We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent!”
Review of Duodo Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Duodo Palace Hotel
Ranked #74 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I don't usually worry about staying in the nicest hotels, just because we spend so little time in them. But, after almost two weeks in tiny places in Rome and Florence with no bathtubs, our stay at the Duodo Palace was a welcome change. It was truly magnificent! High, painted ceilings, Murano glass mirrors and light fixtures. Don't miss the free boat ride to the glass blowing factory! The bathroom was all marble, old- yet brand new. The breakfast was substantial. The front entrance is right on an inner canal, though be careful of the cost- especially from the airport! The hotel is in the theatre district so it's always lively and if you get lost just ask people for the Opera House- very close to the hotel. We were on the third floor and I thought it would be a great idea to leave the windows open to hear the waves from passing gondolas. Unfortunately, the mosquitos found us! Go to Venice and stay at the Duodo Palace! You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: ask for the 3rd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your nice review. We are happy to know that our Hotel and our services completely satisfied your needs. Just remind to keep the window closed, expecially in summer time to avoid mosquitoes risk!
Best regards
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 694 of 1,551 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

We started our Italian vacation at the Duodo Palace in Venice and were more than satisfied. We stayed in a room with a beautifully painted ceiling and nice view. The staff was pleasant and extremely helpful. The lobby was charming and quaint. The complimentary breakfast buffet was an added bonus! We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diski08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guests,
thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy that you were more than satisfy visiting our Hotel. Thank you for the nice words about our staff and our service. We do hope to see you again for your next visit to Venice!
Sincerely
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Duodo palace is in the heart of the San Marco district of Venice, and therein lies its real appeal. You are no more than a few minutes walk from San Marco Piazza, in the opposite direction only a few minutes from Rialto bridge and, lastly to the west a few minutes to accademia bridge. This is great and makes exploring Venice on foot very easy. You can get anywhere from here!
The hotel staff are very friendly and the atmosphere very pleasant. We splashed out on the water taxi transfer which I would highly recommend. We arrived in horrible weather and it was great to not have to worry about getting lost in the the rain. We saw many people in Venice during our stay lugging suitcases, looking stressed and starting their holiday in the worst way. Arrive in style; it's well worth it. If its nice weather (which it was for our departure) the water taxi feels like a wonderful luxurious experience, again taking away any stress. Our taxi, after a few little twists and turns in the little canals, took us out onto the south lagoon and round to the Grande canale, with the most beautiful pink skied sunset before us. Whatever the weather, this is definitely the way to arrive and leave this hotel.
If you are at all worried about the language barrier, the Duodo is for you. All the staff spoke English to a very good standard and we also heard French to a good standard too. I have a little Italian and the wonderful concierge spoke to me in Italian on occasion, but spoke perfect English for more complicated conversations.
We booked through BA and I think this made things a bit cheaper. We decided to upgrade and had a canal view. Most reviews refer to going for higher floors to get a view of the rooftops of Venice. I agree, it's magical and well worth it.
Our room was very clean and pleasant, as was the bathroom.
I am somewhat perplexed by some other reviewers being less than impressed with the breakfasts. We thought the breakfasts were great, the usual buffet of breads, including delicious fresh croissants, fresh fruit salad, cereals, fruit juices, cheese, meat, cakes. It was wonderful. There was even a bottle of prosecco in an ice bucket, for anyone wanting to kick start their day with an Italian bucks fizz! Coffee and tea was also included. It is true that cooked eggs and bacon are extra, but this is made very clear by the menu on each table, and is not meant to be a "catch" at all. We had absolutely no hidden extras on our bill at all.
On our first night, ,the weather was horrible and we retreated to the Hotel bar for champagne cocktails, which were delicious. It's a cosy little bar and whilst we went much further afield in the evening for the rest of our stay, it was wonderful to come "home" to a little bar for a night cap.
We really enjoyed our stay at Duodo palace, the staff were especially excellent, providing a slick and friendly service.

Room Tip: We were in 408. This is a top floor room, with a canal view. It is in the roof and has a very high s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
this is an accurate description of our Hotel, our Breakfast and our staff. Thank you very very much.
Now we are quite sure you will come back at Duodo!
Best regards
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed last weekend and found it absolutely faultless! Had a beautiful room with a beautiful ceiling and friendly staff who gave recommendations on restaurants also helping with maps! Would definitely recommend as it is an authentic Venetian experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SianAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
we work hard to make the Guests happy. Reading your review we understand the result.
That' s nice! Thank you very much.
Sebastiamo Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Despite a delay in the start of our celebrations (wedding anniversary and birthday) the water taxi eventually picked us up from the airport and is a must! Pricey but worth it.
Being woken at 7 am by a flood warning sirens on 2 occasions we were to experience floods Noah would have built his ark for! Armed with plastic bags on our feet we ventured out to find St Marks square full of divers and unable to venture on to as we had no waders! Be warned and indeed prepared for floods at high tides so much so we couldn't get out of the hotel. The hotel was great and we would recommend it 100%. A central location and of a great standard.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rawSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your nice review; Yes, high tides! A must for a turist in Venice! Something special to see. What a gift for your "special occasion"... Of course, the weather was not really nice but this is a good reason to come back! We hope to welcome you again at Duodo palace Hotel with the sun!
Kind regards

Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had 3 lovely days at this hotel. I also must say the staff were most obliging, especially Michael who took the time to check on our needs, and have a chat- at our prompting. The location was brilliant, the breakfast was one of the best we had in Italy. They offer a free trip to Murano, which is very good. We booked budget rooms, but they were excellent, even though we didn't get the best views, they were roomy and clean. One of our party became unwell on the last day, and the hotel were very obliging with allowing us to stay in the room till 6 pm, and extra cost, but worth every cent, under the circumstances.

Room Tip: Take the advise of the hotel, and pay for a water taxi. We went to San Marco by water bus, and took...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TassieGrammia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Guest,
first of all I thank you very much for your kind review; i personally think that in this review it appears that the guest understood the room level previously booked and realized that the assigned room was correct. Not all the times we are able to upgrade to a different room cathegory. Expecially in high season period... We appreciate your comment about that. Honestly, we would like to do it but when the hotel is full it's correct to assigne the due cathegory.
We do hope to have you here once more and get the possibility to give you something better to make your stay immensely enjoyable. If you have a look to the hotel website, we have special offers during winter time and , for sure we will upgrade you !
Sincerely
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. This was the final leg of our amazing but exhausting trip. We arrived at the train station from Florence and were guided to our water taxi, which was pre-arranged by our travel agent. Our taxi pulled up to the hotel dock and we were immediately greeted by our nice bellman. Now that's a stylish entrance! He wouldn't let us carry our bags and did everything for us. Check-in was a breeze and our room was ready ahead of schedule. The other staff were very professional and courteous, though not overly warm and fuzzy. They were accommodating when we wanted hot water to have tea in the room.

We stayed in room 407. The room was small but elegantly decorated. It smelled great and was clean! Many thanks to our housekeeper (I think her name was Margarita or something similar though we never actually saw her). The shower was small but typical European style. We had a view of roof tops as well as a canal. It was nice to be able to hear the gondoliers serenade their passengers. Otherwise, it was pretty quiet at night.

Breakfast was included in our package and was good. Not as much selection as the Hotel Ponte Sisto in Rome but still filling. On our last morning, we had such an early morning flight back to the States that we were going to miss the breakfast. The hotel offered us breakfast bags which definitely hit the spot as we hustled to the airport at an ungodly hour. What a sweet and classy gesture!! This hotel knows how to pay attention to small details which goes a long way.

The hotel is near Teatro la Fenice and is within a 15 minute walking distance of most of the major sites. Accademia was the only area that was about a 25 minute walk though definitely still doable. We walked past Accademia to go to the Venice Jazz Club (I highly recommend that you visit this place for great live music- the hotel can make reservations for you). The only time that we took a water taxi was from the train station and to the airport. You will need to take a water taxi if you want to visit the other islands like Lido, Murano, and Burano which we unfortunately didn't have time to visit. There is a glass making demonstration in San Marco though it's only available with a group. If you have Rick Steves Italy book, you may be able to get in without being a part of a group as long as demonstrations are going on. The hotel may also be able to arrange for a tour as well. We were crunched for time and never available at the demonstration times. There are plenty of places that sell nice Murano Glass pieces around Venice. We did take a walking tour with a water ride portion which I highly recommend as well. The meeting place was the Royal Gardens which was a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. We got the chance to see where Marco Polo lived. We also took a gondola ride which was a great experience but beware of the cost. Gondola rides start at 80 euros during the day for about 40-45 minutes and can increase to well over 100 euros in the evening. We mistakenly thought our gondolier said 8 euros which we know know would've been a steal :-) Shop around for the gondoliers to make sure that they are a good fit for you. Ours was very cute and informative, showing us a building where a Bond movie was shot. He also explained to us the requirements to become a gondolier which is very competitive. I have a new found appreciation for gondoliers.

We had to walk 5-10 minutes to get to the water dock behind the Westin Europa and Regina so that our taxi could take us to the airport. Not bad but you definitely need to pack light. Thank goodness we did. It also helped that we didn't have to push past all of the tourists to get to the dock since we left at the crack of dawn.

My only complaint was the spotty WiFi which seems to be par for the course in Europe. I guess I shouldn't be checking email on a vacation anyway, huh? They do have a computer and printer if you need to print your boarding pass.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the canal so that you can watch the passing gondolas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tripdiva4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your lovely review. I agree with you: the "Stylish entrance" is really nice!
But, pay attention; organizing it with a travel agent could be a problem. Most of the time the drop off is in San Marco Square and not the Hotel pier! It's 10 minurtes walking distance from our hotel. They tell you that is due to a low tide in the canal...
Sorry for the "slow" wi-fi connection; now we have new routers and it seems to be working well!
Best regards.

Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#53 of 385 in Venice
1,902 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#78 of 385 in Venice
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#120 of 385 in Venice
2,208 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,449 reviews
Castello
Liassidi Palace Hotel
Liassidi Palace Hotel
#72 of 385 in Venice
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duodo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duodo Palace Hotel

Address: Calle Minelli San Marco 1887, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Venice
#50 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#60 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $103 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duodo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Venice, Duodo Palace Hotel is set within a historical building, and has been beautifully renovated and restored to create a new four-star hotel in Venice. Saving some of the most important architectural elements from this 600 year-old palazzo, including the frescoed ceilings in each bedroom, the hotel has a truly Venetian feel. Literally located a stone’s throw from La Fenice, the hotel could not be more centrally located. You can stroll to San Marco Square, the Rialto Bridge, or the Accademia, in 10 minutes or less. The top floor accommodations offer sweeping views of the city’s rooftops and major monuments. Glance below and you can watch a gondola slowly glide by your window. Offering direct access to the hotel from the canal, your water taxi can drop you at the door of the Duodo Palace Hotel where you will be warmly greeted by the staff. The hotel’s 38 bedrooms, adorned with beautiful Venetian fabrics, offer the modern amenities required by today’s traveler, including fully marble baths and plush towels. Relax in the cozy bar, or enjoy a book in the study that has the remains of a piscine - an ancient well - where you can almost hear the voices from the past as they share the day’s gossip Welcome to Venice ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splitty, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duodo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duodo Palace
Duodo Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing