We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveler rating
92
103
39
24
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
103
39
24
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsweek stayhigh tideperfect locationbreakfast roomnice stayquiet streetsan marco squarevenetian hotelair conditioningaway from the hustle and bustlewater busbeautiful roomsmall roomoperafridgecanalfabric
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 275 reviews
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Philadelphia
Reviewed June 5, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were aware from the get-go that this was a small, family business style inn, but weren't quite prepared for what was in store.

As we reached the hotel (middle of the afternoon), we found the door closed, with a notice saying that, in case of emergency, we should call the phone number provided, or ring the bell. We rang the bell, and the lady who answered informed us that the reception was closed; she let us know that there was an envelope waiting for us at the desk with a letter, the key and a check-in slip (which the letter explained we were to fill in ourselves) , and opened the door for us.

The morning after we arrived, we asked at the reception about how to proceed with the check-out, seeing as the reception operated on a limited schedule. We were informed that the receptionist would be there until 1pm. On the morning of leaving, we decided to sleep in after breakfast, having understood the conversation to mean that we had until 1pm to check out. To our surprise, reception called our room at 10h50, informing us that check-out had been until 10h30 and that we should vacate the room immediately (we let her know that, since we were sleeping and counting on having a fair bit longer, we'd take a little while to get ready).

As we reached the reception to check-out, what followed was essentially us being accused (quite rudely!) of having purposefully overstayed, causing the cleaning lady to wait. We did our best to try and call it a misunderstanding rather than outright accuse her of misinforming us, so it was quite vexing to have no such courtesy be extended back.

In terms of the actual hotel, the room provided was indescribably tiny -- I literally could only stand by the bed if I were sideways -- there was no wardrobe (just some sort of narrow corridor-like nook with a rod at the end) and we could barely find the space to open our suitcase. Also, the minibar was empty (but with very detailed pricing information for what could've been there, nonetheless!). Still, it was clean and pleasant, with the window overlooking a small canal just off the Grand Canal.

Overall, the hotel is very small, and it was somewhat disconcerting to have the bedroom door open onto to the breakfast room, providing no privacy whatsoever. There are, in fact, no other communal spaces other than the minuscule lobby and the breakfast room. It does, however, have a certain charm to it that was completely ruined by the poor service.

Room Tip: Avoid room 6, aka "Privato", as it's bloody tiny.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pdpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for your review , you give us the opportunity to reply to your points.
This is not an Hotel but an old ( Historical) House refurbished as B&B. In this case services are different from an Hotel.
When clients arrrive outside business hours we are organized to wellcome them as you described.
On the room door there is written the check out time but you did not respected it so we have been obliged to call you . After one hour of delay ( other clients were already coming for the check in and we should have to clean the room for them) you came for the check out.
We let you notice the very big delay...in any case we did not ask any charge for your late check out.

When you asked for the reception time you preferred us to speak in Italian ( even if we were speaking in English) and we correctly replied ... possibly you did not understand well .... here the misunderstanding...

We have just received a very positive review appreciating just what you disliked.....
Sothat we can understand that opinions can be completely different......what you consider "surreal" is "wanderfull" for others....

We thank you for your stay in our Locanda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We flew in early on a monday morning for a 3 night stay and decided to take the alilaguna waterbus to saint marcos square to get to the hotel as the hotel had recommended. The only problem was that the directions given by the hotel was confusing and it was hard to find.

We we finally found the hotel, the staff there was very nice. Even though it was early, they allowed us to check in early and took us up to the room. The room was very clean and had all the necessities.

The Breakfast was simple with some pastries and meats, but very nice and filling for a day of exploring.

A little noisy at night from the nearby opera, but it was nice to hear the opera from the room and it usually ended early enough to get to sleep at a normal time.

The main problem I had with the hotel was that once checkin is over around 2 to 3, there seems to be no other staff in the building to ask questions or help if there are any problems. As we were traveling internationally we didn't have an Italian phone yet to call for help. Thankfully we really didn't have any problems but it would have been nice to have someone ,even in the early afternoon, to ask for directions, restaurant recommendations, or supermarkets or such.

Also the internet is only free for 1 hour so if you need it, make sure you conserve it.

Overall great stay and great location for the price!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmorse90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

We thank you for your nice review.
Our property is a B&B not an Hotel, sothat our services are different. During the afternoon we are always in touch with the clients who can contact us through an interphone located at the entrance.In this way clients can speak to us avoiding the use of a mobile.
We hope you can come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed in Venice for three days in June 2012, and indeed we had a glorious time there. The Loncanda Barbarigo proved an excellent choice for staying: the B&B is conveniently located in the heart of the city, the manager and staff were really nice and helpful, and they had great coffee for breakfast (which isn't a given, not even or especially in Italy). We had a "double classic", i.e. two beds in a small room (charmingly low ceiling) right under the roof. There wasn't really much of a view, but it was clean, quiet and relaxing to stay there. Next time I go to Venice, I will definitly book myself in here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your kindeness.
It's always a pleasure to receive positive reviews.
We hope you can come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed here for two days at the end of May during Vogalonga. (The Vogalonga is a giant annual May Bank Holiday spectacle, a colourful pageant in which thousands of vessels of every kind race 32 km around Venice’s lagoons and canals. With tiny kayaks jostling for space with dragon boats, outriggers, fours, eights, sculls, skiffs and traditional venetian rowing boats, and with the ornate bridges and balconies teaming with spectators, it is the Italian equivalent to Spain’s running With the bulls). Locanda Barbarigo is a very basic bed&breakfast in every way: staff, cleanliness, facilities, toilet & shower, etc. Which is all ok if you don't mind the price and just want to sleep there maybe after a day spent all around Venice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIG_VINX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews