We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Locanda Herion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Locanda Herion
Ranked #191 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I'm a mid-30s professional, used to both slumming it as a student and nowdays the finer things in life.
This place is excellent. Room was large, with a small bathroom, but powerful shower. We asked for a quiet room and got one. Room 6a first floor at the back, I could imagine the ground floor rooms being noisier.
Breakfast is basic, but sufficient, i certainly didn't go hungry.
Both mangers we met were courteous and helpful.
Location is 10 yrds from the main thoroughfare through Canareggio, and only a short walk from the "local" areas, offering much better food, though prices similar. 10-15 min from piz roma, and 5 to closest vaporetto stop.
Would stay here again for the price, though might consider drifting across the canal to san croce next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimbo159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
There are newer reviews for Locanda Herion
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 366 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

The standard room we stayed in was VERY small. It was off the hallway with no window. There was a notice in the room that there is no eating or drinking in the room. The water from the shower spilled all over the floor and the "hot" water was tepid at best. Breakfast was a croissant, roll and plastic wrapped cheese. I would not have complained of these things except when we got home from our trip I received and email that said, "THANKS FOR SMOKING IN OUR NOT SMOKING ROOM". Although my husband smokes, I am allergic and he did not smoke in the room. My husband did throw some butts that he had in his pocket in the trash can. He did not want to liter, so he breaks of the butt and stores it in his pocket until he finds a trash can. When I explained all this to the hotel via email and a call through Hotels.com, they did not apologize for the misunderstanding or the curt email. I recommend shopping around for a better deal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaHerionVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Herion, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Good Evening,
I'm really sorry for the mail my staff wrote to you, but i have the duty also to say that the rules are very clear and they are written in a paper located in every room.
In every rooms we pray our guest to avoid to eat and smoke inside the rooms for igienic reasons and to respect also the next guests will occupy the room.
The first night we found cigarettes in the W.C .. and we simply put the paper with the rules where you could read better..then instead the same when you changed your room.
The smell inside the room forced us to clean also the tent and the coverlet, because people that arrived later you said that the 'smoke smell' was too strong.
We have three terraces where our guest can smoke and eat without to create any kind of problem, full of ash and trash keeper.

But at the end , i really apology for the mail, without my authorization.
Best Regards
Andrea Locanda Herion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Location was perfect 15 min walk from station, 20 min to Rialto bridge and close to Vaporetto stop. The room was clean but the bathroom had some issues. The shower curtin was not long enough and water went all over the floor, we had to use our hand towels on the floor to stop from slipping over and the towel holder was falling off the wall. The breakfast was good but one day we had no butter and when we asked for it the manager got upset with us and said they didn't deliver it so no butter today. We found the manager to be a bit short with people. Also we had to pay a fee of EUR 5 per bag for the hotel to keep our bags for 4 hours. I though this was a bit mean. We wont come back here to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

we stayed there recently. Location was perfect. about 10min walk from train station and 15-20 walk to Rialto bridge. Close to Vaporetto stop. We had a superior room on the top floor. It was clean and quiet. worked out and will recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDX888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

To start the good; the location is great and the room we had was spacious and clean. The breakfast was nice but lacking allowance and variety.
The bad; An annoying ticking noise in our room that we complained about and were ignored. we were accused of messing with the thermostat in reception and even though we stated we didnt know what the manager was talking about he continued to accuse and lecture us. The rooms were freezing and the radiators didnt work as clearly the manager had the thermostats turned off.
The ugly; we were forced to pay extra to check in after 8pm something we found out about the day of departure. the canal which is the only way to get to the hotel from the water bus floods frequently, twice during our three night trip.
Overall venice is worth seeing but worth paying extra and staying near Rialto, which is where all the action is.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mememememe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

These people should not be in the hospitality business. They were rude and mean spirited. Every request was met with disinterest, and every complaint with the answer "this is Venice, Madam." The shower head splashed water everywhere. The people were hardly at the front desk. On the day of departure, Sunday, breakfast was served at 8:30. When I showed up in the breakfast room at 8:15, prior to our departure and asked whether I might have a cup of coffee, my request was ignored. I travel extensively and have had wonderful experiences in most hotels, but this one was simply awful. THUMBS DOWN!

Room Tip: Forget it! This hotel is a losing proposition because the management is so bad!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank malkawolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

i recently wanted to treat myself to a night and full day in venice. i was traveling alone, visiting friends in bologna and vicinity, and wanted to touch base with some new venetian friends, and roam freely to be inspired to do more drawings of one of my favorite places on earth. i was lucky to find the locanda herion through one of my new venetian friends, and it was the ideal place to plunk myself down. the room was quite spacious, and tastefully appointed, clean, and although the proverbial stone's throw from the main drag, quiet - much appreciated for a good night's sleep after much running around. the staff - the two andreas - are great hosts: warm, attentive, and bright and good-humored. i heartily recommend the locanda herion, and look forward to returning there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hankblaustein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Alla Corte Rossa
Alla Corte Rossa
#224 of 384 in Venice
171 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Alle Guglie
Hotel Alle Guglie
#192 of 384 in Venice
566 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#100 of 384 in Venice
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Caprera
Hotel Caprera
#174 of 384 in Venice
444 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Ca' San Marcuola
Locanda Ca' San Marcuola
#181 of 384 in Venice
277 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Ariel Silva
Hotel Ariel Silva
#336 of 384 in Venice
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Herion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Herion

Address: Cannaregio 1697/A | Campiello Picutti, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#145 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#148 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $93 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Locanda Herion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he Inn Deep in the Cannaregio district, in the historic center of Venice Locanda Herion is only 7 minutes from the station and is very convenient services for Rialto, San Marco and the islands. Just behind the main road in the small square named after a great partisan A.Picutti, makes the stay peaceful and quiet, allowing you to rest very well. The Venetian-style furnishings, fully renovated in 2008, comes from a home of an important ancient Venetian family the Colussi, antiquity and the history of this structure can be recognized in the floors dating back to 1897 and 1912 in the decorations such as the 'fresco, the rails in antique brass, marble stairs and skylights Venetian wrought iron and glass from Murano. The special feature of this house is derived from the game of interlinked terraces, transformed into miniature roof gardens that overlook the inner courtyard. The antiquity still leaves room also with many modern facilities, in order to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible. The family management related to the particular structure makes up the warm ambience and excellent service for customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Locanda Herion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Herion Venice
Locanda Herion Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing