We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Rudest manager at service!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alle Guglie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alle Guglie
Ranked #186 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Rudest manager at service!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

If someone at the hotel is listening please tell me how on earth do u expect ur guests to take a shower in a place u can hardly even turn ? I am a tiny person and this is my view and the rest you can imagine!
Getting to the most important element and I have to mention this to warn the tourists of the behaviour of the manager (male receptionist ). The rudest person , probably need learn some skills on how to talk to the guests visiting their premises!
We had gone to give him advance notice about vacating the rooms and to keep the bills ready , this manager was chatting with another gentlemen in his local dialect which ofcourse we could not understand, he turned us and yelled stating to get back. We apologised and told him we did not notice he was having a conversation and we would wait, this guy now wants us to move to a corner and stay there till he finishes his chit o chat! His gesture was so rude that made us think it wasn't worth spending 200 EUR for a day at this very average place and get infuriated by some arrogant stranger!
The only consoling factor was that it is close to the station and the
lady receptionist was helpful.

Terrible mostly due to the Manager mentioned above and bathrooms are made for dolls and not humans!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Varun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    237
    93
    33
    26
See reviews for
62
320
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Two of us stayed here on our first trip to Venice - easy to walk to (about 5 minutes tops) from the train station - easy enough to maneuver and find the hotel. Lovely area to be in, felt safe and also nice room with views of market on the street below. Bed was comfortable, shower and bathroom clean. We enjoyed our trip to Venice very much - walked or ferried everywhere from this hotel. The breakfast area was just outside the room but did not bother us at all (breakfast included). Don't be surprised by the city tax fee at check-out though -all hotels have it in venezia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Türkiye
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was an excellent experience to stay at this hotel. Red-coloured walls charmed me from the very first moment. Besides, country style vintage furnitures also impressed me. The room was clean, comfortable, romantic and nostalgic. The staff was very kind and respectfull. On the other hand, the breakfast has been the best one that I have ever seen in my Italy trip. Also, there was no problem with the wi-fi connection. The location was also excellent. It is quite close to train station and it is in the middle of a very popular street. Furthermore, it was a pleasant to have the fruit sellers in front of the hotel. They were open until late hours, so we would have been able to buy some fruits whenever we want.

I can not find any disadvantage about the hotel. It would be better if it was closer to San Marco Piazza. However, it was also a great pleasure to walk around the city until finding San Marco.

The price of the hotel was also reasonable, so there is no reason to stay in another hotel in Venice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurcuBabayigit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Visited Venice in march 2013 and it was an adventure. We stayed in a room at the front, it was basic but small and clean and I loved the tiny balcony where I could open the doors and have the vendors wake me up in the mornings as they set up or watch people as they walk by and hear the conversations/noise below. Complimentary breakfast was ok however we chose to utilize the nearby cafes in the mornings. Front desk staff was informative and helpful in guiding our vacation. It was a short walk from the water taxi when we arrived and a short walk to the bus station when we were leaving. Luv it and will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deewh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

For Venice, I'm told Hotel Alle Guglie is one of the best values around, and it may well be. The staff was A+, but the room would have been a total joke if we were staying anywhere else in the world. I thought the Hudson in New York was about as compact as a hotel room could come, but this place is even more compact.Just close your eyes and imagine that you had a communist uncle in Russia who died in 1972, our room could have been his idea of luxury. Everything here is clean and the beds are comfortable, just at the lowest rung on the luxury ladder.

At the end of the day, we actually enjoyed our stay as we reminded ourselves that Venice is about Venice and what you see, and not the room you sleep in.

If you're on a budget, well, a Venetian budget, then Hotel Alle Guglie may be your best bet for value, location, nice breakfast, great staff and an authentic experience. For 3 of us, mom, dad and a 4 year old, our tab ran approximately $220 a night—not cheep, but not top of the mark either.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the front of the hotel. Otherwise, you view will be a 300 year old brick wall. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake90266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
208 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Hotel is located in a 7-min. distance walk from the S. Lucia Railway Terminal. It is easy to find the hotel.

Th staff is very professional, greets you nicely, guides to your rooms and gives you all information you need.

Our room (#22) is not too big but it does n not matter since everything is in place, linen are clean, pillows are comfortable, bathroom is clean, AC works well.

Breakfast are server in a hall room on a first floor since 8 till 10 a.m. Nice smell of coffee will wake you up :-) and brings straight to the room. A nice lady will serve you a cap of your favorite coffee.

Room Tip: #22 - room with two windows on the backyard, no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Location was ok but the rooms, quality of the public areas are at ver low standard. People having brought with them dinner just outside our room for instance. All except the bathroom is really worn down. For €190 I would expect a little more/better.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredrikCarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#90 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Herion
Locanda Herion
#171 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Vecellio
Hotel Vecellio
#178 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#261 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#104 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alle Guglie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alle Guglie

Property: Hotel Alle Guglie
Address: Rio Tera San Leonardo Cannaregio 1523 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alle Guglie 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Alle Guglie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alle Guglie Hotel
Alle Guglie Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing