We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At home in Venice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locanda Ca' Amadi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Locanda Ca' Amadi
Ranked #36 of 467 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“At home in Venice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is not a hotel and the owners are proud of it. This is being at home, only in Venice! A very small locanda, ideally placed, just behind the Rialto Bridge. Taking breakfast in the family and enjoying the Canale view. Extremely friendly atmosphere, a piece of cake in the afternoon and charming rooms!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraCh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    48
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
51
240
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

If you want a place to stay that has a great location, great charm and great staff then look no further!

We stayed here for seven nights in September and enjoyed every minute. The place is easy to enough to find if you follow the excellent instructions.

When we arrived Alberto was there to greet us and made us feel very welcome. Both he and Valentina work hard to ensure their guests get the most from their stay (as do the other staff).

We stayed in the junior suite. It really is quite stunning. It was fun watching the gondolas passing along the canal beneath the windows and hearing the cry "Marco Polo house" every few minutes.

The position of Ca Amadi is an ideal location for exploring the quieter areas of Venice and yet is also close to the main attractions. There are many good eating places nearby that are recommended by Ca Amadi and are worth trying.

There is little more to add except to endorse the good comments of most of the other reviewers.

We enjoyed our stay here and we have every intention of staying here again.

Room Tip: The junior suite has a canal view, which we found interesting (and fun). Be aware though that it can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

My mother and I stayed in the standard twin room for 3 nights in October 2013. The room was a really good size, extremely clean and very quiet. There was a good selection of cereal, bread, meat, cheese, yoghurts and scambled/boiled eggs for breakfast which was more than adequate to set us up for our day of sighseeing. As the other reviews have stated the access is down an alleyway but we had no problems with this and found the location very convenient for local restauarants and getting to the major attractions. Although reception is only open for limited hours we were given an access code to get in on our arrival and to on check-out to collect our bags later in the day so. Alberto was very welcoming and happy to help if assistance required. I would highly recommend this B&B and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RhiTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on a recent trip just wanted to Venice to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. The guest house is beautiful and we were made to feel extremely welcome. Our room was stunning and we really appreciated all the little touches they made.

Alberto's help advising us on best ways to get to Verona and around Venice was invaluable. We had a fabulous day trip to Verona and didn't struggle once with his directions. Even the directions to the guest house were simple and easy to follow on our arrival in Venice.

We would definitely stay at this accommodation again and would not hesitate to advise our friends and family to stay here in the future.

Very friendly service and invaluable with advice about Venice and surrounding areas. Free Wifi was an added bonus. All staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

Our room was cleaned everyday and the breakfast had various options to enjoy.

We appreciated the quiet and authentic Venetian feel to your guest house. I fear if you were to try and make changes it may take away from the initial appeal. It is perfect.

We really felt like we had travelled back in time to the Venitian era with all the glamour of the decor. You hadn't spoiled it by making it too modern. We were ideally located not far from the Rialto bridge and it was set back in a quiet court yard area.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honeymanlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Cannot recommend this place more highly. Alberto and his team made our stay a dream. The location is easy to find and near the Rialto bridge. Breakfast was nice and our room quiet. We didn't get a canal side room so we looked out on the courtyard.
Restaurants are plentiful in the area and we didn't find a dud one.
Will stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Medge E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

After traveling for four weeks in Italy this was our very least pleasant hotel experience. Our canal view room was really a canal peak for anyone under six feet tall and NOT worth the extra money. The only real view was from a small balcony in the breakfast, lobby and front desk room. When it came time to check out the female co-owner asked if EVERYTHING was OK. When I suggested that the room should be listed as limited canal view she started screaming at me. Needless to say this was embarrassing, leaving a bad feeling and totally unnecessary. Breakfast was a boring display of semi fresh things. Since check out is 10:00 AM ( the earliest we have ever seen ) and the hotel is closed between 1:00 and 3:00 PM we had to return before 1:00 to pick up our luggage which meant we lost an afternoon of sightseeing. The hotel is near the Rialto Bridge ...down a series of dark alleys which made it uncomfortable returning late at night. .

Room Tip: do not waste money on canal view if you must stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaAmadi_Palace, Manager at Locanda Ca' Amadi, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
thanking for your review, we would like to explain how things really went, since what you remember and write is not correct.

Regarding the canal view from your room, you complained about this the first and second day of your stay and not at check-out. I answered I was sorry and actually didn't know what else to say: a medium-tall person can easily see the canal from the windows. We cannot have control on people's height, nor on windows height or walls width.

At check-out you complained about:
- tourist tax: you said that in the reservation voucher it was written that all taxes are included. This is not true, in the voucher it's written "tourist tax excluded". As I tried to explain to you, we cannot include such tax in advance because it depends on the period of the year and on the age of the guests.

- daily room cleaning; you said that your room hadn't been cleaned for 3 days. Again, this is not true: it was cleaned every day.

- mini-bar refilling: you complained that your minibar hadn't been refilled. After checking it, I apologized for this with you and you paid only 1 out of the 3 bottles of water you consumed.

- bread/croissants freshness: you said that we had served old bread and croissants for breakfast, but the bakery delivers fresh products to us every day. We do not even use frozen products.

After complaining about these things, you didn't give me the chance to explain my point of view. When I tried to talk, you started yelling at me: "shut up, shut up, I don't care of what you have to say". This understandably made me nervous because I felt I had the right to answer to false accusations.

Believe me, having in front of me a person saying false things and ordering me to "shut-up" was much more embarrassing and bad-feeling to me than to you.
Fortunately the other present guests understood the situation and recognized your rude manners.

- baggage pick-up: if guests want to pick up their bags when the reception is closed, they're provided with an access code. I explained this to you and also told you that I would have waited for your return. So you really can't say you missed an afternoon of sightseeing.

- check-out time: Ca' Amadi is a small guest-house and we cannot offer the same services of a starred hotel. Check-out time is clearly indicated in our website and in the reservation voucher.

- dark alleys: the street and court where we are located are illuminated like all other streets in Venice. Of course our street is not the most frequented in Venice (and this is what lots of our guests appreciate), and it may look a little bit "scaring", but 90% of the streets in Venice are like ours and they're not unsafe.

We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay, but your judgement was clearly influenced by misleading factors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisamberg
Level Contributor
228 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Excellent B&B near Rialto. Good size rooms. Good beds. Modern bath rooms. Absolutely quiet location. Breakfast also very good. Excellent price-quality ratio. Friendly and helpful owners. Absolutely recommendable. Probably impossible to find something better in Venice at these prices. A few very attractive (affordable) restaurants just around the corner.
Location actually quite easy to find: from Rialto walk to the church San Giovanni di Chrisostomo. Just in front of the church turn right, and after 10 m at the bar turn right again into a very short alley. At the end (after 10 m) turn left and walk till the end of the narrow alley decorated with some graffiti (ca 100 m). There - at the right side - is the entrance to the courtyard where the B&B is located. There is also an indication for the hotel on the wall of the bar at the corner, where you turn right.
For historically minded persons: According to the owner the B&B is located in the house where Marco Polo was born. How about that!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manfred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#163 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#107 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#183 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Abbazia
Hotel Abbazia
#74 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,849 reviews
Cannaregio
A La Locanda di Orsaria
A La Locanda di Orsaria
#26 of 467 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Filu
Hotel Filu
#31 of 467 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Ca' Amadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ca' Amadi

Property: Locanda Ca' Amadi
Address: Cannaregio 5815 | Corte Amadi - Calle Morosina, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 467 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Ca' Amadi 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca' Amadi is a small boutique hotel sited in the heart of Venice, a few steps from Rialto bridge and few minutes away from Saint Mark's square. Ca' Amadi is housed in the noble floor of a palace dated back 13th century, which was the house of Marco Polo. In the 15th century the Amadi palace hosted the Emperor Frederick III. The 6 rooms, all different from each other, are elegantly furnished in the typical venetian style and are equipped with all comforts (independend air conditioning/heating, minibar, LCD TV, safe, free wi-fi).Ca’ Amadi è una piccola locanda situata nel cuore di Venezia, a pochi passi dal Ponte di Rialto e a pochi minuti a piedi da Piazza San Marco.Casa di Marco Polo a cavallo tra il XIII e il XIV secolo, palazzo Amadi fu nel XV secolo residenza del mercante Francesco Amadi, nominato Conte dall’imperatore Federico III per averlo ospitato presso la sua dimora.Storia, cultura o semplicemente una pausa dalla frenesia quotidiana: a Ca’ Amadi ciascun viaggiatore può trovare ciò che cerca.I servizi della Locanda Ca' Amadi includono connessione internet wireless gratuita, aria condizionata in tutta la struttura e molto altro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Locanda Ca' Amadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ca` Amadi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing