We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but basic facilities”
Review of Locanda Barbarigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Locanda Barbarigo
Ranked #130 of 482 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a brilliantly placed B&B for the sights which is what drives the price. It is nicely decorated and the rooms are clean with good bathrooms. The staff are friendly and helpful too. There are no lifts so not ideal if you have a lot to carry or find it hard to lift all of your luggage. The rooms are a nice size and we had opera music playing outside ours for one of the nights which was a lovely bonus. The breakfast is decent but don't leave it until late to go as it doesn't get well replenished in the last half hour. For Venice this is definitely worth a visit but it could do with adding a few extras such as water in the rooms and access to tea/coffee facilities outside of breakfast time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Proprietario at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Thank you for you kind review.
We are happy that you liked everything of our property.

If the only problem was tea and water in the room you could ask for it because we have a kattle for clients who need this service.
Just English people ask for it... but it could be a suggestion for the future.
We hope you can come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 253 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

We have had a few day visits to Venice and stayed overnight on a cruise, in the past, but this was our first real stay in the city and we had taken our time, reading reviiews to find a hotel which appeared to tick all the boxes.

Locanda Barbarigo ticked some of the them, the main being it's location, close to a Vaperetto stop and centrally located between San Marco and Accademia, although away from the crowds. The canal which is next to the hotel makes you feel immediately like you are in the heart of Venice.

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, always greeting us with a smile. The room we had was at the top of the building, an attic room with thick wooden beams, across the ceiling, and low windows, which may be authentic, but did make for a dreary room. The room consisted of a double bed, very clean and comfortable, a single wardrobe, 2 tiny bedside tables, attached to the wall and a counter, under which was a small fridge. The fridge had obviously been used for keeping supplies in for sale to the residents in the past, the light was on, but it was barely cool let alone cold. We tried to put a half used bottle of wine in the fridge, but it would not fit, only small bottles and cans did, I certainly would avoid using for dairy products or other foodstuffs which need to be kept cool as they would soon go off.

There were no drawers in the room except for 2 tiny ones attached to the bedside tables, which measured only inches. We kept underwear etc in the suitcase, which was OK for our 2 night stay but would have proved annoying had we stayed any longer.

The bathroom was large and nicely tiled, but the shower was the smallest we have ever experienced with nowhere to place soap or shower gel, just had to keep hold of it. The shower was hot and powerful and the towels were changed as requested and were soft and quite fluffy.

We had air com in the room, which was essential and also free use of a safe, which was a nice touch

The breakfast was put out bit by bit, when we ate there, and although it reads Ok on paper , in realty it was disappointing, i think the quality of the food was economical and although not awful, we didn't bother with it on the second morning.

So to sum up our stay, although we enjoyed it we would probably stay somewhere else next time, as we would like to experience another area of the city, however if we found an unmissable offer, at this hotel, we would consider it, as the good points are very good and the bad points not deal breakers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debsLpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Proprietario at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you for your stay at our GuestHouse.
We are glad that you liked our cleanliness, tipology of room, our friendliness , our position , some items of our property......
As for the negative metters we just want to point you out that:
-Your reservation was for a Small double bedroom and that kind of room is no more that 10 Sqm. of course it is not recommended for a long period of permanence.
- Our Guesthouse is very small with few rooms consequently also the buffet breakfast is not comparable with that of a big Hotel .
- Of course ,on the buffet breakfast, we have to replace food when fineshed , it would not be professional if we do not .
- Fridge is a standard one for hotels and B&Bs ; the size is also connected to the one of the room.
- Shower in bathroom is just a standard one ( 60x60) not smaller than this.
- For ecological reasons many properties ( such as ours) affix a sign to request change of towels; in case you want them to be changed they must be thrown to the ground floor.

We thank you for having given us the opportunity to clarify some specific issues.
We hope you can keep a good memory of us and of your stay in Venice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Authentic grade 1 listed historic building, very central, very clean indeed, bed and chairs very comfortable, management and most staff are very friendly. Chandelier in breakfast room and walls are amazing. Air conditioning worked when needed. Very helpful regarding our need for our final water taxi and recommending local bars and restaurants as no restaurant or bar in this small hotel (A Beccafico restaurant close by in the large open area of camp santo stefano gets 5stars for service, food, quality, authentic to Italian flair and hospitality and value and is very very highly recommended. For a real Bellini head to the terrace of Hotel a La Commedia again great service. Ristorante da Raffaele is a nice setting with good service but not as good value). Breakfast sliced fruits very good, sliced boiled eggs welcome and hams good, there were cakes and breads etc as well, top ups of orange juice, water, coffee and tea plentiful but breakfast a bit mixed. If I were to recommend improvements it would be to offer some plain natural yogurts - I do not like their fruit ones. Normally we have stayed in the huge 5* Hilton Molino Stucky on Giudecca with its outstanding 5* breakfasts, but we do feel some of the earlier TripAdvisor reviews have been hard on Locanda Barbarigo given it is cleaner, has a very central location and is simply more Authentic.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Phil_From_Notts_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Proprietario at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Thank you for your kind review.
We are happy that you had a confortable accommodation and enjoyed your stay.
We hope you can come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for our wedding anniversary. The location is fabulous, really close to st marks square, the water bus, grand canal and many other fab attractions. Our room was small but beautiful The rooms were impeccably clean and the dining room is stunning. The food served in it however, was terrible. The pastry was stale, there was no fruit, a barely functioning coffee machine, plastic cheese, poor supplies of juice or water and eggs so overcooked they were grey and green 3 out of 5 days.
The service was AWFUL right up until a reasonably polite check out staff member.
Our check in seemed like a bother, we asked for some information and were given grunts or head gestures whether we spoke English or Italian.
During our stay we needed access to wifi on a semi regular basis, and the wifi was awful. At first we were told its fine, that it was us or our devices (which worked everywhere else) then that it was broken. We asked after it for days and were told it was fixed. We offered to show the man at reception that it wasn't working and he wouldn't come and look.
We spent our nights huddling around the tiny reception area which was the only place it worked with several other guests, all at least having a laugh and making the best of it... We couldn't sit there in the morning because family members of the receptionist sat in one of the two seats for several hours so we had a choice to sit on the dirty steps for the half an hour we needed access or find a restaurant with wifi.
One particular morning, we had gone out early and come back as I was unwell, and we heard a staff member SCREAMING profanities and slamming the supply cupboard doors right up until they realized we were back. It was definitely staff because we checked. It was quite amusing to us but lucky there were no children there.
Overall we took the positives but having stayed in other places Im not sure I'd go back, even though the opera next door made for a nice background music.
If you want an idea of the type of service - you need only read the management responses on here. It definitely shows how feedback is taken in which is a shame because the wifi or brekky could have been really small issues had they have been addressed constructively.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ckaminsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Proprietario at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thank you for your review.
Certainly everyone has the right to express their opinions both positive and negative .
We are sorry that you had a bad impression of our Guesthouse .

We respect your opinion but we allow ourself to differ totally from what you wrote .
At the reception there is a lady that is usually considered to be a kind person , as well as written in other reviews .
No one has ever screamed in our guesthouse , perhaps you have heard the conductors of the boats outside screaming (quite usual in Venice) , the noises come inside due to the proximity to the canal and open windows.
Fresh fruit is placed on a raised section above the shelf with mirror and between the orange juice and water.
Eggs are cooked every morning ( the green color is usually given by too long cooking ) .
For hygienic reasons, cheese is mono-dose and then every piece is wrapped from his safety film.

Anyone who sat on the armchairs at the entrance, certainly was not part of the operators' family because they are never in here ( tey leave somewhere else) and ,anyway , they would never be as rude as not to let clients of the House sit .

We believe that your opinion was influenced by situations certainly not due to our good or bad education .
We have been working in this trade for years and never could think of "treating " our guests as well as you have described .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed in the apartment which is five minutes away from the Locanda Barbarigo but in a great location only a minute from St Mark's Square. It was an apartment in a residential block and we didn't see or hear anyone else while we were there. The apartment had a lovely big bedroom with a small TV which didn't show any English programmes, a tiny sitting room which only contained a small sofa, a fully equipped kitchen and a small bathroom. Everything was very clean. The cooker didn't work and I'm not sure how long it had been like that but there was a sign on it saying it was out of order when we arrived. Anyway we didn't do any cooking although there was a microwave and fridge. My one concern was with the bathroom which was very small and had a small bath, with a seat to save space, and a shower at one end. There was very little space to stand in the bath for a shower and on one occasion my husband stepped back from the shower because the water was hot, slipped on the seat and fell backwards out of the shower and onto a stone floor. Thank goodness he didn't hurt himself but it could have been a disaster. Please be careful when using this shower. We didn't see anyone from the Locanda Barbarigo while we were in Venice and our apartment wasn't serviced. We had to take our rubbish out and find a public bin in order to dispose of it. Stay here for the location, near St Mark's and near a vaporetto, but we aware that you will have to make your own bed and clear up after yourself.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thank you for your review.
We are happy that you liked the location.
We are sorry for your inconvenient but bathtub is very requested by people coming from other countries ( Japan, China, South America, Middle east....). So what you dislike other people like.
Your review is also an occasion to point out that your reservation was for a "SELF CATERING " service : do it yourself.
That means no cleaning or other service in the apartment.
As for our regional regulation , cleaning is due every 7 days , anyway , at the clients' departure .
Everything is clearly specified on the reservation schedule.
Moreover, just to avoid misunderstanding, we sent to you ( as for all the clients) an e-mail message in which it is clearly written that the service is Self Catering.

We hope we have clarified the misunderstanding and we look forward for the next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Locanda Barbarigo's location on a quiet canal between San Marco and Accademia, makes it a perfect place for exploring Venice.
If you want to take a boat, the nearest stop is a few minutes away.
Rooms are spotlessly clean. They are very nicely and tastefully decorated and have antique furniture and very comfortable beds.
Breakfast is very good and served in a pleasant hall with a huge beautiful chandelier.
The staff is extremely helpful and courteous.
We enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank visachenkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Proprietario at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014
Google Translation

Ringraziamo per la bella recensione .
Siamo molto contenti che il Suo soggiorno sia stato più che confortevole.
Speriamo di poterla ospitare nuovamente in futuro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Do not be diverted to their `Apartment'! We booked for 9 days for late Dec 2013 and were advised that for such a booking, we could have the `apartment'. Later we discovered that the Locanda was actually closed over the Christmas/New Year. The good news was that Christina met us at the nearby vaporetto and accompanied to the `apartment'. Once there, she appeared more interested in collecting the cash payment than in welcoming us to her property and to Venice. The not-so-good news: a cold evening, a cold apartment - heating had not been put on. The fridge was empty - no milk, etc. The very basic kitchen featured an unusable oven and rangehood; `op-shop'-quality plastic-handled cutlery,with one teaspoon, crockery &cooking appliances (poorly-washed).. Gas cook top but no lighter. Previous tenants left-over salt/oil/vinegar, instant-coffee & teabags were passed off as `emergency supplies'! The apartment was poorly furnished: hall table was an old bar-fridge. Bedroom: a double bed with two single mattresses that developed a chasm between, non-functioning bedside lamps, a small wardrobe with a few wire coathangers and an ancient 25cm TV ! The micro bathroom was barely functional : no sink/bath plugs, insufficient hot water pressure for a decent shower or the bidet function of the WC. No service was provided. After a week, a cleaner(?) arrived with clean towels but, as we both had colds, we asked her to return the next day - she didn't!
As visitors to Venice, some local information would have been useful but only old left-over catalogues/magazines (german & english from 2008/9/11) were available. Christina also forgot to tell us that there was construction work in progress just outside the bedroom window.
The best part by far was the location, no more that 100m to Piazza San Marco.
We thoroughly enjoyed Venice (my favourite city for photography) but the accomodation was a great disappointment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suksamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Proprietario at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

We read your review and we are stunned.
It is very strange to receive a review after 5 months, and we would say that there is something unclear in this behavior
Locanda Barbarigo was open during the period of New Year celebrations.
We do not understand why you have written untrue things.
We did not hijack anyone.
We give to the clients what they have reserved
Complaining is legitimate, but writing things that are not true .........is something different

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#126 of 387 in Venice
456 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Lisbona
Hotel Lisbona
#177 of 387 in Venice
510 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ca' Fortuny
Hotel Ca' Fortuny
#208 of 387 in Venice
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#106 of 387 in Venice
590 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#103 of 387 in Venice
906 reviews
San Marco
Friendly Venice Suites
Friendly Venice Suites
#70 of 482 in Venice
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Barbarigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Barbarigo

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2503/A | Fondamenta Duodo o Barbarigo, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 482 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $99 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Barbarigo 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Barbarigo is a Venetian Inn located in the heart of Venice just few steps from Piazza San Marco, from the most important monuments and museums of the city and the most prestigious boutiques.The rooms are located at the first floor of Palazzo Barbarigo restructured in line with the elegant and refined style of the original architectural structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Locanda Barbarigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Barbarigo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing