We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$446
$435
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$208
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $247/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$373
$329
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
$272
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
$406
$322
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$263
$195
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $263/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$561
$418
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$375
$227
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda(Venice)
$442
$352
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$323
$241
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $299/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveler rating
86
102
39
24
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
102
39
24
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsweek stayhigh tideperfect locationbreakfast roomnice stayquiet streetsan marco squarevenetian hotelair conditioningaway from the hustle and bustlewater busbeautiful roomsmall roomoperafridgecanalfabric
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 268 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

1st the smell, straight when you enter the building. Awful. It's not the water, it's something else. Weird.

2nd the welcome : no hello or bungiorno, no smile. You seem to disturb.

3rd the room : towels are not changed during your stay. Same story for shower gel, shampoo or soap. They do not want to give you some more! So, you'll be comply with buying it. No hot water in the shower neither. Very very noisy room.

4th the check out time : 10h30, very early. Reception will call you several time to recall you this.

5th the bill : no surprise on the total. Excepted that they add venezian tourist taxes (this is normal) but they try to make you pay this by cash...

6th the luggages : you want to leave your luggages during the day (because you don't want to have it during all your visits)? They will point at the entrance of the room and tell you to leave it their. It means that every one coming in or out the hotel can take it! I've never see such a dumb organization, so if you have an ipad or a notebook in your bag, think twice.

Conclusion : worst stay in venezia. Do not go there, Venezia is full of small charming hotel or B&B, with sympathetic owners ready to help you to discover the charmful city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neal_Cassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locanda B, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Guest,
we regret you couldn't find anything attractive in our Inn. We are not sure you are referring to our Guesthouse maybe you had a mistake.
We understand that opinions can be subjective, in fact many other guests find their stay at Locanda Barbarigo just perfect.
In any case, every comment represents a purpose to improve our services although, we would like to reply to your libel.
1: the smell when you enter the building is either lavender or citrus essence!
2: our reception staff is always polite and helpful with information and tips, you should have asked to them. We don't want to be to oppressive with guests who love to discover Venice by themselves.
3: In the bathroom it is clearly written, in a multi language sticker, that the change of towels is on request. We take care of the environment, what about you? And to mix the water there is a specific tap.
4: the check-out time is at 10:30 and it is written on the door, like in any other hotel in the world. In any case we always leave other 15-30 minutes after the check-out time before recalling the guest. If you needed a late check-out, you should have asked at the reception
5: it is not possible to drink clod coffee because our automatic machine do not work until the water reach 95C° ( 203 F°)
6: the small room typology is small in itself and it is a non sense to complain for what has been chosen.
7: it is difficult to hear noise because the small rooms overlook a courtyard ,so no steps of people , no people passing by…. The only “noise” you could heard was some music coming from the opera house in front of us…
Our receptionists ( no manager at the reception) are on duty from 8 am to 7 pm and all building is controlled by cameras just for more security, therefore, the luggage left is safe!
It is a common sense to communicate with the staff and report any problem with room service or other things. If the clients do not mention anything we can not guess!
Considering that in the reviews you did not mention the room either the period of your stay, we really do not know who you are and if really you had an accommodation in our Guesthouse.
We also noticed that your profile photos of the 2 reviews (3 and 4 sept .) are the same.!!!!
We think that the 2 reviews are disloyal and we hope you will realize how harmful it can be for us.
Locanda Barbarigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. Directions given were great and we found it without any problems, and this was navigating our own way from the vaparetto stop at St Mark's Square. We were in room 6 which was small but perfectly formed and had everything you need from a city break hotel including air con which was a must for August..! We had a gorgeous view of the canal running by the hotel. Breakfast was great, fruit juice, tea/coffee, fruit, breads, meats and cheeses etc, all enough to set you up for the busy day ahead. Location was outstanding, only a 5 to 10 minute stroll to the square. We actually booked our room on Laterooms.com and paid a great price, especially when looking at the other hotels in this area. Would totally stay at this hotel again, couldn't fault it. Only thing I would advise is make sure you have your hotel departure tax in Euro's we weren't told this, had 14 euro's on us but then had a mad dash to find 4 extra euro's on checking out, we thought we could just add this on to the bill and pay by card..!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kha1184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for your wanderful review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at the Locanda Barbarigo.
We hope we can wellcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We chose the Locanda Barbarigo due to the provision (at extra cost) of gluten free breakfasts which were very welcome as was the recommendation of a local restaurant (a beccafico) which serves amazing food with good gluten free options. We booked with Gilli's Holidays and we were so glad that Gilli recommended this small hotel to us as it is in keeping with true venetian style. We had a beautiful room (Tris) which overlooked a small courtyard. We received excellent service in the hotel. The lady on reception went out of her way to try to help us book train tickets over the internet. The hotel is perfectly located to visit the main sites in Venice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Locanda Barbarigo was fantastic. In terms of accommodations the location was great - close enough to the heart of the city but somehow not engulfed by the tourist free-for-all. The room was BEAUTIFUL, well cared for and more than I expected. I would like to offer a special note here to communicate how wonderful the staff was. I was there on business and a colleague lost their passport, wallet, everything. My colleague was staying in a different hotel and I had already checked out. Even though neither one of us was with Locanda Barbarigo at that point the staff took a lot of time out to help us with embassy information, passport recovery information - which was urgent because of a flight out that day - procedures with the Venetian police and, importantly, an overall sense of calm and generosity. In addition to the lovely accommodations it is great to know that a hotel in a tourist epicenter is anything but beleagured. I would highly recommend them.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank jason v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

We are very happy that your trables have been solved. Thank you for your kind review.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The location of this hotel is perfect-just a short walk from the vaporetto stop. Very close to San Marco, but far enough away that it is quiet. The canal is right outside the front door, which I found very charming. Our room was a nice size and very clean, although it was a little dark because it faced an inner courtyard. The hotel staff were very hospitable. Breakfast was excellent. The hotel was expensive. However, everything in Venice is painfully expensive, so within that context, it was fairly reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews