We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in Venice!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
Ranked #165 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a magnificent hotel with a friendly and extremely helpful staff. We stayed here for two nights in December of 2012 for our honeymoon. We took the water bus from the airport to St. Marks Square and had a short walk to the hotel. The hotel offers a breakfast buffet (at close sister hotel) and the complimentary boat tour to Murano (you have to pay for transportation back, cost not too much). The hotel did double book us but they resolve it without being a big deal. We had a junior suite overlooking the shops below but it wasn't too noisy at night. The porter pointed out the Murano chandelier in our room and the period furnishings. The room was spacious and the hotel is right next to the canal and the Bridge of Sighs. If you are visiting Venice this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpontedeisospiri, Front Desk Manager at Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
it's a pleasure to read such a nice review which is an excellent feeback to our job.
Guest's satisfaction means a major priority to us and we trust to welcome you again in Venice.

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 438 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have just spent 4 nights here during carnival. It was a wonderful experience. The hotel is charming and in a brilliant location, central yet tucked away and quiet. The room was magnificent, the decor traditionally Venetian with a wonderful Murano glass chandelier, very impressive! We had breakfast served in our room and loved it, the food was fresh and tasty, and lots of it. Just as good as the location was the attitude of the staff, particularly the duty manager who went above and beyond the call of duty to help us with various issues, even organising the retrieval of a purchase that had been left in a shop on Murano island, and having it delivered to the hotel, at no extra cost! We loved having breakfast looking out at the Bridge of Sighs and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to visitors to Venice. A lovely experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillian12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpontedeisospiri, Front Desk Manager at Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
first of all thank you very much for taking your time to write such a nice review about our Hotel Al Ponte dei Sospiri! We admit we like our venetian style bedrooms with the Murano glass chadelier as well: a very few of them overlook the canal of the Canonica, the Bridge of Sighs and the gondolas sailing by. The location, as you said, is very central: we are just one stone's throw from San Marco Square and the cathedral. We were mostly pleased to read that you appreciated our staff, who is always very helpful. And room-service breakfast at no extra charge, of course! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again, soon in Venice. at the Hotel Al Ponte dei Sospiri!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Everything was perfect, the location is fantastic, you are in the center of the most beautiful streets in Venezia. Keep in mind that being in Venice means walking around all the time, so location is everything. The view from the room is amazing. We were there for Carnevale, and just by opening the window you can see people in their costumes, couples kissing in gondolas under the bridge. It was beautiful. Room was adorned with a gorgeous Murano chandellier, and made us feel like we were in the times of Casanova. The staff was great, everyone very helpful and welcoming. Having breakfast in our room everyday was perfect. Feel free to wander around the streets of Venice and get lost in every corner, you might discover magical places. If I could, I would book the same room in this hotel every year for the carnival. Best vacation ever. My favorite place in the whole world. Only thing I'm not used to would be the antique shower, but I guess it made it more interesting. Other than that, wouldn't change a thing. My most sincere thank you to the people working there, they deserve all the credit.

Room Tip: The room with the view to the ponte di suspiri was amazing. But on the carnival, there is noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpontedeisospiri, Front Desk Manager at Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you very much for taking time to write such a nice review about our Hotel Al Ponte dei Sospiri! We were pleased to read you enjoyed our central location: it is true, we are just a 2 minutes walk from St. Mark's Square! We also enjoy a very convenient motor-boat landing stage, in case our guest wishes to get to the hotel with a water-taxi. We were also happy to read you ejoyed our venetian style bedrooms, some of which have a very romantic view over the canal of the Canonica and the Bridge of Sighs. Our ver helpful staff awaits to welcome you once more at the Hotel Al Ponte dei Sospiri, hopefully soon! Thank you very much again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked a Junior Suite Canal View and for sure we had an amazing canal view, however the room could certainly not be described as a suite in fact a Travel Inn room is larger. The pictures on the web site show fantastic and opulent rooms and I am sure they exist. Unfortunately despite paying over 600 euros for two nights our room was certainly more like a 150 Euro Deluxe Double. When questioned the staff were friendly but were obviously not interested in assisting. I was told that the higher price was as a result of Booking.com adding their profit. Having booked through Booking.com I contacted them but they wer equally disinterested. Anyone choosing this hotel should request pictures of the exact room they will be given. Summing up, great location, non existant facilities in the building and staff who are superficial and really do not care.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpontedeisospiri, Front Desk Manager. at Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
we thank you that you took time to write a review about our Hotel Al Ponte dei Sospiri. With reference to our bedroom size we must admit we were actually quite amazed that you found your junior suite lagoon view not as expected. We are not aware if Travel Inn owns hotels in Venice, however the building structure of a 16th Century palace in Venice cannot be compared to more modern buildings in New York, London, New Delhi, etc. Obvuoisly rooms size could be small if compared to modern standards. What we really do not understand, Sir/Madam, is how a receptionist who showed you one suite (number 23) in our sister hotel, the Donà Palace, can be considered unwillingly to help. As you surely could see, suite number 23 was as big as a tennis playground! Despite that, you decided to stay in your junior suite canal view at the Ponte dei Sospiri. You can imagine we are pretty disappointed in reading that after giving you a choice, and prooved that we did the best we could, you decided to write such a review about us anyway. We remain with our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Sadly the quality of this hotel differs greatly to the pictures. Our room was in desperate need of repair. There were numerous holes in the tiled floor which were a hazards. The chairs were dirty and worn. The toilet roll holder was broken the breakfast was basic and poor quality. On a plus note it has an excellent location and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borneodreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpontedeisospiri, Front Desk Manager at Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
we thank you for taking time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We are deeply sorry you did not enjoy the room we allocated you: we usually get excellent reviews about rooms, as you could see. We were, instead, mostly pleased you enjoyed our very central location and our helpful staff. Next time, please notify any problems with your room to our receptionist and we will do our best to sort the problem or change your room, if availability allows us that. Please, do not forget that we are always here to help and try to make your stay a special one. We hope to have the pleasure of meeting you again, perhaps in the future, here at the Hotel Al Ponte dei Sospiri!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I came to Venice to celebrate my 50th birthday with my two sisters. We had talked for many years about going to Italy together and picked my 50th as the due date. In Venice we stayed at the Al Gazzettino Hotel. I booked it online because it looked like just what I wanted for our stay in Venice. I was not disappointed. The hotel had a great location and the room was just like the picture. The staff were so pleasant. They surprised me with a cake and prosecco to help get my celebration off to a perfect start. I had written a review earlier about our wonderful stay here. Somehow I must have not submitted it correctly as I haven't seen it. But I mostly want to say how wonderful this hotel is and if I were to do it over again I would most certainly book the Al Gazzettino. I recommend this hotel to everyone. It is a little more pricey but it is truly worth it. The staff were kind, welcoming and most helpful. It was easy to find and in a perfect location for getting around. There is a small canal which you can see the gondolas go by. San Marco Square is just around the corner. You can have breakfast served in your room at no extra cost, but we decided to go down for breakfast and it was very good with lots to choose from. This would be a wonderful place to have your honeymoon. The suites are beautifully decorated in Venetian style. I hope your stay here is as wonderful as ours was.

Room Tip: We chose the blue room on their website. It was perfect with a small balcony. The bed was comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpontedeisospiri, Front Office Manager at Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Madam,
we are very happy that you decided to celebrate your 50th birthday at our Hotel Al Ponte dei sospiri with your family. Ande we want to thank you for taking your time in writing such a good and detailed review about us. As you said, our establishment is particularly central, just off St. Mark's Square and our rooms are very refined, to meet the more demanding guest's taste. So pleased that you enjoyed the little cake you found in your room... and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on 15/16th December 2012. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a junior suite overlooking the canal perfect and romantic, continental breakfast in room is a must! It's a perfect location central for everything, well done sospiri.

The Bulls

Room Tip: Go for a junior suite and the continental breakfast in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jrbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpontedeisospiri, Front Office Manager. at Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Bull Family,
thank you for taking your time to write a review in Tripadvisor about our nice Hotel Al Ponte dei Sospiri. We were especially happy to read that you enjoyed your junior suite overlooking the canal of the Canonica and that you found our staff friendly. We always try to make our guest's stay a pleasant experience and always remain at guest's disposal for any request or assistance it may need. We hope to see you again at our hotel and wish you a very Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Dona Palace
Hotel Dona Palace
#68 of 385 in Venice
861 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#74 of 385 in Venice
1,031 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#55 of 385 in Venice
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#75 of 385 in Venice
901 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#139 of 385 in Venice
619 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#161 of 385 in Venice
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri

Address: Calle Larga San Marco San Marco 381, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#120 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $134 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Dei Sospiri Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing