We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most surreal service we've ever experienced”
Review of Locanda Barbarigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Locanda Barbarigo
Ranked #135 of 473 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were aware from the get-go that this was a small, family business style inn, but weren't quite prepared for what was in store.

As we reached the hotel (middle of the afternoon), we found the door closed, with a notice saying that, in case of emergency, we should call the phone number provided, or ring the bell. We rang the bell, and the lady who answered informed us that the reception was closed; she let us know that there was an envelope waiting for us at the desk with a letter, the key and a check-in slip (which the letter explained we were to fill in ourselves) , and opened the door for us.

The morning after we arrived, we asked at the reception about how to proceed with the check-out, seeing as the reception operated on a limited schedule. We were informed that the receptionist would be there until 1pm. On the morning of leaving, we decided to sleep in after breakfast, having understood the conversation to mean that we had until 1pm to check out. To our surprise, reception called our room at 10h50, informing us that check-out had been until 10h30 and that we should vacate the room immediately (we let her know that, since we were sleeping and counting on having a fair bit longer, we'd take a little while to get ready).

As we reached the reception to check-out, what followed was essentially us being accused (quite rudely!) of having purposefully overstayed, causing the cleaning lady to wait. We did our best to try and call it a misunderstanding rather than outright accuse her of misinforming us, so it was quite vexing to have no such courtesy be extended back.

In terms of the actual hotel, the room provided was indescribably tiny -- I literally could only stand by the bed if I were sideways -- there was no wardrobe (just some sort of narrow corridor-like nook with a rod at the end) and we could barely find the space to open our suitcase. Also, the minibar was empty (but with very detailed pricing information for what could've been there, nonetheless!). Still, it was clean and pleasant, with the window overlooking a small canal just off the Grand Canal.

Overall, the hotel is very small, and it was somewhat disconcerting to have the bedroom door open onto to the breakfast room, providing no privacy whatsoever. There are, in fact, no other communal spaces other than the minuscule lobby and the breakfast room. It does, however, have a certain charm to it that was completely ruined by the poor service.

Room Tip: Avoid room 6, aka "Privato", as it's bloody tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pdpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for your review , you give us the opportunity to reply to your points.
This is not an Hotel but an old ( Historical) House refurbished as B&B. In this case services are different from an Hotel.
When clients arrrive outside business hours we are organized to wellcome them as you described.
On the room door there is written the check out time but you did not respected it so we have been obliged to call you . After one hour of delay ( other clients were already coming for the check in and we should have to clean the room for them) you came for the check out.
We let you notice the very big delay...in any case we did not ask any charge for your late check out.

When you asked for the reception time you preferred us to speak in Italian ( even if we were speaking in English) and we correctly replied ... possibly you did not understand well .... here the misunderstanding...

We have just received a very positive review appreciating just what you disliked.....
Sothat we can understand that opinions can be completely different......what you consider "surreal" is "wanderfull" for others....

We thank you for your stay in our Locanda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 251 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

We flew in early on a monday morning for a 3 night stay and decided to take the alilaguna waterbus to saint marcos square to get to the hotel as the hotel had recommended. The only problem was that the directions given by the hotel was confusing and it was hard to find.

We we finally found the hotel, the staff there was very nice. Even though it was early, they allowed us to check in early and took us up to the room. The room was very clean and had all the necessities.

The Breakfast was simple with some pastries and meats, but very nice and filling for a day of exploring.

A little noisy at night from the nearby opera, but it was nice to hear the opera from the room and it usually ended early enough to get to sleep at a normal time.

The main problem I had with the hotel was that once checkin is over around 2 to 3, there seems to be no other staff in the building to ask questions or help if there are any problems. As we were traveling internationally we didn't have an Italian phone yet to call for help. Thankfully we really didn't have any problems but it would have been nice to have someone ,even in the early afternoon, to ask for directions, restaurant recommendations, or supermarkets or such.

Also the internet is only free for 1 hour so if you need it, make sure you conserve it.

Overall great stay and great location for the price!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmorse90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

We thank you for your nice review.
Our property is a B&B not an Hotel, sothat our services are different. During the afternoon we are always in touch with the clients who can contact us through an interphone located at the entrance.In this way clients can speak to us avoiding the use of a mobile.
We hope you can come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed in Venice for three days in June 2012, and indeed we had a glorious time there. The Loncanda Barbarigo proved an excellent choice for staying: the B&B is conveniently located in the heart of the city, the manager and staff were really nice and helpful, and they had great coffee for breakfast (which isn't a given, not even or especially in Italy). We had a "double classic", i.e. two beds in a small room (charmingly low ceiling) right under the roof. There wasn't really much of a view, but it was clean, quiet and relaxing to stay there. Next time I go to Venice, I will definitly book myself in here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your kindeness.
It's always a pleasure to receive positive reviews.
We hope you can come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed here for two days at the end of May during Vogalonga. (The Vogalonga is a giant annual May Bank Holiday spectacle, a colourful pageant in which thousands of vessels of every kind race 32 km around Venice’s lagoons and canals. With tiny kayaks jostling for space with dragon boats, outriggers, fours, eights, sculls, skiffs and traditional venetian rowing boats, and with the ornate bridges and balconies teaming with spectators, it is the Italian equivalent to Spain’s running With the bulls). Locanda Barbarigo is a very basic bed&breakfast in every way: staff, cleanliness, facilities, toilet & shower, etc. Which is all ok if you don't mind the price and just want to sleep there maybe after a day spent all around Venice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIG_VINX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My Mother and I stayed at this lovely little B&B for two nights in May. The directions provided were easy to follow and we had no trouble finding the place. Monica greated us kindly and assisted in carrying our luggage up the stairs and was happy to provide advice on accessing discounted passes to museums and which sites not to miss. We stayed on the very top floor which included an additional living space and window overlooking a small courtyard. One evening we were lucky enough to enjoy the music from the opera house next door - not overly loud.

Room and bathroom were both clean and tidy, shower was great: both hot water and good water pressure. Breakfast was fine: coffee, tea, juice, cereals, meats, cheeses, pastries/breads, fruit, yoghurt. The reception is not manned in the evenings, guests are provided with key card access to the building and keys to the rooms. Wifi signal was poor on the top floor and we had to sit in the lobby to access the internet on our laptop (a bit uncomfortable with guests coming/going as the lobby is small and only two chairs available to sit on). This B&B is relatively close to public transport (water buses) and a short walk to St Mark's Square.

Overall an enjoyable stay and we would recommend to others.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Winta88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Well, it's my first comment there. I'm usually just reading what have been said.

Because of the gap between what we've lived and what we can read on tripadvisor, I just want to highlight our experience.

We've been badly received by the manager:
The room was clearly smaller than what we have been said by calling the manager,
The towels were dirty
The soap/shampoo is not refilled
You have to choose between too hot water with low pressure, or cold water with high pressure, nothing between both extreme
The room was quite noisy
Wifi access was not working even on the lobby
Breakfast was a real joke : cold and bad coffee, awful bakeries (if any), old fruits.

And the worst part : if I cannot put pictures of all what I mentioned, it's because my camera has been stolen. During the day. So, I dont't know who did that. But I would have preferred to pay a few more euros per night and still have my camera in hand.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locanda B, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Guest,
we regret you couldn't find anything attractive in our Inn. We are not sure you are referring to our Guesthouse maybe you had a mistake.
We understand that opinions can be subjective, in fact many other guests find their stay at Locanda Barbarigo just perfect.
In any case, every comment represents a purpose to improve our services although, we would like to reply to your libel.
1: the smell when you enter the building is either lavender or citrus essence!
2: our reception staff is always polite and helpful with information and tips, you should have asked to them. We don't want to be to oppressive with guests who love to discover Venice by themselves.
3: In the bathroom it is clearly written, in a multi language sticker, that the change of towels is on request. We take care of the environment, what about you? And to mix the water there is a specific tap.
4: the check-out time is at 10:30 and it is written on the door, like in any other hotel in the world. In any case we always leave other 15-30 minutes after the check-out time before recalling the guest. If you needed a late check-out, you should have asked at the reception
5: it is not possible to drink clod coffee because our automatic machine do not work until the water reach 95C° ( 203 F°)
6: the small room typology is small in itself and it is a non sense to complain for what has been chosen.
7: it is difficult to hear noise because the small rooms overlook a courtyard ,so no steps of people , no people passing by…. The only “noise” you could heard was some music coming from the opera house in front of us…
Our receptionists ( no manager at the reception) are on duty from 8 am to 7 pm and all building is controlled by cameras just for more security, therefore, the luggage left is safe!
It is a common sense to communicate with the staff and report any problem with room service or other things. If the clients do not mention anything we can not guess!
Considering that in the reviews you did not mention the room either the period of your stay, we really do not know who you are and if really you had an accommodation in our Guesthouse.
We also noticed that your profile photos of the 2 reviews (3 and 4 sept .) are the same.!!!!
We think that the 2 reviews are disloyal and we hope you will realize how harmful it can be for us.
Locanda Barbarigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

1st the smell, straight when you enter the building. Awful. It's not the water, it's something else. Weird.

2nd the welcome : no hello or bungiorno, no smile. You seem to disturb.

3rd the room : towels are not changed during your stay. Same story for shower gel, shampoo or soap. They do not want to give you some more! So, you'll be comply with buying it. No hot water in the shower neither. Very very noisy room.

4th the check out time : 10h30, very early. Reception will call you several time to recall you this.

5th the bill : no surprise on the total. Excepted that they add venezian tourist taxes (this is normal) but they try to make you pay this by cash...

6th the luggages : you want to leave your luggages during the day (because you don't want to have it during all your visits)? They will point at the entrance of the room and tell you to leave it their. It means that every one coming in or out the hotel can take it! I've never see such a dumb organization, so if you have an ipad or a notebook in your bag, think twice.

Conclusion : worst stay in venezia. Do not go there, Venezia is full of small charming hotel or B&B, with sympathetic owners ready to help you to discover the charmful city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neal_Cassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locanda B, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Guest,
we regret you couldn't find anything attractive in our Inn. We are not sure you are referring to our Guesthouse maybe you had a mistake.
We understand that opinions can be subjective, in fact many other guests find their stay at Locanda Barbarigo just perfect.
In any case, every comment represents a purpose to improve our services although, we would like to reply to your libel.
1: the smell when you enter the building is either lavender or citrus essence!
2: our reception staff is always polite and helpful with information and tips, you should have asked to them. We don't want to be to oppressive with guests who love to discover Venice by themselves.
3: In the bathroom it is clearly written, in a multi language sticker, that the change of towels is on request. We take care of the environment, what about you? And to mix the water there is a specific tap.
4: the check-out time is at 10:30 and it is written on the door, like in any other hotel in the world. In any case we always leave other 15-30 minutes after the check-out time before recalling the guest. If you needed a late check-out, you should have asked at the reception
5: it is not possible to drink clod coffee because our automatic machine do not work until the water reach 95C° ( 203 F°)
6: the small room typology is small in itself and it is a non sense to complain for what has been chosen.
7: it is difficult to hear noise because the small rooms overlook a courtyard ,so no steps of people , no people passing by…. The only “noise” you could heard was some music coming from the opera house in front of us…
Our receptionists ( no manager at the reception) are on duty from 8 am to 7 pm and all building is controlled by cameras just for more security, therefore, the luggage left is safe!
It is a common sense to communicate with the staff and report any problem with room service or other things. If the clients do not mention anything we can not guess!
Considering that in the reviews you did not mention the room either the period of your stay, we really do not know who you are and if really you had an accommodation in our Guesthouse.
We also noticed that your profile photos of the 2 reviews (3 and 4 sept .) are the same.!!!!
We think that the 2 reviews are disloyal and we hope you will realize how harmful it can be for us.
Locanda Barbarigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#138 of 384 in Venice
618 reviews
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#141 of 384 in Venice
564 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Torino
Hotel Torino
#206 of 384 in Venice
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#73 of 384 in Venice
747 reviews
San Marco
Locanda de La Spada
Locanda de La Spada
#57 of 473 in Venice
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Barbarigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Barbarigo

Address: San Marco 2503/A | Fondamenta Duodo o Barbarigo, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 473 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $140 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Barbarigo 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Barbarigo is a Venetian Inn located in the heart of Venice just few steps from Piazza San Marco, from the most important monuments and museums of the city and the most prestigious boutiques.The rooms are located at the first floor of Palazzo Barbarigo restructured in line with the elegant and refined style of the original architectural structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Locanda Barbarigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Barbarigo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing