. The breakfast was substantial. The front entrance is right on an inner canal, though be careful of the cost- especially from the airport! The hotel is in the theatre district so it's always lively and if you get lost just ask people for the Opera House- very close to the hotel. We were on the third floor and I thought it would be a great idea to leave the windows open to hear the waves from passing gondolas. Unfortunately, the mosquitos found us! Go to Venice and stay at the Duodo Palace! You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: ask for the 3rd floor!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your nice review. We are happy to know that our Hotel and our services completely satisfied your needs. Just remind to keep the window closed, expecially in summer time to avoid mosquitoes risk!
Best regards
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We started our Italian vacation at the Duodo Palace in Venice and were more than satisfied. We stayed in a room with a beautifully painted ceiling and nice view. The staff was pleasant and extremely helpful. The lobby was charming and quaint. The complimentary breakfast buffet was an added bonus! We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diski08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guests,
thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy that you were more than satisfy visiting our Hotel. Thank you for the nice words about our staff and our service. We do hope to see you again for your next visit to Venice!
Sincerely
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Duodo palace is in the heart of the San Marco district of Venice, and therein lies its real appeal. You are no more than a few minutes walk from San Marco Piazza, in the opposite direction only a few minutes from Rialto bridge and, lastly to the west a few minutes to accademia bridge. This is great and makes exploring Venice on foot very easy. You can get anywhere from here!
The hotel staff are very friendly and the atmosphere very pleasant. We splashed out on the water taxi transfer which I would highly recommend. We arrived in horrible weather and it was great to not have to worry about getting lost in the the rain. We saw many people in Venice during our stay lugging suitcases, looking stressed and starting their holiday in the worst way. Arrive in style; it's well worth it. If its nice weather (which it was for our departure) the water taxi feels like a wonderful luxurious experience, again taking away any stress. Our taxi, after a few little twists and turns in the little canals, took us out onto the south lagoon and round to the Grande canale, with the most beautiful pink skied sunset before us. Whatever the weather, this is definitely the way to arrive and leave this hotel.
If you are at all worried about the language barrier, the Duodo is for you. All the staff spoke English to a very good standard and we also heard French to a good standard too. I have a little Italian and the wonderful concierge spoke to me in Italian on occasion, but spoke perfect English for more complicated conversations.
We booked through BA and I think this made things a bit cheaper. We decided to upgrade and had a canal view. Most reviews refer to going for higher floors to get a view of the rooftops of Venice. I agree, it's magical and well worth it.
Our room was very clean and pleasant, as was the bathroom.
I am somewhat perplexed by some other reviewers being less than impressed with the breakfasts. We thought the breakfasts were great, the usual buffet of breads, including delicious fresh croissants, fresh fruit salad, cereals, fruit juices, cheese, meat, cakes. It was wonderful. There was even a bottle of prosecco in an ice bucket, for anyone wanting to kick start their day with an Italian bucks fizz! Coffee and tea was also included. It is true that cooked eggs and bacon are extra, but this is made very clear by the menu on each table, and is not meant to be a "catch" at all. We had absolutely no hidden extras on our bill at all.
On our first night, ,the weather was horrible and we retreated to the Hotel bar for champagne cocktails, which were delicious. It's a cosy little bar and whilst we went much further afield in the evening for the rest of our stay, it was wonderful to come "home" to a little bar for a night cap.
We really enjoyed our stay at Duodo palace, the staff were especially excellent, providing a slick and friendly service.

Room Tip: We were in 408. This is a top floor room, with a canal view. It is in the roof and has a very high s...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
this is an accurate description of our Hotel, our Breakfast and our staff. Thank you very very much.
Now we are quite sure you will come back at Duodo!
Best regards
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed last weekend and found it absolutely faultless! Had a beautiful room with a beautiful ceiling and friendly staff who gave recommendations on restaurants also helping with maps! Would definitely recommend as it is an authentic Venetian experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SianAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
we work hard to make the Guests happy. Reading your review we understand the result.
That' s nice! Thank you very much.
Sebastiamo Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 384 in Venice
1,864 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#75 of 384 in Venice
897 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 384 in Venice
2,050 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#78 of 384 in Venice
1,014 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#23 of 384 in Venice
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duodo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duodo Palace Hotel

Address: Calle Minelli San Marco 1887, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Venice
#50 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#60 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $99 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duodo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Venice, Duodo Palace Hotel is set within a historical building, and has been beautifully renovated and restored to create a new four-star hotel in Venice. Saving some of the most important architectural elements from this 600 year-old palazzo, including the frescoed ceilings in each bedroom, the hotel has a truly Venetian feel. Literally located a stone’s throw from La Fenice, the hotel could not be more centrally located. You can stroll to San Marco Square, the Rialto Bridge, or the Accademia, in 10 minutes or less. The top floor accommodations offer sweeping views of the city’s rooftops and major monuments. Glance below and you can watch a gondola slowly glide by your window. Offering direct access to the hotel from the canal, your water taxi can drop you at the door of the Duodo Palace Hotel where you will be warmly greeted by the staff. The hotel’s 38 bedrooms, adorned with beautiful Venetian fabrics, offer the modern amenities required by today’s traveler, including fully marble baths and plush towels. Relax in the cozy bar, or enjoy a book in the study that has the remains of a piscine - an ancient well - where you can almost hear the voices from the past as they share the day’s gossip Welcome to Venice ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duodo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duodo Palace
Duodo Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing