We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+ staff, rooms and baths are another story” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alle Guglie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alle Guglie to your Saves list
Hotel Alle Guglie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rio Tera San Leonardo, 1523 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A+ staff, rooms and baths are another story”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

For Venice, I'm told Hotel Alle Guglie is one of the best values around, and it may well be. The staff was A+, but the room would have been a total joke if we were staying anywhere else in the world. I thought the Hudson in New York was about as compact as a hotel room could come, but this place is even more compact.Just close your eyes and imagine that you had a communist uncle in Russia who died in 1972, our room could have been his idea of luxury. Everything here is clean and the beds are comfortable, just at the lowest rung on the luxury ladder.

At the end of the day, we actually enjoyed our stay as we reminded ourselves that Venice is about Venice and what you see, and not the room you sleep in.

If you're on a budget, well, a Venetian budget, then Hotel Alle Guglie may be your best bet for value, location, nice breakfast, great staff and an authentic experience. For 3 of us, mom, dad and a 4 year old, our tab ran approximately $220 a night—not cheep, but not top of the mark either.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the front of the hotel. Otherwise, you view will be a 300 year old brick wall. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake90266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    222
    88
    32
    25
See reviews for
59
300
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
196 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Hotel is located in a 7-min. distance walk from the S. Lucia Railway Terminal. It is easy to find the hotel.

Th staff is very professional, greets you nicely, guides to your rooms and gives you all information you need.

Our room (#22) is not too big but it does n not matter since everything is in place, linen are clean, pillows are comfortable, bathroom is clean, AC works well.

Breakfast are server in a hall room on a first floor since 8 till 10 a.m. Nice smell of coffee will wake you up :-) and brings straight to the room. A nice lady will serve you a cap of your favorite coffee.

Room Tip: #22 - room with two windows on the backyard, no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Location was ok but the rooms, quality of the public areas are at ver low standard. People having brought with them dinner just outside our room for instance. All except the bathroom is really worn down. For €190 I would expect a little more/better.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredrikCarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Thoughly enjoyed our stay.
We did request a first floor room after reading hotel reviews before we went.
This proved to be very advantageous as the stairs were very steep and narrow especially when carrying heavy luggage.
Rooms are not huge but plenty big enough although our showerroom was tiny.
The shower cubicle was so small my husband could not turn round properly.
Although the hotel web site did state it had a hairdryer in the room I would take my own with me if I was to stay here again.
The hairdryer was in the bathroom and of a type I would describe as useless!!!
Having said all this I would definitely stay here again as the charm and the staff made up for any shortfalls that the rooms or bathrooms might have.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanjanemw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

The room was the cheapest we could find but it is a really good choice because the room has a good size. It's a 10-minute walk from the station and 20 from Piazza San Marco. Good neighborhood.

There's also a good breakfast with breads, pies, yougurt, cereals and juice and hot chocolate.

The only bad thing is the shower. Tall people like me will suffer a little bit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faro2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great location & value for money. Hotel is located about 5-10 mins walk from St Lucia Train Station. From station walk to the left- all the way straight until 2nd bridge. Walk to the 2nd bridge and you will see fruit stalls -it means you already approaching the hotel. Save money because you do not have to spend on water taxi. The pizzaria, restaurant and gelato shop just nearby. For muslim traverler, the kebab pizzaria is less than 2 mins walk from the hotel. If you need basic things from supermarket there are 2 supermarket nearby - you can buy your mineral water at reasonable price example for 1.5 litre - can get it for less than 1.5 euro. My favorite is Billa- about 10 mins walk . You wont feel the distance because as you walk you will see a lot of interesting shoppes. You can buy the souvenirs at the shoppes nearby the hotel, very competitive price as compares to area at San Marco and Rialto. If you do like to walk around the island and prefer to take the water taxi, the water taxi station is less than 5 mins from the hotel - Ferrovia Station. Very convenient. If you wish to go to Casino - the Casino is walking distance- less than 5 mins. The breakfast selection was very good. Really value for money- you can have tea/coffee,juices,pastry etc. I strongly recommend family, couple or solo traveller to stay here. The hotel staff are very helpful and they can speak English. Will help you as much as possible. :-)

Room Tip: My room is on 2nd floor - internet is excellent and not noisy, however the bathroom a bit small. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Great location, we found it in the dark following a very basic map. We arrived during a acqua alta nd the staff were really friendly to help us to actually find the most flooded points. The reception area does flood but all rooms are above ground floor so you wont have any problems with your stuff and the dining room is on the fourth floor too. Breakfast is basic but the lady that serves you is really sweet. We were however rudely awakened by the flood alarm at 5am scaring us to death as it sounded like an air raid siren but this can be heard all over the city. The rooms where on the small side but it is venice and space is tight and the more you spend the bigger the rooms are. I would love to stay at this hotel again. The staff, the rooms, the food and the price are excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Locanda Herion
Locanda Herion
#168 of 387 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Alla Corte Rossa
Alla Corte Rossa
#210 of 387 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Gardena Hotel
Gardena Hotel
#171 of 387 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Al Vagon
Hotel Al Vagon
#187 of 387 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 446 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#96 of 387 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alle Guglie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alle Guglie

Property: Hotel Alle Guglie
Address: Rio Tera San Leonardo, 1523 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alle Guglie 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Alle Guglie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alle Guglie Hotel
Alle Guglie Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing