We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
Ranked #166 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

The location of the hotel is amazing. The staff are very kind and helpful. The room was bigger and nicer than expected. Breakfast was a bit of a let down. All in all, very good.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard-tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear Sirs,

thank you for your review.
We have noticed you had different expectations regarding Breakfast....we would like to explain that it is possible to choose between a continental renforced Breakfast served in the room (without extra costs) and the American Buffet Breakfast at our sister Hotel Donà Palace located just in front where you will find a variety of products as home made cakes and pastries.

We hope that next time you come, you'll try the Donà Palace's Breakfast as well!!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 452 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2012

:We are frequent travelers to destinations all over the world and this hotel has us raving. The room was phenomenal - truly Venetian, replete with the chandeliers, floors, and a balcony. But, even more impressive was the attention to customer service. From the moment we arrived, we were treated as though we truly mattered. This is something that is rare these days.

Each person at the front desk was terrific, but Massimo truly stood out. He made sure we knew where we needed to be and at what time. The housekeeping staff was friendly, greeting us each day with well-wishes. The breakfast is good and the free room-service is a wonderful bonus. Be sure to take advantage of that.

Venice is a favorite destination of ours and we will return. When we do, we will make it a point to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank somuch2learn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear Sirs,

All our staff thank you for you wondeful review and wait for your next coming into Venice.
We will be honored having you as guests many times.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

If you are looking for a convenient hotel which located in the heart of the city centre, this hotel is the perfect choice. Though the room is a bit small but who stays in the room for the whole day? Staff is very friendly and helpful. The bathroom is also great and clean - especially their heating racks

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynniedior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpontedeisospiri, Reservation Manager at Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2012

Dear Sirs,

we thank you for the review. We hope to see you once again in the next future.
Contact us directly and we'll reserve a special treatment for you.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

It was our first hotel on recent trip to Italy. The hotel was very easy to find, right behind the corner of St.Marco, the best location! The staff was very helpful and nice, they recommenc us excellent restaurants, even gave us umbrellas when it was raining. The breakfast was included - either room service( free!) or in the bar across the street. At the same bar you can have snack every day for 6:30 to 7:30 pm. Also they incluide free trip to Murano ( free taxi there and guided tour, you have to pay for way back from the island)The bathroom was clean, everything was properly working( you can not expect it in Europe in all the small places). the room was small and furniture pretty old, but clean and very nice( venitian chandalier,look-antique furniture) The only downside was very uncomfortable bed( very hard mattresses). we can definately recommed this hotel to the people who really wants to be in the heart of Venice,but realize, that 4 star hetel in Europe has a lot of difference from the same-rate hotel in USA.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alla V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpontedeisospiri, Reservation Manager at Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2012

Dear Sirs,

thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your trip to Venice and that you have appreciated our small Boutique Hotel. It's in typical Venetian style, a real gem in the heart of Venice!

We hope you'll come back soon, just contact us and we will reserve a special treatment for you.
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Our stay at this small hotel gave us an unrivalled vacation. The staff was very service minded and assisted us in every single arrangement we were asking for and with a smile on their lips. The location was in the middle of Venice just a stone's throw from Piazza San Marco. We can recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to have a romatic stay in Venice. Lillie, Denmark.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan Ravnkilde L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpontedeisospiri, Reservation Manager at Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2012

Dear Sirs,
we thank you for the nice review.
We are glad to know you spent good time with us and hope to see you once again in future.
Just contact us directly and we'll reserve a special treatment for you.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Lovely old venetian hotel. Well worth paying the extra for canal view.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 250 which had fabulous views of the Bridge of Sighs and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pongotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpontedeisospiri, Reservation Manager at Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2012

Dear Sirs,
thank you for the review. We perfectly agree that the junior suites overlooking the canal & the Bridge of Sighs is amazing, the view from those rooms is unique! we are the only place where you can see the Bridge of Sighs from some of the rooms.
We hope to see you soon in the next future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The hotel has no real lobby, nor even a place to sit outside your room! The room is kind of a contorted , made up idea of a 'suite' just because a desk and a round table with two chairs are placed in the smallish room. It has a largish bed with old hardened mattress, non maintained bathroom fittings such as a broken shower which scalded me, and nothing to help ventilation when the air-conditioning is not working! We were simply told very curtly, 'nothing can be done about it ' when we spent sleepless nights due to the room being extremely stuffy. Food is 'served' in the roadside restaurant next to the hotel where you have the pleasure to be nudged by pedestrians! Room service is negilgible.

If this is a four star, probably all hotels in the area are five or more stars! Stay away from it!

Room Tip: Stay away from this so called 'four star ' contraption ! There are many many other hotels in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank madhupchaurasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear Sirs,

we feel sorry you did not spend a good time with us.
First of all let us apologies for the inconvenience caused for the air conditioning. We got a damage on the system that blocked the air conditioning and the functionality of the water system of the Hotel. Unfortunately the damage could have been repaired only few days after...

Regarding all the other points...the Hotel is a small elegant Boutique Hotel with only 13 rooms so the reception cannot be that big but there is enough space to check in comfortably and also to leave luggage before c-in or after c-out if necessary.

The Hotel Donà Palace, where we serve the American Breakfast if you choose that type of Breakfast, is located just in front so it is not so far to create a discomfort and you will be impressed by the beauty of the Breakfast room and the delicious home made cakes & pastries.

thanks and best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Dona Palace
Hotel Dona Palace
#67 of 387 in Venice
938 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 387 in Venice
1,956 reviews
San Marco
Hotel dell'Opera
Hotel dell'Opera
#119 of 387 in Venice
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#143 of 387 in Venice
642 reviews
San Marco
All'Angelo Hotel
All'Angelo Hotel
#221 of 387 in Venice
940 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#78 of 387 in Venice
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri

Address: Calle Larga San Marco San Marco 381, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#120 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $164 - $587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Dei Sospiri Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing