We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Gem, Highly Recommended!”
Review of Duodo Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Duodo Palace Hotel
Ranked #72 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My Partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in August 2012, it was our first trip to Venice and we loved this hotel so much we will definitely be staying here on our next visit.
The location is fantastic, just a short, pleasant scroll to San Marco and the Rialto Bridge on the Grand Canal. Everything you need to do in Venice is nearby, yet the hotel is in a private and quiet location.
The hotel itself is beautiful, it's set in an older building (as is all of Venice), but the inside has been renovated. The lobby makes a perfect first impression, it's full of Venetian charm and elegance. We stayed in a room overlooking the canal, the rooms stay true to their heritage and I loved this about them. I was probably most hesitant about the rooms when I booked-I usually look for very modern designed hotels, to avoid anywhere outdated and rundown, but it was so clean and stylish, once again full of Venetian charm.
Our rate included buffet breakfast, it was simple yet delicious, so no problems there.
The staff here are fantastic and so happy to help with anything.
We also received a complimentary water taxi out to Murano with a guided tour of a glass factory, this is highly recommended and we felt no pressure to buy anything. You do need to organise your own transport back, but the water bus is about 3 Euros so that's no issue.
If this hotel is within your price range (look around because you can get a great rate, we did!) book it now, a great hotel can make all the difference to your trip-and this is certainly one of the best in Venice!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a canal view room, it's so worth it. My favourite was waking up opening the sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for the "charming" review and for your reccomendation of our Hotel! We are very happy that you loved our "Venitian Charm". It's part of our Hotel, our city and our History!
Sincerely
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

689 - 695 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

Spent two nights in August 2012. Great location. Easy walk to Piazza San Marco. Good restaurants nearby. Staff attentive. Agree hotel is quite and peaceful overlooking canal. Would arriving and departing by water taxi. Other reviews mention expensive however we found it well worthwhile and worth the cost. Definitely recommend boat trip to Burano and this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShamckWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your lovely review! We agree the taxi service on arrival and departure make things easy! Also it is nice to arrive "in Style" getting off into the Hotel reception! We do hope to see you again in the next future!
Sincerely
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was y first trip to Venice It was the first stop on my Venice-Simplon Orient Express adventure last fall. I took a water taxi from the train station and I didn't know what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised when the taxi arrived at the water lobby of Duodo Palace. The hotel is small and charming, which I prefer, From the start the service was excellent. The bellman help me out of the boat and into beautiful lobby. The reception clerks all spoke English and went out of their way to be helpful. All of their restaurant recommendations were exceptional, The room was on the top floor. It was immaculate and had breathtaking views of the city, even from the bathroom! I plan on going back to Venicw one day and I will certainly stay at the Duodo Palace again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnpwatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Mr Watts,
thank you very much for your lovely review; it's quite important for us to read a lovely comment from an Venice-Simplon Orient Express Guest! We understand you have agreed our charming athmosphere and our service. We wait for your next visit in Venice!
Sincerely
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Spent four nights at the Duodo Palace, which is centrally located - a stone's throw from La Fenice and an easy walk to Piazza San Marco and the Rialto Bridge - but blissfully quiet and peaceful. The hotel has its own private dock on a side canal, so arriving/leaving by water taxi is super-convenient. My double room didn't have a view, but it was spacious, elegant and extremely comfortable with all the amenities like wi-fi working perfectly. Everything was kept in immaculate condition.

Everyone working at the hotel, from housekeeping to reception, delivered top-notch service and made our group feel welcome. Breakfast was a great experience too, with prompt, courteous service and excellent food and coffee. On the last morning, a friend and I had to take an early water taxi to the airport. Although breakfast service didn't officially start until after our departure time, the young waiter kindly made cappucino for us, and the hotel presented us with breakfast bags to take to the airport. These gracious little gestures show the care that the Duodo Palace shows toward its guests. I'd love to stay here again when I return to Venice.

Room Tip: Fourth-floor rooms have great views over rooftops of Venice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your lovely words and the nice consideration about our service. We usually take care of early departures asking the Guests about their departure time. Our attentions to provide wake up calls, breakfast box to take away (for departures before 07:00AM) and water taxi from our pier to avoid troubles at the end of the stay!
Sincerely
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

I'm quite surprised this hotel received such good reviews. I emailed well in advance and mentioned on two different occasions that it was my boyfriend's 30th but no sign of any acknowledgment of it! We got the private transfer and realised when we got there it's actually super easy to find from the square so take the Alilaguna. Stayed for two nights before and after a cruise. Staff were fine, not incredibly helpful or friendly. Breakfast was basic. Fine hotel but I wouldn't classify it as great, no little touches or attention to detail.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Myriamclancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review. We are doing our best to satisfy all the guests. Sometime it's never enough. We will keep it in touch and try to pay more attentions to the guest's needs.
Thanking you anyway, we do hope to have you here in the future wishing you our best attentions.
Best regards.
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very nice, if a little on the expensive side. The lobby is excellent and full of charm with a nice room to sit for a quiet drink, with an old well.

Hotel easy enough to find.

Area seemed quiet even though our room was right over the entrance to the hotel. Could hear people come and go, and chatting while smoking, but it was fine, ended up being quiet.

Location is close to San Marco square and seemed a good location to get to other sites like the Rialto bridge. Flip side is its not close to the station, so you need to get the boat to San Marco, then walk - which is fine.

Breakfast was excellent. Its a buffet with lots and lots of choice. 5 star for the breakfast.

Room cleaning was excellent as well.

Our room was nice, again, full of charm, with a painted ceiling. Very comfortable.

Staff were professional and helpful, if a little more unfriendly - they didnt spend much time chatting or making suggestions / recomendations. They would answer your question then move on with other work. Some staff better than others, Sandro was the best member of staff we dealt with.

We did do an hour tour of Venice via water taxi that reception can organize, rather than a gondola. Was good fun, private water taxi, not cheap.

We also got a free water taxi to Murano, organized by reception, getting dropped off at a glass factory. A brief demonstration in the factory, then shown into the 'show room'. Effectively they wanted us to buy something, but we just said no, made our excuses and then left the factory and went and discovered the rest of the island under our own steam. So I wanted to mention this as a heads up to others! We got the public transport back to San Marco for seven euro each. Get line 7 boat if you can, its the express boat!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here, I would say its more expensive than it should be but you are paying for the location.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richie_rich_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Mr. Richi,
thank you for your full review. Nice description to our Hotel/rooms, our breakfast service with a wide choice and the great service of our staff, expecially our Sandro.
Thank you again and hopefully see you soon.
Sebastiano cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is a charming little hotel that seems to be well located. The room was a little small but not surprisingly so for it's location. The room was nicely decorated and the bed was ok. The bathroom was a good size but the shower seemed a little small. Wifi worked in the room. Breakfast was included with the room and was good. The staff were helpful and accommodating. We had a water taxi drop us off at one of the main drop off points and we walked for about ten minutes to the hotel. We walked around Venice quite a bit and did get lost a few times, which was not unexpected.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhotoGizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for the lovely review; Get lost in Venice is normal. The city for a "new cityzen" is a kind of labyrinth (only for the first day...). You did it only few times, on arrival: you are very good! If you are not able to reach the Hotel, remember to ask where the main Theatre "La Fenice " is. We are few steps far from the theatre. We do thank you for the "helpful and accomodating" staff and our services!
Best regards
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#52 of 384 in Venice
1,879 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#75 of 384 in Venice
901 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#31 of 384 in Venice
2,068 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#74 of 384 in Venice
1,029 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#23 of 384 in Venice
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duodo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duodo Palace Hotel

Address: Calle Minelli San Marco 1887, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Venice
#50 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#60 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $99 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duodo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Venice, Duodo Palace Hotel is set within a historical building, and has been beautifully renovated and restored to create a new four-star hotel in Venice. Saving some of the most important architectural elements from this 600 year-old palazzo, including the frescoed ceilings in each bedroom, the hotel has a truly Venetian feel. Literally located a stone’s throw from La Fenice, the hotel could not be more centrally located. You can stroll to San Marco Square, the Rialto Bridge, or the Accademia, in 10 minutes or less. The top floor accommodations offer sweeping views of the city’s rooftops and major monuments. Glance below and you can watch a gondola slowly glide by your window. Offering direct access to the hotel from the canal, your water taxi can drop you at the door of the Duodo Palace Hotel where you will be warmly greeted by the staff. The hotel’s 38 bedrooms, adorned with beautiful Venetian fabrics, offer the modern amenities required by today’s traveler, including fully marble baths and plush towels. Relax in the cozy bar, or enjoy a book in the study that has the remains of a piscine - an ancient well - where you can almost hear the voices from the past as they share the day’s gossip Welcome to Venice ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Duodo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duodo Palace
Duodo Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing