We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Cute hotel with nice touches of class"”
Review of Duodo Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Duodo Palace Hotel
Ranked #72 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. This was the final leg of our amazing but exhausting trip. We arrived at the train station from Florence and were guided to our water taxi, which was pre-arranged by our travel agent. Our taxi pulled up to the hotel dock and we were immediately greeted by our nice bellman. Now that's a stylish entrance! He wouldn't let us carry our bags and did everything for us. Check-in was a breeze and our room was ready ahead of schedule. The other staff were very professional and courteous, though not overly warm and fuzzy. They were accommodating when we wanted hot water to have tea in the room.

We stayed in room 407. The room was small but elegantly decorated. It smelled great and was clean! Many thanks to our housekeeper (I think her name was Margarita or something similar though we never actually saw her). The shower was small but typical European style. We had a view of roof tops as well as a canal. It was nice to be able to hear the gondoliers serenade their passengers. Otherwise, it was pretty quiet at night.

Breakfast was included in our package and was good. Not as much selection as the Hotel Ponte Sisto in Rome but still filling. On our last morning, we had such an early morning flight back to the States that we were going to miss the breakfast. The hotel offered us breakfast bags which definitely hit the spot as we hustled to the airport at an ungodly hour. What a sweet and classy gesture!! This hotel knows how to pay attention to small details which goes a long way.

The hotel is near Teatro la Fenice and is within a 15 minute walking distance of most of the major sites. Accademia was the only area that was about a 25 minute walk though definitely still doable. We walked past Accademia to go to the Venice Jazz Club (I highly recommend that you visit this place for great live music- the hotel can make reservations for you). The only time that we took a water taxi was from the train station and to the airport. You will need to take a water taxi if you want to visit the other islands like Lido, Murano, and Burano which we unfortunately didn't have time to visit. There is a glass making demonstration in San Marco though it's only available with a group. If you have Rick Steves Italy book, you may be able to get in without being a part of a group as long as demonstrations are going on. The hotel may also be able to arrange for a tour as well. We were crunched for time and never available at the demonstration times. There are plenty of places that sell nice Murano Glass pieces around Venice. We did take a walking tour with a water ride portion which I highly recommend as well. The meeting place was the Royal Gardens which was a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. We got the chance to see where Marco Polo lived. We also took a gondola ride which was a great experience but beware of the cost. Gondola rides start at 80 euros during the day for about 40-45 minutes and can increase to well over 100 euros in the evening. We mistakenly thought our gondolier said 8 euros which we know know would've been a steal :-) Shop around for the gondoliers to make sure that they are a good fit for you. Ours was very cute and informative, showing us a building where a Bond movie was shot. He also explained to us the requirements to become a gondolier which is very competitive. I have a new found appreciation for gondoliers.

We had to walk 5-10 minutes to get to the water dock behind the Westin Europa and Regina so that our taxi could take us to the airport. Not bad but you definitely need to pack light. Thank goodness we did. It also helped that we didn't have to push past all of the tourists to get to the dock since we left at the crack of dawn.

My only complaint was the spotty WiFi which seems to be par for the course in Europe. I guess I shouldn't be checking email on a vacation anyway, huh? They do have a computer and printer if you need to print your boarding pass.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the canal so that you can watch the passing gondolas.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tripdiva4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your lovely review. I agree with you: the "Stylish entrance" is really nice!
But, pay attention; organizing it with a travel agent could be a problem. Most of the time the drop off is in San Marco Square and not the Hotel pier! It's 10 minurtes walking distance from our hotel. They tell you that is due to a low tide in the canal...
Sorry for the "slow" wi-fi connection; now we have new routers and it seems to be working well!
Best regards.

Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,525)
There are newer reviews for Duodo Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

676 - 682 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

We booked this hotel because of the great location. We paid extra for a canal view with a balcony and whilst it was expensive we were glad we did as we enjoyed watching the gondolas. We requested a kettle and had tea but no coffee and if you ask at the bar you can get fresh milk. The room was spotless and the bathroom amenities were replenished daily. There were no glasses instead plastic cups. There was no shower screen which was a bit odd. We had to ask for an electrical adaptor as the plug sockets were 3 pin and my husband's shaver did not fit the shaver socket in the bathroom. The furniture consisted of a double wardrobe, a dressing table and a suitcase stand. The bedside tables were tiny. There was also a small table and two chairs which were upholstered. There was a free safe. The bed was extremely comfortable, twin beds pushed together. As we were celebrating our anniversary the hotel left us a bottle of prosecco on our first evening which was very welcome, thank you. The breakfast was fine, continental style and I loved the cappochinos. We also had coffee in the evening which was served with lovely biscuits. The wi-fi was free but incredibly slow but we used the hotel's computer to check in for our flight and print off our boarding cards. This hotel is very quiet with a calming atomosphere and is very elegant with the most exquisite chandeliers. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: We were in room 307 which overlooks a small canal
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SueG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for having choosed our Hotel and for you nice review. We usually provide electrical adaptors. Not all the guests have their own adaptors... Concerning the Kettle in the room, it is available in winter time, on DeLuxe rooms or Junior Suites. The Prosecco, for Special occassion. For all the guests, our computer with printer to print boarding passes. Thank you also for the nice description of the room and our building. We do hope to see you again in the next future.
Sincerely
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I have literally just returned fro our stay stay here, and felt it important to tell everyone about the Hotel Duodo Palace. The concierge desk were brilliant, and did everything (and more) that I asked them to! We were celebrating our Silver Wedding Anniversary, and had a beautiful bunch of flowers arranged for my wife, and they gave us an upgraded room overklooking the canal entrance. Great service, Great Hotel, great Holiday - thank you.

Room Tip: Room 100 overlooks the canal entrance, but has a low ceiling, (if that should ever matter!)
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillisteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Guest,
we are happy to know that your stay at Duodo Palace for your Silver Anniversary were enjoyable.
Our Hotel and our services made your stay immensely enjoyable. Remember us in the future for your next "Special Occasion".
Best regards
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Leaving St Marks Square the hotel is to the left and about halfway across the island, about a 10 - 15 minute walk, or you can take a water taxi. We could not find anyone who new of the hotel in St Marks Sq and did not have a good map, so we walked a bit further than we needed to. The hotel is small with 32 rooms, has recently been re-modeled and has gorgeous rooms with full bathrooms, AC and flat screen TVs. They have a bar which is open in the evenings and pizzas can be ordered. An excellent continental breakfast is served, with lots of food and warm rolls. Decaf coffee is available. Taxi service is available to the airport for $120.00 E for 2 and $10 E for each additional person. A water taxi will pick you up at the door and take you to a waiting van which will then take you to the airport. Book it the nite before and cash only for taxi service, prices include tip so none is required during the trip. The hotel is off Verona and once in the little square follow the small brass signs on the buildings to find the front door, which is at the end of the alley. Staff were very courteous and provided directions/ maps and guidance to a good restaurant.

Room Tip: We were only in 2 rooms, all appear to have limited views of the adjacent roof tops and or canal
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Guest,
good Hotel, great location, nice service, generous buffet brerakfast, Bar & Snacks...
I think we will see you soon at Duodo Palace, hopefully!
Thanks and best regards.

Sebastiano Cagnin
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a memorable stay in Venice, which was due in part to the comfortable surroundings at the Duodo Palace Hotel and the magnificient staff. Sandro on the desk was always ready with helpful information and Silvio in the restaurant was especially good.

The location was just great, being within easy walking distance to the major attractions and close enough to the water-bus stations to be able to drag your bags without much trouble.

The water taxi ride from the train station to the hotel was a great way to start and to get a feel for the place. Although relatively expensive I feel that it was money well spent and made for a very relaxed arrival directly to the portage of the hotel. We just loved the choice of restaurants and amazing historic sites within such a small area. The tour to Burano and Torcello was just great, but time restrictions did detract from the overall experience. Murano was dissapointing. A ride over to San Giorgio is well worthwhile and we found it to be very quiet, which made a nice change from the crowds we experienced in Venice itself.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for your nice review and for the lovely words to Sandro & Silvio. They both work hard and well for the full satystaction of our Guests! Thank you very much.
Best regards
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My Partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in August 2012, it was our first trip to Venice and we loved this hotel so much we will definitely be staying here on our next visit.
The location is fantastic, just a short, pleasant scroll to San Marco and the Rialto Bridge on the Grand Canal. Everything you need to do in Venice is nearby, yet the hotel is in a private and quiet location.
The hotel itself is beautiful, it's set in an older building (as is all of Venice), but the inside has been renovated. The lobby makes a perfect first impression, it's full of Venetian charm and elegance. We stayed in a room overlooking the canal, the rooms stay true to their heritage and I loved this about them. I was probably most hesitant about the rooms when I booked-I usually look for very modern designed hotels, to avoid anywhere outdated and rundown, but it was so clean and stylish, once again full of Venetian charm.
Our rate included buffet breakfast, it was simple yet delicious, so no problems there.
The staff here are fantastic and so happy to help with anything.
We also received a complimentary water taxi out to Murano with a guided tour of a glass factory, this is highly recommended and we felt no pressure to buy anything. You do need to organise your own transport back, but the water bus is about 3 Euros so that's no issue.
If this hotel is within your price range (look around because you can get a great rate, we did!) book it now, a great hotel can make all the difference to your trip-and this is certainly one of the best in Venice!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a canal view room, it's so worth it. My favourite was waking up opening the sh...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for the "charming" review and for your reccomendation of our Hotel! We are very happy that you loved our "Venitian Charm". It's part of our Hotel, our city and our History!
Sincerely
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Spent two nights in August 2012. Great location. Easy walk to Piazza San Marco. Good restaurants nearby. Staff attentive. Agree hotel is quite and peaceful overlooking canal. Would arriving and departing by water taxi. Other reviews mention expensive however we found it well worthwhile and worth the cost. Definitely recommend boat trip to Burano and this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShamckWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your lovely review! We agree the taxi service on arrival and departure make things easy! Also it is nice to arrive "in Style" getting off into the Hotel reception! We do hope to see you again in the next future!
Sincerely
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 384 in Venice
1,864 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#75 of 384 in Venice
897 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 384 in Venice
2,050 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#78 of 384 in Venice
1,014 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#23 of 384 in Venice
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duodo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duodo Palace Hotel

Address: Calle Minelli San Marco 1887, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Venice
#50 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#60 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $99 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duodo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Venice, Duodo Palace Hotel is set within a historical building, and has been beautifully renovated and restored to create a new four-star hotel in Venice. Saving some of the most important architectural elements from this 600 year-old palazzo, including the frescoed ceilings in each bedroom, the hotel has a truly Venetian feel. Literally located a stone’s throw from La Fenice, the hotel could not be more centrally located. You can stroll to San Marco Square, the Rialto Bridge, or the Accademia, in 10 minutes or less. The top floor accommodations offer sweeping views of the city’s rooftops and major monuments. Glance below and you can watch a gondola slowly glide by your window. Offering direct access to the hotel from the canal, your water taxi can drop you at the door of the Duodo Palace Hotel where you will be warmly greeted by the staff. The hotel’s 38 bedrooms, adorned with beautiful Venetian fabrics, offer the modern amenities required by today’s traveler, including fully marble baths and plush towels. Relax in the cozy bar, or enjoy a book in the study that has the remains of a piscine - an ancient well - where you can almost hear the voices from the past as they share the day’s gossip Welcome to Venice ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duodo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duodo Palace
Duodo Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing