We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in central location”
Review of Locanda Ca' Amadi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Locanda Ca' Amadi
Ranked #36 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Ca' Amadi is well situated, merely 5 minutes walk away from the Rialto Bridge. It is preferred to arrive in daylight as it is not easy to find initially. Do follow the instructions and map provided and check with the shop personnel along the way if in doubt. There are some steps along the way but manageable with 2 luggage.
Staff are well mannered and helpful, giving advice on the main attractions and restaurants to try out. Breakfast was buffet style with the usual pastries and bread. The scrambled eggs and bacon served on request are delicious :)
We stayed in the Junior Suite and it was beautifully decorated. We truly enjoyed our stay in the spacious suite, with the lovely bathroom and basic amenities provided. Do be careful of the step in the bathroom though!
Being relatively light sleepers, we find the air con slightly noisy though. As mentioned by other reviewers, the gondolas passing by the canal right outside can be slightly noisy but what kept us awake was the loud voices tourists or locals (drunkards??) late at night. These happened for the 2 nights that we stayed.
Overall, we found it to be slightly expensive but given the quaint Venetian style; we will consider staying here if we ever return to Venice, this time in the room overlooking the courtyard.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladylenn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 374 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

You are close to the Rialto Bridge and within easy walking distance to Piazza San Marco but it was noisy at night with people partying all night. The AC didn't work and when we opened up the windows, a ton of mosquitoes came into the room. The staff was great and the room was nice but I would probably stay somewhere else next time I go to Venice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARBUFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaAmadi_Palace, Direttore at Locanda Ca' Amadi, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Guest,
first of all, thank you for your feedback. All impressions of our customers are helpful to improve our service.
On the other hand, we have to remark that the negative aspects you underlined have nothing to do with our service.
Unfortunately we do not have control on what happens outside our structure, neither on the weather or climatic conditions.
We’re sorry that somebody “partying all night long” disturbed your peaceful rest but, as you might understand, we cannot help rude and bad-mannered people living in this world.

As far as air conditioning is concerned, we do not know exactly when you stayed here, but we kept the aircon on until October 20th, when the outside temperature made it far useless to keep it on. Again, we cannot help external phenomena, like mosquitoes flying in the air, happening (in any case, next time please ask us something to help defeating them, we have proper devices for that).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I absolutely adored staying at the Locanda Ca Amadi.... the staff were welcoming and couldn't have done more. From restaurant recommendations, to directions, or advice about using public transport, nothing was too much trouble. Reception isn't 24 hours, but I wouldn't expect it to be from a family run business. If you are arriving after hours, you will be sent instructions on how to get in. But my suggestion, if you can, arrive during daylight hours, as I think arriving after dark would make it a little hard to find.

I stayed here with my adult daughter and our room was comfortable, extremely clean and well decorated in Venetian Style. The bathroom was modern and well maintained. There was a desk with TV and space for a laptop. A small fridge was under the desk, not all European hotels have this available. Our room overlooked the courtyard, which i was disappointed about at first, but after talking to other guests at breakfast, they mentioned that their room overlooked the canal and it can get noisy early in the morning, due to many boats tooting horns and people yelling out to each other. But this is Venice and it is what you are there for. We went out all day and so the canals were all around us, so not having the view from out room really wasn't an issue.

Wifi was available in the room and in the guest area/breakfast room. It worked well and was included in the price of the room.

Breakfast was plentiful and the bacon and eggs cooked to order by Antonio were delicious. It really set us up for the day. And the breakfast room was beautifully furnished and had a large window and small balcony overlooking a canal, which was a lovely way to start the day.

The location of this B&B is fantastic... less that 5 mins walk to Rialto bridge, water transport and a comfortable 10 -15 minute walk to St Marco Square (or catch the water bus if you are after the water view). Ca Amadi is in a very quiet laneway that opens to a large courtyard and can be easy to miss upon your first visit.... use the map you are sent it's pretty easy to follow. Once you exit the laneway you are in the middle of everything... quite busy walk way always full of people. There are plenty of eating options less than a few mins walk away, including a couple of gelaterias. A supermarket is also just a 5 min walk away, should you need anything.

Venice truly is a magical place to visit, and the Locanda Ca Amadi just made our visit that much better.... I would not even consider staying anywhere else, should I return to Venice... book it, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't think you will go wrong regardless of which room you stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Ca' Amadi for 2 nights in the Junior Suite with canal view. The room was great: spacious, light, cosy and clean.
The staff there was tremenodusly kind, providing us with many recommendations on where to eat and what to see. They also helped us in making the flight on-line check-in and printing the boarding passes.
The breakfast is complete and delightful, the eggs and bacon cooked on request by Antonio were super!
The first time it is not easy to find (follow the map they send you via email), but this makes it a real hidden treasure: when you get there, you will be impressed by its charme, warmth and atmosphere!

Room Tip: Junior Suite is a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel is a fascinating old building in which Marco Polo wasborn and the Counts of Amadi lived. Its location is perfect, in the centre of the action,but down a quiet alley. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. The bedroom was very well decorated, with very comfortable beds; alittle small perhaps but quiet and perfectly satisfactory. Being only about 4 minutes from the Rialto bridge, the hotel iswasy to find

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel is centrally located in Venice but is hidden away on a quiet little street....which is the perfect combination. Alberto was extremely helpful and his recommendations on restaurants and sights were great. We would return!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoralynLihue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

All we can say is that we will definitely be back to stay at Ca Amadi. Alberto could not do any more for us than he did. He was always helpful with great advice from where to get the best gondola ride to catching the ferry. Nothing was a bother for him. We had the family suite, with the windows overlooking one of the canals. The room was decorated in Venetian period design with a very modern bathroom. We are travelling with three teenage daughters and they had their own privacy in the room next door. Breakfast was great!!! Antonio would cook our scrambled eggs fresh for us every morning. These were real scrambled eggs, not egg powder!! They came to the table hot and delicious!!! Our teenage daughters did not want to leave and felt at home at Ca Amadi. Thoroughly recommend it!! Thank you Alberto!!!

Room Tip: We were very happy in the family suite as there are five of us. The room was big enough that we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary0032012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Alla Vite Dorata
Alla Vite Dorata
#35 of 476 in Venice
306 reviews
San Polo
Ca' Bonvicini
Ca' Bonvicini
#5 of 476 in Venice
703 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Gottardi
Ca' Gottardi
#32 of 476 in Venice
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Apostoli Palace
Apostoli Palace
#43 of 476 in Venice
381 reviews
San Polo
Ca' Angeli
Ca' Angeli
#9 of 476 in Venice
831 reviews
Castello
Ca' Bauta
Ca' Bauta
#39 of 476 in Venice
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Ca' Amadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ca' Amadi

Address: Cannaregio 5815 | Corte Amadi - Calle Morosina, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $92 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Ca' Amadi 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca' Amadi is a small boutique hotel sited in the heart of Venice, a few steps from Rialto bridge and few minutes away from Saint Mark's square. Ca' Amadi is housed in the noble floor of a palace dated back 13th century, which was the house of Marco Polo. In the 15th century the Amadi palace hosted the Emperor Frederick III. The 6 rooms, all different from each other, are elegantly furnished in the typical venetian style and are equipped with all comforts (independend air conditioning/heating, minibar, LCD TV, safe, free wi-fi).Ca’ Amadi è una piccola locanda situata nel cuore di Venezia, a pochi passi dal Ponte di Rialto e a pochi minuti a piedi da Piazza San Marco.Casa di Marco Polo a cavallo tra il XIII e il XIV secolo, palazzo Amadi fu nel XV secolo residenza del mercante Francesco Amadi, nominato Conte dall’imperatore Federico III per averlo ospitato presso la sua dimora.Storia, cultura o semplicemente una pausa dalla frenesia quotidiana: a Ca’ Amadi ciascun viaggiatore può trovare ciò che cerca.I servizi della Locanda Ca' Amadi includono connessione internet wireless gratuita, aria condizionata in tutta la struttura e molto altro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Locanda Ca' Amadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ca` Amadi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing