We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Locanda Barbarigo?! Not really :(”
Review of Locanda Barbarigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Locanda Barbarigo
Ranked #128 of 479 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

After a two day trip to Trieste in a very beautiful Bed&Breakfast we arrived in Venice at Locanda Barbarigo.
A very friendly woman opened the door for us, unfortunately she was only a guest. The deskmanager didn´t welcome us, the first thing he said: passports (i guess he didn´t know the word please)...i was very disappointed because he didn´t smile at all.
I don´t know why parts of the house smelled weird, like in an old cellar...maybe because it´s so old, but you get used to it after a few hours ;)

The breakfastroom was small but cute and the variety was as small as the room but it was ok :) As an improvement i would take real cheese and not plastic toast-cheese-slices. (I read the manager wrote under a comment: We take plastic wrapped cheese because of the guests pollution --- But the ham wasn´t wrapped? That´s a weird statement i think.

The room was very nice! Could have been cleaner but it was really ok. I think it´s a very big room for a hotel in Venice.

Unfortunately i cannot give a better note than 2 points reffering to the unfriendliness of the personal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m9999Linz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Welcome to Venice.
As for the smell: we are in Venice and when there is low water , the smell come up and spread all over . It remains for just one or two hours and then disappears .... but it is normal here..... of course people coming from a "normal" town do not know this phenomenon...

We are sorry that something went wrong with your arrival.
We apologize if the guy who welcomed you in the evening was not very polite... he had the instruction to take the passports because for our law, we have to register people incoming otherwise we may be fined... perhaps he has been too dutiful...

Our breakfast room size is of 40 sqm and 6 m. High.
Our breakfast is composed by:
Cold drinks: Orange juice, Milk, Water
Hot drinks ( from a self service machine) : Milk, Expresso, long coffe, coffe with milk, cappuccino, hot water for tea.
Varieties of tea,
On the client table: 3 kinds of jam, cream chocolate , honey ,bread , croissants
On the buffet: Cake, sweet venetian bread, yogurts, butter, sliced cheese, cream cheese,salmi and cooked ham, plums, fruit in syrup, biscuits , crispbread, corn flakes, muesli.

Thank you to give us the opportunity to explain what Venice is...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 252 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here for two days on our trip across northern Italy. We loved the quaint quality of it. The staff was multi lingual and very helpful. The rooms although small were just what we wanted (we didn't want to be in the larger tourist/American style jumbo hotels). The location was easy to find and a short walk from San Marco Piazza... Far enough away to feel like you weren't surrounded by tourists.

Room Tip: Try to get the top room upstairs, it is secluded and romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheazhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are happy that you choose us just for our characteristics and you liked them.
We hope you can come back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location And really nice staff made our short trip to Venice really plesant! Clean rooms, a bit small but airconditioned and with huge bathroom. Highly recomended for couples wanting a romantic hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HavardMoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for your great review,
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here.
We hope you can again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We arrived early and were pleased to be given immediate access to our room. It was large, clean and very quiet. Even though Venice is not big the location couldn't have been better - close to San Marco square and the water taxis. Walking around Venice can be a challenge but we have an iPhone app (Off Maps 2) which made it very easy to get around. You know where you are at all times with no need for a data plan or wifi. Speaking of wifi, for a small fee, we had good wifi from the hotel for our entire stay. When we were in Venice the temperature was between 25 and 28 Celsius and the room air conditioner worked very well even though we turned it off when not in the room.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor. I think the room name was "Tris".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

We thank you for your nice review.
we are happy that you had a nice stay.
We hope you can come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Firstly we stayed in the apartment which is managed by the Locanda Barbarigo - not the Locanda Barbarigo its self.
The pics on the booking site do not in any way represent the apartment.
The apartment is in a fabulous location- on the first floor in a small quiet alley 50 metres from the San Marco Piazza and similar distance to the San Marco vaporetta station. It consisted of a small entry hall, a decent sized bedroom, a sitting room, small bathroom and small kitchen.
There are several restaurants in the area - a supermarket nearby. There is an ATM only one block away. The downside is that you have to go to the Locanda Barbarigo to check in and collect the key.
The booking information said that this was a self contained apartment
however
this was not really the case.
The apartment is badly in need of maintenance. The window glass in the kitchen had a crack horizontally right across it - the oven was 'out of order' - there were several plates -but only one tea cup. The 'fridge worked quite well. Four pillows were provided - but only three had pillow cases. We found the fourth pillow case in a kitchen drawer which appeared to have been used by the previous occupants for a tea towel. Given this - one wonders if the bed linen had been changed after the previous occupants had left.
The bed squeaked every time you moved - no night time calisthenics or you will wake the whole apartment block.
Cleanliness??? given that we were told the apartment had just been cleaned, it sure left a lot to be desired -the shower curtain was covered with mildew and we had to clean around the stove and sink before we could use it.
The bath/shower arrangement is positively dangerous. The bath wall is very high and the floor of the bath is split level - giving you a small area to stand and shower.
With some general maintenance, a bloody good clean and a more user friendly bath/shower arrangement, this apartment would be the perfect place to stay in Venice.
However, given its present condition, I could not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank philQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

We take note of your point of view.
Pity though that you do not have stayed at the Locanda Barbarigo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Philadelphia
Reviewed June 5, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were aware from the get-go that this was a small, family business style inn, but weren't quite prepared for what was in store.

As we reached the hotel (middle of the afternoon), we found the door closed, with a notice saying that, in case of emergency, we should call the phone number provided, or ring the bell. We rang the bell, and the lady who answered informed us that the reception was closed; she let us know that there was an envelope waiting for us at the desk with a letter, the key and a check-in slip (which the letter explained we were to fill in ourselves) , and opened the door for us.

The morning after we arrived, we asked at the reception about how to proceed with the check-out, seeing as the reception operated on a limited schedule. We were informed that the receptionist would be there until 1pm. On the morning of leaving, we decided to sleep in after breakfast, having understood the conversation to mean that we had until 1pm to check out. To our surprise, reception called our room at 10h50, informing us that check-out had been until 10h30 and that we should vacate the room immediately (we let her know that, since we were sleeping and counting on having a fair bit longer, we'd take a little while to get ready).

As we reached the reception to check-out, what followed was essentially us being accused (quite rudely!) of having purposefully overstayed, causing the cleaning lady to wait. We did our best to try and call it a misunderstanding rather than outright accuse her of misinforming us, so it was quite vexing to have no such courtesy be extended back.

In terms of the actual hotel, the room provided was indescribably tiny -- I literally could only stand by the bed if I were sideways -- there was no wardrobe (just some sort of narrow corridor-like nook with a rod at the end) and we could barely find the space to open our suitcase. Also, the minibar was empty (but with very detailed pricing information for what could've been there, nonetheless!). Still, it was clean and pleasant, with the window overlooking a small canal just off the Grand Canal.

Overall, the hotel is very small, and it was somewhat disconcerting to have the bedroom door open onto to the breakfast room, providing no privacy whatsoever. There are, in fact, no other communal spaces other than the minuscule lobby and the breakfast room. It does, however, have a certain charm to it that was completely ruined by the poor service.

Room Tip: Avoid room 6, aka "Privato", as it's bloody tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pdpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for your review , you give us the opportunity to reply to your points.
This is not an Hotel but an old ( Historical) House refurbished as B&B. In this case services are different from an Hotel.
When clients arrrive outside business hours we are organized to wellcome them as you described.
On the room door there is written the check out time but you did not respected it so we have been obliged to call you . After one hour of delay ( other clients were already coming for the check in and we should have to clean the room for them) you came for the check out.
We let you notice the very big delay...in any case we did not ask any charge for your late check out.

When you asked for the reception time you preferred us to speak in Italian ( even if we were speaking in English) and we correctly replied ... possibly you did not understand well .... here the misunderstanding...

We have just received a very positive review appreciating just what you disliked.....
Sothat we can understand that opinions can be completely different......what you consider "surreal" is "wanderfull" for others....

We thank you for your stay in our Locanda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#124 of 387 in Venice
451 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#70 of 387 in Venice
786 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#74 of 387 in Venice
2,618 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 387 in Venice
2,183 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#47 of 387 in Venice
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Barbarigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Barbarigo

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2503/A | Fondamenta Duodo o Barbarigo, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 479 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $122 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Barbarigo 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Barbarigo is a Venetian Inn located in the heart of Venice just few steps from Piazza San Marco, from the most important monuments and museums of the city and the most prestigious boutiques.The rooms are located at the first floor of Palazzo Barbarigo restructured in line with the elegant and refined style of the original architectural structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Locanda Barbarigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Barbarigo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing