We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the worst!”
Review of Locanda Barbarigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Locanda Barbarigo
Ranked #163 of 468 Venice B&B and Inns
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply the worst!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Well, it's my first comment there. I'm usually just reading what have been said.

Because of the gap between what we've lived and what we can read on tripadvisor, I just want to highlight our experience.

We've been badly received by the manager:
The room was clearly smaller than what we have been said by calling the manager,
The towels were dirty
The soap/shampoo is not refilled
You have to choose between too hot water with low pressure, or cold water with high pressure, nothing between both extreme
The room was quite noisy
Wifi access was not working even on the lobby
Breakfast was a real joke : cold and bad coffee, awful bakeries (if any), old fruits.

And the worst part : if I cannot put pictures of all what I mentioned, it's because my camera has been stolen. During the day. So, I dont't know who did that. But I would have preferred to pay a few more euros per night and still have my camera in hand.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locanda B, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
we regret you couldn't find anything attractive in our Inn. We are not sure you are referring to our Guesthouse maybe you had a mistake.
We understand that opinions can be subjective, in fact many other guests find their stay at Locanda Barbarigo just perfect.
In any case, every comment represents a purpose to improve our services although, we would like to reply to your libel.
1: the smell when you enter the building is either lavender or citrus essence!
2: our reception staff is always polite and helpful with information and tips, you should have asked to them. We don't want to be to oppressive with guests who love to discover Venice by themselves.
3: In the bathroom it is clearly written, in a multi language sticker, that the change of towels is on request. We take care of the environment, what about you? And to mix the water there is a specific tap.
4: the check-out time is at 10:30 and it is written on the door, like in any other hotel in the world. In any case we always leave other 15-30 minutes after the check-out time before recalling the guest. If you needed a late check-out, you should have asked at the reception
5: it is not possible to drink clod coffee because our automatic machine do not work until the water reach 95C° ( 203 F°)
6: the small room typology is small in itself and it is a non sense to complain for what has been chosen.
7: it is difficult to hear noise because the small rooms overlook a courtyard ,so no steps of people , no people passing by…. The only “noise” you could heard was some music coming from the opera house in front of us…
Our receptionists ( no manager at the reception) are on duty from 8 am to 7 pm and all building is controlled by cameras just for more security, therefore, the luggage left is safe!
It is a common sense to communicate with the staff and report any problem with room service or other things. If the clients do not mention anything we can not guess!
Considering that in the reviews you did not mention the room either the period of your stay, we really do not know who you are and if really you had an accommodation in our Guesthouse.
We also noticed that your profile photos of the 2 reviews (3 and 4 sept .) are the same.!!!!
We think that the 2 reviews are disloyal and we hope you will realize how harmful it can be for us.
Locanda Barbarigo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    92
    35
    24
    15
See reviews for
23
141
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

1st the smell, straight when you enter the building. Awful. It's not the water, it's something else. Weird.

2nd the welcome : no hello or bungiorno, no smile. You seem to disturb.

3rd the room : towels are not changed during your stay. Same story for shower gel, shampoo or soap. They do not want to give you some more! So, you'll be comply with buying it. No hot water in the shower neither. Very very noisy room.

4th the check out time : 10h30, very early. Reception will call you several time to recall you this.

5th the bill : no surprise on the total. Excepted that they add venezian tourist taxes (this is normal) but they try to make you pay this by cash...

6th the luggages : you want to leave your luggages during the day (because you don't want to have it during all your visits)? They will point at the entrance of the room and tell you to leave it their. It means that every one coming in or out the hotel can take it! I've never see such a dumb organization, so if you have an ipad or a notebook in your bag, think twice.

Conclusion : worst stay in venezia. Do not go there, Venezia is full of small charming hotel or B&B, with sympathetic owners ready to help you to discover the charmful city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neal_Cassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locanda B, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
we regret you couldn't find anything attractive in our Inn. We are not sure you are referring to our Guesthouse maybe you had a mistake.
We understand that opinions can be subjective, in fact many other guests find their stay at Locanda Barbarigo just perfect.
In any case, every comment represents a purpose to improve our services although, we would like to reply to your libel.
1: the smell when you enter the building is either lavender or citrus essence!
2: our reception staff is always polite and helpful with information and tips, you should have asked to them. We don't want to be to oppressive with guests who love to discover Venice by themselves.
3: In the bathroom it is clearly written, in a multi language sticker, that the change of towels is on request. We take care of the environment, what about you? And to mix the water there is a specific tap.
4: the check-out time is at 10:30 and it is written on the door, like in any other hotel in the world. In any case we always leave other 15-30 minutes after the check-out time before recalling the guest. If you needed a late check-out, you should have asked at the reception
5: it is not possible to drink clod coffee because our automatic machine do not work until the water reach 95C° ( 203 F°)
6: the small room typology is small in itself and it is a non sense to complain for what has been chosen.
7: it is difficult to hear noise because the small rooms overlook a courtyard ,so no steps of people , no people passing by…. The only “noise” you could heard was some music coming from the opera house in front of us…
Our receptionists ( no manager at the reception) are on duty from 8 am to 7 pm and all building is controlled by cameras just for more security, therefore, the luggage left is safe!
It is a common sense to communicate with the staff and report any problem with room service or other things. If the clients do not mention anything we can not guess!
Considering that in the reviews you did not mention the room either the period of your stay, we really do not know who you are and if really you had an accommodation in our Guesthouse.
We also noticed that your profile photos of the 2 reviews (3 and 4 sept .) are the same.!!!!
We think that the 2 reviews are disloyal and we hope you will realize how harmful it can be for us.
Locanda Barbarigo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. Directions given were great and we found it without any problems, and this was navigating our own way from the vaparetto stop at St Mark's Square. We were in room 6 which was small but perfectly formed and had everything you need from a city break hotel including air con which was a must for August..! We had a gorgeous view of the canal running by the hotel. Breakfast was great, fruit juice, tea/coffee, fruit, breads, meats and cheeses etc, all enough to set you up for the busy day ahead. Location was outstanding, only a 5 to 10 minute stroll to the square. We actually booked our room on Laterooms.com and paid a great price, especially when looking at the other hotels in this area. Would totally stay at this hotel again, couldn't fault it. Only thing I would advise is make sure you have your hotel departure tax in Euro's we weren't told this, had 14 euro's on us but then had a mad dash to find 4 extra euro's on checking out, we thought we could just add this on to the bill and pay by card..!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kha1184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your wanderful review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at the Locanda Barbarigo.
We hope we can wellcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We chose the Locanda Barbarigo due to the provision (at extra cost) of gluten free breakfasts which were very welcome as was the recommendation of a local restaurant (a beccafico) which serves amazing food with good gluten free options. We booked with Gilli's Holidays and we were so glad that Gilli recommended this small hotel to us as it is in keeping with true venetian style. We had a beautiful room (Tris) which overlooked a small courtyard. We received excellent service in the hotel. The lady on reception went out of her way to try to help us book train tickets over the internet. The hotel is perfectly located to visit the main sites in Venice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Locanda Barbarigo was fantastic. In terms of accommodations the location was great - close enough to the heart of the city but somehow not engulfed by the tourist free-for-all. The room was BEAUTIFUL, well cared for and more than I expected. I would like to offer a special note here to communicate how wonderful the staff was. I was there on business and a colleague lost their passport, wallet, everything. My colleague was staying in a different hotel and I had already checked out. Even though neither one of us was with Locanda Barbarigo at that point the staff took a lot of time out to help us with embassy information, passport recovery information - which was urgent because of a flight out that day - procedures with the Venetian police and, importantly, an overall sense of calm and generosity. In addition to the lovely accommodations it is great to know that a hotel in a tourist epicenter is anything but beleagured. I would highly recommend them.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jason v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We are very happy that your trables have been solved. Thank you for your kind review.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The location of this hotel is perfect-just a short walk from the vaporetto stop. Very close to San Marco, but far enough away that it is quiet. The canal is right outside the front door, which I found very charming. Our room was a nice size and very clean, although it was a little dark because it faced an inner courtyard. The hotel staff were very hospitable. Breakfast was excellent. The hotel was expensive. However, everything in Venice is painfully expensive, so within that context, it was fairly reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricesimo, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I was a little apprehensive after having read other reviews, but my experience at Locanda Barbarigo was absolutely lovely.

The location is perfect. Very close to San Marco, but the area around the locanda is quiet and peaceful away from the tourist bustle.

My room (#1) was perfect, large and comfortable, everything extremely clean and inviting. I'm a little fastidious and normally I avoid sitting in the armchairs in hotels, especially when they're soft upholstered (velvet tends to retain odors and dust) but this particular armchair was so clean and comfortable that I felt completely at home in it. Perfect after an exhausting day wandering around Venezia. Same goes for the other furnishings in the room--all very well taken care of and clean and fresh-smelling.

I don't normally take things from the mini-bar as I hate being ripped off--I figure it's cheaper to find a store nearby and buy my own. This mini-bar was minimalist, but extremely reasonable--normally you expect to pay more for water from the mini-bar, but in this case it was on a par at 1 euro, or even cheaper than many other take-away places nearby (that charged 1.50 or more--Venezia is expensive). So it was great value. It's a small thing, but makes me feel that the owner is being reasonable, and not just out to take my money when they charge the same or less than shops nearby. Kind of indicative of their approach to the whole host-tourist package.

And speaking of attitude--I couldn't have asked for more from the wonderful staff at this lovely B&B. Extremely helpful, very friendly, with good advice and directions for various locales, shops, and transport issues (there was a strike the day I left Venezia, but they helped me get through that too). Some other reviews have mentioned that there wasn't any service after hours--well what do you expect?? It's a B&B, and you're paying B&B prices (which was the big draw for me).

All in all I would definitely recommend this to other travellers, particularly if they want to see the more artsy side (around the Accademia) of Venezia, without being far from all the major touristy places. I'll be staying here on my next trip!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny-in-Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
We thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and understood our desire to make comfortable our customers stay.
We hope to accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Torino
Hotel Torino
#207 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#142 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#133 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#71 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
San Marco
Locanda de La Spada
Locanda de La Spada
#68 of 468 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
San Marco
Zaguri B&B
Zaguri B&B
#73 of 468 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Barbarigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Barbarigo

Property: Locanda Barbarigo
Address: San Marco 2503/A | Fondamenta Duodo o Barbarigo, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 468 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Barbarigo 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Barbarigo is a Venetian Inn located in the heart of Venice just few steps from Piazza San Marco, from the most important monuments and museums of the city and the most prestigious boutiques.The rooms are located at the first floor of Palazzo Barbarigo restructured in line with the elegant and refined style of the original architectural structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Locanda Barbarigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Barbarigo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing