We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT”
Review of Locanda Ca' Amadi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Locanda Ca' Amadi
Ranked #37 of 471 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

After traveling for four weeks in Italy this was our very least pleasant hotel experience. Our canal view room was really a canal peak for anyone under six feet tall and NOT worth the extra money. The only real view was from a small balcony in the breakfast, lobby and front desk room. When it came time to check out the female co-owner asked if EVERYTHING was OK. When I suggested that the room should be listed as limited canal view she started screaming at me. Needless to say this was embarrassing, leaving a bad feeling and totally unnecessary. Breakfast was a boring display of semi fresh things. Since check out is 10:00 AM ( the earliest we have ever seen ) and the hotel is closed between 1:00 and 3:00 PM we had to return before 1:00 to pick up our luggage which meant we lost an afternoon of sightseeing. The hotel is near the Rialto Bridge ...down a series of dark alleys which made it uncomfortable returning late at night. .

Room Tip: do not waste money on canal view if you must stay at this hotel
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaAmadi_Palace, Manager at Locanda Ca' Amadi, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
thanking for your review, we would like to explain how things really went, since what you remember and write is not correct.

Regarding the canal view from your room, you complained about this the first and second day of your stay and not at check-out. I answered I was sorry and actually didn't know what else to say: a medium-tall person can easily see the canal from the windows. We cannot have control on people's height, nor on windows height or walls width.

At check-out you complained about:
- tourist tax: you said that in the reservation voucher it was written that all taxes are included. This is not true, in the voucher it's written "tourist tax excluded". As I tried to explain to you, we cannot include such tax in advance because it depends on the period of the year and on the age of the guests.

- daily room cleaning; you said that your room hadn't been cleaned for 3 days. Again, this is not true: it was cleaned every day.

- mini-bar refilling: you complained that your minibar hadn't been refilled. After checking it, I apologized for this with you and you paid only 1 out of the 3 bottles of water you consumed.

- bread/croissants freshness: you said that we had served old bread and croissants for breakfast, but the bakery delivers fresh products to us every day. We do not even use frozen products.

After complaining about these things, you didn't give me the chance to explain my point of view. When I tried to talk, you started yelling at me: "shut up, shut up, I don't care of what you have to say". This understandably made me nervous because I felt I had the right to answer to false accusations.

Believe me, having in front of me a person saying false things and ordering me to "shut-up" was much more embarrassing and bad-feeling to me than to you.
Fortunately the other present guests understood the situation and recognized your rude manners.

- baggage pick-up: if guests want to pick up their bags when the reception is closed, they're provided with an access code. I explained this to you and also told you that I would have waited for your return. So you really can't say you missed an afternoon of sightseeing.

- check-out time: Ca' Amadi is a small guest-house and we cannot offer the same services of a starred hotel. Check-out time is clearly indicated in our website and in the reservation voucher.

- dark alleys: the street and court where we are located are illuminated like all other streets in Venice. Of course our street is not the most frequented in Venice (and this is what lots of our guests appreciate), and it may look a little bit "scaring", but 90% of the streets in Venice are like ours and they're not unsafe.

We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay, but your judgement was clearly influenced by misleading factors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
There are newer reviews for Locanda Ca' Amadi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 370 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

Excellent B&B near Rialto. Good size rooms. Good beds. Modern bath rooms. Absolutely quiet location. Breakfast also very good. Excellent price-quality ratio. Friendly and helpful owners. Absolutely recommendable. Probably impossible to find something better in Venice at these prices. A few very attractive (affordable) restaurants just around the corner.
Location actually quite easy to find: from Rialto walk to the church San Giovanni di Chrisostomo. Just in front of the church turn right, and after 10 m at the bar turn right again into a very short alley. At the end (after 10 m) turn left and walk till the end of the narrow alley decorated with some graffiti (ca 100 m). There - at the right side - is the entrance to the courtyard where the B&B is located. There is also an indication for the hotel on the wall of the bar at the corner, where you turn right.
For historically minded persons: According to the owner the B&B is located in the house where Marco Polo was born. How about that!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manfred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived in Venice by train in late August towards the end of our Italy trip a bit tired but thrilled with all we had experienced so far and looking forward to showing the kids the wonder of Venice. We made our way by Vaporetto No. 2 to the Rialto bridge fermata and then rolled our luggage a few short venice 'blocks' and easily found the Ca' Amadi from the directions provided by Valentina - and assisted by maps on our smart phone. Rolling our luggage up and down the steps across the few bridges on the way was a small challenge - but it was fun to eventually turn off the main way - and leave all of the people behind as we made our way to the very private courtyard where the Ca' Amadi was located. We did see small directional signs pointing to the Ca' Amadi at these turns - which was helpful (each day and night we reveled in taking new secret routes back home easily leaving the throngs of tourists on the Rialto - Piazza San Marco corridor - behind).

We were checked in by Alberto who gave us all the info we needed, wi-fi keys for each device, maps, and the Ca' Amadi in-house hidden venice tours to follow if we wanted to get off the beaten track a bit. We were shown to our room - the Junior Suite - and WOW it was spettacolare! It felt like a honeymoon suite with sumptuous red and pink fabric and carpets, beautiful furniture, 12-ft. ceilings with 800 year old exposed beams, two huge windows overlooking a side canal below, a mini bar fridge, a very comfortable large bed, and a pull out bed for the kids - perfetto.

We experienced nothing but bliss at the Locanda Ca' Amadi - the breakfast was generous and varied, coffee was strong from the custom espresso machine, and Valentina who was there for most of our comings and goings was simply the best. She treated us with patience and care - taking all of our questions and requests with genuine interest and enthusiasm and helpfulness. We felt like extended family who had come to stay, she was so nice to us. Grazie.

We LOVED returning to the Ca' Amadi at any time of day since it was such a quick walk to the Rialto and the vaporetti stop, as well as the Ponte dell'Accademia and the Piazza San Marco - it was very centrally located, but hidden and quiet when you arrived. It was always fun to throw open the windows and see what was gliding past beneath our window - work boats, skinny scrap barges, medical boats, and of course gondolas - and we could hear most of the gondoliers mention "Marco Polo's House" - which is what the Ca' Amadi was (or was built/owned by his family at the time of his birth). And we heard the interesting Italian banter and greetings of the working boat captains and gondoliers throughout the day. The air-conditioning workded well for sleeping - but otherwise we had the windows open and enjoyed gazing at the life of Venice slipping by below our window. We particularly enjoyed the morning we got up early, headed out before breakfast and enjoyed the Rialto, Piazza San Marco, the Grand Canal, Bridge of Sighs etc. with very few people out yet - and took some fun photos with these sites almost to ourselves. The Locanda Ca' Amadi is perfectly located for popping out into anywhere in Venice. Loved it. We hope to return.

Fantastico! Grazie a mille, Valentina!

Room Tip: The Junior Suite was beautiful - and has two large windows overlooking the side canal below, and a g...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DC_Virginia_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed three nights at Ca'Amadi in August and absolutely loved our room. It was beautifully furnished and was incredibly clean. The location worked very well as a point to get to all areas of Venice and we particularly enjoyed the self-guided tour that Ca'Amadi put together of some of the hidden Venetiangems - made for quite an adventure. Ca'Amadi also had their own map to provide you of Venice. The benefits - it was already clearly marked where they are located, their recommended restaurants were listed (we tried a few and all were amazing!) and also some of they key sites. Highly recommended to stay here. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassie082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My partner and me stayed here for two nights during our stay in Venice. It feels like a really homely place. Very few rooms so there is never a crowd. The staff were exceptionally friendly, helpful and kind. Just staying in a house that once belonged to Marco Polo has a special feel to it that can't be explained. It is located very close to the Rialto bridge and is therefore within walking distance of most of the stuff in Venice.

The room was very comfortable, well maintained clean and quiet. The breakfast was excellent by B&B standards (it was actually quite decent even by starred hotel standards). I would definitely recommend this place and would definitely stay again myself if we ever go back to Venice.

More importantly, I have some suggestions that would be useful to future travellers.
1) Don't waste money buying a map when you get to Venice. Ca' Amadi gives you one that they printed themselves which is a lot better than the map you can buy. Also, because the place is highlighted, it makes it easier to find.

2) When you book a room, they send you directions of how to get to their location. Follow it blindly. If you ask anyone along the way, they either point you in the wrong direction or don't know where it is. After a certain point, there are small boards pointing the way. But they are easy to miss so keep a look out for them.

3)Every room has a "off-the-beaten path" tour of Venice which is really great. You get to see the history of Venice with hardly any tourists around. They are written really well and can be followed very easily.

4)Unless you really really must have a room facing the canal, take one that doesn't. The canal that the place faces is quite busy and motor boats start quite early in the morning. If you are a light sleeper, it may not be good for you. And besides, they have a common balcony where you can have the same view and go back to the quietness of your room once you are done.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the Canal are quieter
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sidadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

First hotel on our Italy trip. Alberto and the other staff treated us so well. This is a small guesthouse repurposed (as is everything in Venice) from a house once inhabited by Marco Polo.

Pros — Lovely people. Great simple breakfast. Window onto a canal. Quiet. Good advice relative to what to do and where to go.

Cons — Initially hard to find, though once you know to look for the signs, it’s never a problem to find your way back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErwinMulherns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This little b&b truly captures the essence of Venice. The location is beyond ideal, less than 5 minutes walk from the Rialto bridge, and right in the centre of Venice. The decor is typical venetian, in an old building, yet the amenities are top notch.

The food is plain continental breakfast, nothing out of the ordinary. The front desk guy was more than pleasant, we took his recommendations for restaurants off the beaten tourist path and we were not disappointed. He spoke English well and was beyond helpful.

One remark about the canal view room, while gorgeous, it is adjacent to a bridge that is gets quite the pedestrian traffic at night, and noise may be an issue.

Definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Antico Doge
Hotel Antico Doge
#62 of 384 in Venice
1,071 reviews
Cannaregio
Alla Vite Dorata
Alla Vite Dorata
#34 of 471 in Venice
301 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Gottardi
Ca' Gottardi
#22 of 471 in Venice
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli
Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli
#23 of 471 in Venice
455 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Bembo
Palazzo Bembo
#69 of 471 in Venice
293 reviews
San Marco
Locanda ai Bareteri
Locanda ai Bareteri
#29 of 471 in Venice
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Ca' Amadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ca' Amadi

Address: Cannaregio 5815 | Corte Amadi - Calle Morosina, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 471 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $137 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Ca' Amadi 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca' Amadi is a small boutique hotel sited in the heart of Venice, a few steps from Rialto bridge and few minutes away from Saint Mark's square. Ca' Amadi is housed in the noble floor of a palace dated back 13th century, which was the house of Marco Polo. In the 15th century the Amadi palace hosted the Emperor Frederick III. The 6 rooms, all different from each other, are elegantly furnished in the typical venetian style and are equipped with all comforts (independend air conditioning/heating, minibar, LCD TV, safe, free wi-fi).Ca’ Amadi è una piccola locanda situata nel cuore di Venezia, a pochi passi dal Ponte di Rialto e a pochi minuti a piedi da Piazza San Marco.Casa di Marco Polo a cavallo tra il XIII e il XIV secolo, palazzo Amadi fu nel XV secolo residenza del mercante Francesco Amadi, nominato Conte dall’imperatore Federico III per averlo ospitato presso la sua dimora.Storia, cultura o semplicemente una pausa dalla frenesia quotidiana: a Ca’ Amadi ciascun viaggiatore può trovare ciò che cerca.I servizi della Locanda Ca' Amadi includono connessione internet wireless gratuita, aria condizionata in tutta la struttura e molto altro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Locanda Ca' Amadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ca` Amadi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing