We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Locanda Ca' Amadi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Locanda Ca' Amadi
Ranked #29 of 457 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel is tucked down a quiet little alleyway. We chose the canal view suite which was gorgeous and worth the extra money. It was noisy at points on the Friday and Saturday nights with revellers crossing the nearby bridge but otherwise perfect and such a convenient location. As others have said, make sure you print off the clear directions from the hotel and then look for the signs on the walls which will direct you as it would not be easy to find without these. Take wellies! There's a nearby shop that sells them but if its flooded when you get there, you would need them immediately.
The hotel is small but staff are really lovely and very helpful. Luxurious decor. Really recommend it!

Room Tip: Canal suite was worth the extra money. Really lovely but if you are bothered about possibly being wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobbotours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    48
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
55
244
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights early November (just before the flooding), it was hard to find the first time but once you had a couple of landmarks, it was okay. Very central, lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. Only 5 minutes from the Rialto Bridge and less than 15 from San Marco. Beautiful building, lots of historical charm. Alberto at the front desk was very helpful with directions and recommendations. You could hear the gondoliers telling their passengers that it was Marco Polo's birthplace. Breakfast was included, Antonio was always there if you wanted anything else. They also have free Wi Fi, and will let you borrow an IPad as well free of charge. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: For about 25 Euros more per night, the canal view rooms were worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickandlinda_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Ca' Amadi is well situated, merely 5 minutes walk away from the Rialto Bridge. It is preferred to arrive in daylight as it is not easy to find initially. Do follow the instructions and map provided and check with the shop personnel along the way if in doubt. There are some steps along the way but manageable with 2 luggage.
Staff are well mannered and helpful, giving advice on the main attractions and restaurants to try out. Breakfast was buffet style with the usual pastries and bread. The scrambled eggs and bacon served on request are delicious :)
We stayed in the Junior Suite and it was beautifully decorated. We truly enjoyed our stay in the spacious suite, with the lovely bathroom and basic amenities provided. Do be careful of the step in the bathroom though!
Being relatively light sleepers, we find the air con slightly noisy though. As mentioned by other reviewers, the gondolas passing by the canal right outside can be slightly noisy but what kept us awake was the loud voices tourists or locals (drunkards??) late at night. These happened for the 2 nights that we stayed.
Overall, we found it to be slightly expensive but given the quaint Venetian style; we will consider staying here if we ever return to Venice, this time in the room overlooking the courtyard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladylenn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

You are close to the Rialto Bridge and within easy walking distance to Piazza San Marco but it was noisy at night with people partying all night. The AC didn't work and when we opened up the windows, a ton of mosquitoes came into the room. The staff was great and the room was nice but I would probably stay somewhere else next time I go to Venice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARBUFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaAmadi_Palace, Direttore at Locanda Ca' Amadi, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
first of all, thank you for your feedback. All impressions of our customers are helpful to improve our service.
On the other hand, we have to remark that the negative aspects you underlined have nothing to do with our service.
Unfortunately we do not have control on what happens outside our structure, neither on the weather or climatic conditions.
We’re sorry that somebody “partying all night long” disturbed your peaceful rest but, as you might understand, we cannot help rude and bad-mannered people living in this world.

As far as air conditioning is concerned, we do not know exactly when you stayed here, but we kept the aircon on until October 20th, when the outside temperature made it far useless to keep it on. Again, we cannot help external phenomena, like mosquitoes flying in the air, happening (in any case, next time please ask us something to help defeating them, we have proper devices for that).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I absolutely adored staying at the Locanda Ca Amadi.... the staff were welcoming and couldn't have done more. From restaurant recommendations, to directions, or advice about using public transport, nothing was too much trouble. Reception isn't 24 hours, but I wouldn't expect it to be from a family run business. If you are arriving after hours, you will be sent instructions on how to get in. But my suggestion, if you can, arrive during daylight hours, as I think arriving after dark would make it a little hard to find.

I stayed here with my adult daughter and our room was comfortable, extremely clean and well decorated in Venetian Style. The bathroom was modern and well maintained. There was a desk with TV and space for a laptop. A small fridge was under the desk, not all European hotels have this available. Our room overlooked the courtyard, which i was disappointed about at first, but after talking to other guests at breakfast, they mentioned that their room overlooked the canal and it can get noisy early in the morning, due to many boats tooting horns and people yelling out to each other. But this is Venice and it is what you are there for. We went out all day and so the canals were all around us, so not having the view from out room really wasn't an issue.

Wifi was available in the room and in the guest area/breakfast room. It worked well and was included in the price of the room.

Breakfast was plentiful and the bacon and eggs cooked to order by Antonio were delicious. It really set us up for the day. And the breakfast room was beautifully furnished and had a large window and small balcony overlooking a canal, which was a lovely way to start the day.

The location of this B&B is fantastic... less that 5 mins walk to Rialto bridge, water transport and a comfortable 10 -15 minute walk to St Marco Square (or catch the water bus if you are after the water view). Ca Amadi is in a very quiet laneway that opens to a large courtyard and can be easy to miss upon your first visit.... use the map you are sent it's pretty easy to follow. Once you exit the laneway you are in the middle of everything... quite busy walk way always full of people. There are plenty of eating options less than a few mins walk away, including a couple of gelaterias. A supermarket is also just a 5 min walk away, should you need anything.

Venice truly is a magical place to visit, and the Locanda Ca Amadi just made our visit that much better.... I would not even consider staying anywhere else, should I return to Venice... book it, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't think you will go wrong regardless of which room you stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Ca' Amadi for 2 nights in the Junior Suite with canal view. The room was great: spacious, light, cosy and clean.
The staff there was tremenodusly kind, providing us with many recommendations on where to eat and what to see. They also helped us in making the flight on-line check-in and printing the boarding passes.
The breakfast is complete and delightful, the eggs and bacon cooked on request by Antonio were super!
The first time it is not easy to find (follow the map they send you via email), but this makes it a real hidden treasure: when you get there, you will be impressed by its charme, warmth and atmosphere!

Room Tip: Junior Suite is a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel is a fascinating old building in which Marco Polo wasborn and the Counts of Amadi lived. Its location is perfect, in the centre of the action,but down a quiet alley. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. The bedroom was very well decorated, with very comfortable beds; alittle small perhaps but quiet and perfectly satisfactory. Being only about 4 minutes from the Rialto bridge, the hotel iswasy to find

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Paganelli
Hotel Paganelli
#104 of 385 in Venice
844 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Filu
Hotel Filu
#20 of 457 in Venice
130 reviews
Santa Croce
Ca' San Giorgio
Ca' San Giorgio
#6 of 457 in Venice
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
B&B Fortuny
B&B Fortuny
#3 of 457 in Venice
136 reviews
Castello
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
#22 of 457 in Venice
926 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Pozzo Inn
Ca' Pozzo Inn
#18 of 457 in Venice
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Ca' Amadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ca' Amadi

Property: Locanda Ca' Amadi
Address: Cannaregio 5815 | Corte Amadi - Calle Morosina, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 457 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Ca' Amadi 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca' Amadi is a small boutique hotel sited in the heart of Venice, a few steps from Rialto bridge and few minutes away from Saint Mark's square. Ca' Amadi is housed in the noble floor of a palace dated back 13th century, which was the house of Marco Polo. In the 15th century the Amadi palace hosted the Emperor Frederick III. The 6 rooms, all different from each other, are elegantly furnished in the typical venetian style and are equipped with all comforts (independend air conditioning/heating, minibar, LCD TV, safe, free wi-fi).Ca’ Amadi è una piccola locanda situata nel cuore di Venezia, a pochi passi dal Ponte di Rialto e a pochi minuti a piedi da Piazza San Marco.Casa di Marco Polo a cavallo tra il XIII e il XIV secolo, palazzo Amadi fu nel XV secolo residenza del mercante Francesco Amadi, nominato Conte dall’imperatore Federico III per averlo ospitato presso la sua dimora.Storia, cultura o semplicemente una pausa dalla frenesia quotidiana: a Ca’ Amadi ciascun viaggiatore può trovare ciò che cerca.I servizi della Locanda Ca' Amadi includono connessione internet wireless gratuita, aria condizionata in tutta la struttura e molto altro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Locanda Ca' Amadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ca` Amadi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing