We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Locanda Barbarigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Locanda Barbarigo
Ranked #132 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Arrived and made our way to hotel. Door was locked so we had to knock. It was high tide when we arrived so had to stand off to side of door because of water. Operator came to door and told us to ring bell instead, I said cd not find bell, so she kinda made a show of saying its right here - it was hidden as nose of lion face but with having walkway under water was hard to get there without getting wet. Operator was a bit cold and almost seemed like she was not happy we were there. Had to have plank put down over water so we could enter hotel. Maybe those instructions were in our reservation but must have missed them. Got settled in. TV in first room very small. Bathroom window opened onto walkway so people could see in when lights were on. But room was clean and beds were comfy. We moved next day to a different room - again clean and comfy and much bigger TV. Window opened to court yard and we could hear opera at night (nice touch). Very quiet place. Operator became more friendly as week went on. She helped book a water taxi back to airport for us. Breakfast was very good and dining room was nice and we met some nice people there. If you want nice and simple place this would fit the bill.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blairboy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for your kind review.
We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay at our Locanda.
We are sorry that you should experience the phenomenon of High Water that is usual in Venice from October to March.
The operator being upstairs could not hear your knock upon opening and just said you it would be better to ring the bell to not expect too much out of the door.
As a sign of help she immediately put a bench above the water to let you in without getting wet
We regret that you have misunderstood a help sign as coldness
We hope you can come back in the future ..hopefully without high water ! ! !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 251 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

Excellent location, price, large room to accommodate 4, clean bathroom, very helpful staff, excellent breakfast provided. Would recommend to family and friends. Would certainly stay at the hotel again. 4 Australians.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are happy that you had a pleasant stay.
We hope you can come back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Locanda Barbarigo is converniently located near St. Marks and easy to reach by boat from the airport. It's a cozy place with no public sitting area to speak of. The staff is friendly and welcoming.

Our room (Iris) was a dreary appearing place overlooking a dark court. It had one window with shutter which darkened the room further. The bathroom was quite adequate, but the room lacked a comfortable chair on which to sit during downtime from walking this marvelous medieval town. The lack of public area made staying there a bit uncomfortable (we're elderly) and given the rather steep price made the stay a bit uncomfortable. Needless to say our room was not the one pictured in their website or on TripAdvisor.

The breakfast was more than adequate and the dining room quite elegant. The WiFi didn't work during our stay and the staff implied that there was little to be done about it.

Given the location and the equation of price vs comfort I would recommend this place as a last resort and would hope for a better room than we had.

Room Tip: I didn't see them but I'd insist on one of the rooms over the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cycledoc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear customer Thank you for staying here.
We are sorry that your room was not satisfactory, but we want to underline as follow:
- The room that you have had is far more than 20 square meters,
- It 's quite large and comfortable.
- There is a large chair for comfortable seating
- The window blinds are the typical Venetian ones : they are used to protect from umidity and to obscure during the night so that no light penetrates and disturb the sleeping. Obviously during the daythey can be opened to let light in
- The room overlooks the courtyard of a noble palace where the music of Music a Palazzo concerts comes .
- It Is one of the quietest and relaxing rooms of the Inn, suitable for long stays.
- It Is present on our web site with a previous photo, without the new items decorating the bed.
- Wi Fi was perfectly working ,perhaps you had a block on you i-pad or i -phone that did not permit to log in. It is frequent and just trying several times we solved the problem to other clients.

Whether you thought that your room was not comfortable for you you could tell the reception in order to find an alternative solution.
Sometimes you might make your own stay more comfortable only with a few more words ....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The hotel is simple, has a modern decoration and mirrors that make the room bigger.
The persons are nice and are ready to help and give informations.
There are public transports nearby and also a shop to by some food.
Parking the car was easy and cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your nice review. We are happy that you liked our Locanda. We hope you can come back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was my 4th time staying at Locanda Barbarigo and I won't stay anywhere else in Venice. The locanda is situated close to piazza San Marco without being in a high traffic area. Breakfast provided is more than sufficient and always plentiful. The rooms are each decorated differently but all in the Venetian styles. Bathrooms are always clean and well presented. Staff are always more than happy to help with any Venice queries. Will definitely be back!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Proprietario at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

We are very happy to read your wanderful review.
See you next time , then!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The b&b is not hard to find if you follow the instructions. Take vaporetto line 1 and get off at giglio stop. Once you get off, walk all the way to the end of the alleyway until you reach a white building. Turn left and walk all the way past the first bridge till you reach a canal and turn left. The b&b is all the way at the end under the alleyway. You will not realise you have reached it until you are at the front door.

The rooms are small but has everything you need, aircon, tv, ensuite, fridge and safe. The location is very romantic, gondolas frequent the canal just outside the b&b. we were very lucky to have bee serenaded by singers on gondolas as as they by on the gondola.
I would highly recommend this place as it is in prime location, easy to get to by vaporetto which costs ?7 for a 60min interval and is very useful as you do not need to drag your lugagge everywhere to find the place.

Thank an2007
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for your nice review.
We hope we can accommodate you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

At this time of year, this was one of the best prices I could find so I was not expecting much -- especially when I booked the "small" room (having been to Venice before I have experienced very small rooms). Instead, I found a spotless room, with a good size washroom, and plenty of room to walk around the bed. There was a mini fridge, small flat screen tv, a safe, air conditioning, free wifi and a very basic breakfast. The reception lady was very friendly and helpful. There is no reception in the evening or early a.m. but you can leave the key in the mailbox if you have an early check out. The location was quiet along a small canal. If arriving from the airport, take the orange line to the Giglio vaporetto stop, walk due straight down the narrow alley to the square, turn left and take the small bridge to the left, walk to end (5 minutes total). This is very handy to avoid carrying suitcases through the various Venetian streets. The B&B is not clearly marked, it's the first door under the "walkway". If you take the blue line, it's about a 7-10 minute walk from San Marco towards Academia over a few sets of bridges.

My review is based on the room on the 1st floor to the left. There are only 2 rooms on this floor and another 5 on the 2nd floor opening onto the breakfast area.

Room Tip: 1st floor, room to the left is quiet with a small window opening into the courtyard of next building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 45-nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for your very positive review.
We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay at our Locanda.
We hope you can come back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Ca' Fortuny
Hotel Ca' Fortuny
#193 of 385 in Venice
332 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#73 of 385 in Venice
768 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#106 of 385 in Venice
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#120 of 385 in Venice
449 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#138 of 385 in Venice
629 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 385 in Venice
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Barbarigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Barbarigo

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2503/A | Fondamenta Duodo o Barbarigo, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $170 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Barbarigo 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Barbarigo is a Venetian Inn located in the heart of Venice just few steps from Piazza San Marco, from the most important monuments and museums of the city and the most prestigious boutiques.The rooms are located at the first floor of Palazzo Barbarigo restructured in line with the elegant and refined style of the original architectural structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Locanda Barbarigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Barbarigo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing