We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pitiful hotel- Definitely stay away”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Locanda Herion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Locanda Herion
Ranked #158 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pitiful hotel- Definitely stay away”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We capped off a glorious 2+ week trip to Italy with a 2 day visit to Venice. This hotel is managed by people who are deceitful and petty. My observations during our 2 night stay:
1- They charge you 15 Euro for changing the sheets
2- An additional 15 Euro charge if you want fresh towels
3- They are stingy with soap. For two adults staying two nights, they only provided us with one bar of soap for everything (bathing, washing hands, etc). Not one bar of soap each day, but we are talking about one extremely small bar of soap for the entire stay.
4- No safe in the room. So you need to carry around your passport (and any other valuables if you brought them) on you while sightseeing.
5- Signs posted that if you are caught eating or drinking in your room, they will charge you 50 Euro. What??
6- We wanted to pay using our American Express card, but the manager (bald guy- seems like his name is Andrea based on other reviews here) said that they don't accept AmEx. Then, they said that he would accept it but charge us a 5% premium for using it. Pretty sure that this pricing scheme is against the Terms of Service that merchants need to abide by.
7- Overall, the room was the most expensive, least comfortable, and tiniest room during our entire trip. It was a tiny box, with enough space for a small bed, and nothing else. No chair to sit on, could barely make our way to the bathroom.

**All in all, very unpleasant lodging and deceitful management.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Italy1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    156
    43
    15
    12
See reviews for
49
212
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were very happy with the 2 nights we spent here before a cruise. The 2 hotel managers were extremely helpful, explaining the sites to see, answering questions. Prior to our arrival, they gave detailed instructions on finding the hotel including photos to show landmarks. The room was clean, quiet, comfortable and included AC. Nice size bathroom with good quality towels. Breakfast was continental with delicious, flaky apricot croissants, cereal, fruit, juice, cheese, hard rolls. There was a coffee machine to make a variety of coffees. A lovely outdoor terrace could be used to enjoy breakfast. They do not provide eggs or meat because of Venice regulations on kitchen equipment/cooking. The location was very good. It was a 20 minute walk to San Marco, etc. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: As this hotel in in a small, quiet square, I think most of the rooms are quiet. We were on the third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumzie1039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Arriving late at night was a little disconcerting because the surroundings were desolate, everything being closed up and quiet. But after a good nights sleep we found the area bustling with activity ~ restaurants, shops and street vendors right outside. We were within walking distance of San Marcuola square, the train station, and of course the vaporetto, which I would recommend to anyone going to Venice to get the pass to hop on and off for the duration of your stay.

Andrea, our host, gave us many pointers on where to go, a great restaurant in Burano, and the most delicious croissants for breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front (street) because the street noise might keep some people awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our overall experience in this hotel was very good. The first thing is....we're in Venice where everything needs to be shipped in, prices are higher, you're staying 'on the water' etc, so you have to set some realistic expectations. The directions weren't the best but we were able to find it without getting lost. Andrea at the reception was helpful providing info getting around, restaurants and the water taxi. Be prepared to carry your valuables as there is no safe in the room. The bathroom in the room we stayed in was located on a lower level (2 tiered room) and was a bit musty, but that's because we're staying in Venice which is slowly sinking. We were in another room and that bathroom was ok. The rooms were very spacious. The complimentary breakfast was ok, good enough to get your day started. Overall for the money, price, location: I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Don't choose the first floor room by the coffee machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYTVZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed one night here and was ok. The location is great, only 5 mins or so from the station.
The man on reception was very friendly and gave plenty of advice on where to go, where to eat etc.
Our room was a decent size, as was the bathroom. It was clean, although the bathroom did look a bit tired and our sheet had a hole. Our room was on the ground floor with the terrace right outside our window so we were woken up by people having early breakfast. You felt quite conscious of making sure the curtains were firmly closed!
Breakfast was ok, although this wasn't included so I was glad that I made the most of the buffet. At 2.50 euros though, it was cheap. They did charge us for two breakfasts, I did notice afterwards, although only I had one. I did not take this up with them as I didn't notice until our next destination and I wasn't going to argue over 2.50. So perhaps if I had taken it up with them it would have been sorted. There was no safe, but a safety deposit box was available on request. My boyfriend paid for the room so I can't comment on value for money, but I would expect to pay maybe 100 euros. I would stay there again, but I have stayed in others that are better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank master_midian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

A small and friendly hotel in a great location, just away from the maddening crowds but close to the railway station and water transport. The manager and staff offered personal attention and have been unbelievably helpful with advice on restaurants, the most cost effective solutions for transport, concert tickets etc. We received several choices of gluten free products for breakfast and this was no trouble for the staff despite them being very busy. The bedroom and bathroom were a good size, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Everywhere in the hotel was very clean. We couldn't believe how quiet the room was (on the second floor) considering the proximity to the main thoroughfare. The price was very reasonable for Venice!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CVR8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

FIrst off, since we only just left there a couple nights ago, I wanted to be sure I have this review accurately.

First, the positives: the FIRST Andrea we met was extremely positive, helped us with our map and orientation, and then walked us to our room. He was quite pleasant.
The LOCATION is excellent, although we got lost carrying our crapload of luggage from the train station. Location close to everything.

I don't think I'd be this angry if it weren't for the price we paid - a whopping $170 Euros a night for a less than sub-par room. And this was with the CASH DISCOUNT.

First off - Our "private" honeymoon room had people outside the window for the most part smoking and talking, and we could see and hear them as well as they could see and hear us.

Second, which may be the case in all of Venice, I'm not sure - the floor to our room was very uneven and tilted heavily towards the public terrace. This became a huge problem when there was some sort of drain or plumbing leak that travelled through the ceiling into our side wall, and then leaked out of the floor trim and completely soaked our things and our bed. No sweat, we'll let the guys know and hopefully they can take care of it - if not take care of it, at least not charge us for any damage, if they thought it was our fault. We had a slight interchange where they insisted it was not the plumbing, but that they'd "take a look at it." We came back later on and asked if they figured it out, to which they replied, "I don't know, he did something to the room." We walked up to find our wet bed cover missing (not replaced), including a personal one that belonged to my wife, which we were told "we don't know anything about that, we'll have to inquire with the maid service." The room was dry though, so we let it alone. It even stayed dry for an extra morning - mainly because whatever room that was causing this issue, was most likely vacant for that one night.

Let's put that on hold for a moment - so we typically would lock our valuables in a safe (which this hotel did not offer), to keep the honest cleaning people honest. Along with my wife's blanket gone (which may have been an honest mistake), we WERE shocked however to find our window wide open (which led to the open terrace - anyone could have just climbed in) when we came back hours later. We shared our thought, and were met with silence.

As a side note, this place has a notice right on the door that they charge EXTRA for towel / linen service (extra $15 euros) and for maid service (something else ridiculous), but that it's required at least once every 2 days. We did not EVER have our linens changed, and the one time they did (as a result of the flood), the bed cover was never replaced.

With all these things adding up, we started taking the little things to heart. As a joke, they also said no food or drink was allowed in the bedroom, but they provided a small fridge, which we were hoping to keep our water bottles cold for when we travelled. The funny thing is, this fridge can't even hold an apple - as a side joke, we even took an apple, cut it in half, and it still couldn't fit inside. Not that this is an important feature, but now we're just laughing at hoe bad our stay was here. It's not over yet.

Our last night / morning there, it was a flood again in our bedroom, and once again was traveling up the sheets. We had had enough, and wanted out of there as fast as possible.

We gave the "other" Andrea one shot to see if he'd do right by us and apologize, provide an explanation for the security risk, an explanation for where my wife's blanket went, or at least provide a significant discount from our inflated rate (most likely from telling them it was our honeymoon). He gave no explanation, said he couldn't do anything until his partner returned (conveniently, it would be after we had to be at the airport), and after further pressing on my part, he reluctantly took off 15 Euros (this is 3% mind you), gave us some rolls and we let ourselves out the door. I did let him know I would be posting this review, and here it is.

All in all, a terrible experience. If it weren't for the first Andrea (bald one) doing his best to be helpful at the beginning, this would definitely get only 1 star. We stayed in MUCH nicer rooms for less than 30% of the cost - good thing we have all of those to remember our 2 week stay in Italy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nick66718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Alle Guglie
Hotel Alle Guglie
#189 of 386 in Venice
544 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#108 of 386 in Venice
459 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Alla Corte Rossa
Alla Corte Rossa
#217 of 386 in Venice
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ca' Fontanea
Ca' Fontanea
#163 of 386 in Venice
280 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Caprera
Hotel Caprera
#159 of 386 in Venice
430 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#89 of 386 in Venice
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Herion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Herion

Property: Locanda Herion
Address: Cannaregio 1697/A | Campiello Picutti, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#149 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Locanda Herion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he Inn Deep in the Cannaregio district, in the historic center of Venice Locanda Herion is only 7 minutes from the station and is very convenient services for Rialto, San Marco and the islands. Just behind the main road in the small square named after a great partisan A.Picutti, makes the stay peaceful and quiet, allowing you to rest very well. The Venetian-style furnishings, fully renovated in 2008, comes from a home of an important ancient Venetian family the Colussi, antiquity and the history of this structure can be recognized in the floors dating back to 1897 and 1912 in the decorations such as the 'fresco, the rails in antique brass, marble stairs and skylights Venetian wrought iron and glass from Murano. The special feature of this house is derived from the game of interlinked terraces, transformed into miniature roof gardens that overlook the inner courtyard. The antiquity still leaves room also with many modern facilities, in order to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible. The family management related to the particular structure makes up the warm ambience and excellent service for customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Locanda Herion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Herion Venice
Locanda Herion Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing