We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice little hotel”
Review of Locanda Herion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Locanda Herion
Ranked #185 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

we stayed there recently. Location was perfect. about 10min walk from train station and 15-20 walk to Rialto bridge. Close to Vaporetto stop. We had a superior room on the top floor. It was clean and quiet. worked out and will recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDX888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
There are newer reviews for Locanda Herion
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 367 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

To start the good; the location is great and the room we had was spacious and clean. The breakfast was nice but lacking allowance and variety.
The bad; An annoying ticking noise in our room that we complained about and were ignored. we were accused of messing with the thermostat in reception and even though we stated we didnt know what the manager was talking about he continued to accuse and lecture us. The rooms were freezing and the radiators didnt work as clearly the manager had the thermostats turned off.
The ugly; we were forced to pay extra to check in after 8pm something we found out about the day of departure. the canal which is the only way to get to the hotel from the water bus floods frequently, twice during our three night trip.
Overall venice is worth seeing but worth paying extra and staying near Rialto, which is where all the action is.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mememememe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

These people should not be in the hospitality business. They were rude and mean spirited. Every request was met with disinterest, and every complaint with the answer "this is Venice, Madam." The shower head splashed water everywhere. The people were hardly at the front desk. On the day of departure, Sunday, breakfast was served at 8:30. When I showed up in the breakfast room at 8:15, prior to our departure and asked whether I might have a cup of coffee, my request was ignored. I travel extensively and have had wonderful experiences in most hotels, but this one was simply awful. THUMBS DOWN!

Room Tip: Forget it! This hotel is a losing proposition because the management is so bad!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank malkawolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

i recently wanted to treat myself to a night and full day in venice. i was traveling alone, visiting friends in bologna and vicinity, and wanted to touch base with some new venetian friends, and roam freely to be inspired to do more drawings of one of my favorite places on earth. i was lucky to find the locanda herion through one of my new venetian friends, and it was the ideal place to plunk myself down. the room was quite spacious, and tastefully appointed, clean, and although the proverbial stone's throw from the main drag, quiet - much appreciated for a good night's sleep after much running around. the staff - the two andreas - are great hosts: warm, attentive, and bright and good-humored. i heartily recommend the locanda herion, and look forward to returning there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hankblaustein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Very well located,in Cannareggio district,near S.Marcuola vaporetto's stop,only 5 minutes walking distance from Santa Lucia station, this friendly and quiet property offer a clean and beautiful decorated spacious rooms with private bathroom and continental breakfast. The staff is very helpful and provide you all the details regarding how to reach the famous locations.Definately recomanded.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise294458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night as part of our stop in our european trip. The location is pretty good as it's just a walking distance from the station. It's also conveniently located just inside the main street so it's also nice and quite. The room is clean and fairly big as compared to the other hotel rooms I stayed in europe. We didn't get to take breakfast as we needed to leave early to catch our flight but the staff was kind enough to suggest to leave their coffee machine in case we want to get some coffee. The staff is excellent and very helpful. Since we were only staying for 1 day he showed us the best place to go activities to do. I guess the no free internet access as compared to the previous hotels I've stayed during this trip is the only thing from giving this a 5 star rating but overall it's a great hotel with excellent staff. I'll stay here again if I ever get a chance to visit Venice.

Room Tip: Choose the lower floor if you have heavy bags
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the first weekend of February, which was the first weekend of Carnivale 2013. We were expecting Venice to have been booked up months in advance for Carnivale, but we still managed to find this gem of a hotel at a very decent price only booking around October 2012.
My first tip would be: forego wheelie suitcases and take a rucksack! This is true for any hotel in Venice if you're arriving by public transport from the Marco Polo airport, as it saves you having to lug a wheelie suitcase up and down countless bridges - and saves the ears of all tourists, locals and sleeping children in the streets as you drag your wheelie suitcase over the uneven pavements!
That being said, my boyfriend and I arrived at Locanda Herion at about 1pm on a Friday afternoon, expecting to not be able to check in and have to leave our bags and come back. Quite to the contrary, the lovely owner welcomed us with open arms, showed us the small property and to our room (5A) and then told us to come back down with our documents when we were ready. He then proceeded to give us a whole host of useful tips for Venice - both how to reach the famous locations, as well as some more off-the-beaten-track recommendations, which I love. He really did go the extra mile, and that was true throughout the duration of our stay! He continued to provide us with weather updates, tips for Carnivale and directed us to his favourite restaurants. I've never experienced such a welcoming hotel owner.
As for our room, we really liked the fact that it was very spacious. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was even more powerful than my power shower at home, which was wonderful on a Saturday afternoon when it rained torentially and we just wanted to warm up! The property is generally very quiet, due to its location tucked off the main Strada Nuove through the Canareggio neighbourhood. Apart from a few bands parading past during Carnivale, we heard no noise whatsoever (except the noisy Germans next door!)
Breakfast was a simple, but filling continental affair, with cereal, muesli, yoghurt, crackers and then freshly baked croissants and rolls. Coffee comes from a machine, but does the job brilliantly.
The location is perfect: a 3-minute walk (if that!) to the nearest alilaguna water bus service (stop San Marcuola), and the #1 and #2 both stop there regularly. This gets you to the centre very quickly - but we also learnt that it's almost as fast to walk - and that was certainly more atmospheric during Carnivale.
Overall, a wonderful stay in a brilliant little secret guesthouse - and one to which we shall certainly return when we come back to Venice one day to do all the things we didn't manage this weekend!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the small square near the entrance, and was above the Reception, so could someti...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RachelMary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Alle Guglie
Hotel Alle Guglie
#192 of 384 in Venice
566 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Alla Corte Rossa
Alla Corte Rossa
#224 of 384 in Venice
171 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Ariel Silva
Hotel Ariel Silva
#334 of 384 in Venice
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Caprera
Hotel Caprera
#169 of 384 in Venice
445 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#93 of 384 in Venice
429 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Ca' San Marcuola
Locanda Ca' San Marcuola
#181 of 384 in Venice
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Herion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Herion

Address: Cannaregio 1697/A | Campiello Picutti, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#145 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#148 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $92 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Locanda Herion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he Inn Deep in the Cannaregio district, in the historic center of Venice Locanda Herion is only 7 minutes from the station and is very convenient services for Rialto, San Marco and the islands. Just behind the main road in the small square named after a great partisan A.Picutti, makes the stay peaceful and quiet, allowing you to rest very well. The Venetian-style furnishings, fully renovated in 2008, comes from a home of an important ancient Venetian family the Colussi, antiquity and the history of this structure can be recognized in the floors dating back to 1897 and 1912 in the decorations such as the 'fresco, the rails in antique brass, marble stairs and skylights Venetian wrought iron and glass from Murano. The special feature of this house is derived from the game of interlinked terraces, transformed into miniature roof gardens that overlook the inner courtyard. The antiquity still leaves room also with many modern facilities, in order to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible. The family management related to the particular structure makes up the warm ambience and excellent service for customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Locanda Herion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Herion Venice
Locanda Herion Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing