We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointing”
Review of Bonvecchiati Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bonvecchiati Hotel
Ranked #133 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was a little disappointed in the room and the service we received there. Otherwise, a beautiful hotel in a great location. It was hard to navigate through the hotel. The staff was not friendly at all. There was a nice water taxi stop entrance into the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katnik3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    606
    196
    103
    60
See reviews for
251
763
27
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We can't thank this hotel enough. We stayed in a diamond deluxe and it was worth the extra monry. Front of house service particularly god (Mr Marco).I must mention the location as well, smack bang between Rialto and San Marco-you can't beat that!

Thanks once again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Its our 4th stay in this hotel. Its buzy and popular with groups so always buzy but because of its location very quiet. You're 5 minutes walk from the buzz of the St Mark's square and the Public water taxi station. Private taxi boat can reach the backdoor of the hotel without problem. Breakfast is substantial. Restaurant very good but you have many to choose from close by.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daleen51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Spent a lovely few days at this hotel. The location was excellent within a very short distance of St Marks Basilica in one direction and the Rialto Bridge in the other. The room was very well decorated and spotlessly clean and the breakfast was very good, with all tastes catered for. We found the staff friendly, attentive and helpful. The only thing missing was the availability of free wi-fi, but otherwise it was everything we had hoped for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BournemouthLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Deception. They show pictures of your room when you book that are beautiful, but when we got there they put us in a small, cramped room with a wet room. No nice marble counters, bathtub or beautiful stainless steel.
Also, on their website they say that guests have access to the sauna, steam room and turkish baths in their connected sister hotel. By available they mean limited booking for 15 euro for 30 minutes to use 1 of the 3.
Finally, the 6 euro an hour to use the wireless internet connection is appalling.

this hotel is somehow rated at 4 stars, id give it 2 and a half.

The breakfast and location were the lone bright spots.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesmhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just returned from the Venice Carnivale having stayed at the Hotel Bonvecchiati - a wonderful hotel, very welcoming and the staff couldn't do enough for us - will definitely stay there again. A very generous breakfast, elegant rooms, and in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

My partner booked a break for us for my birthday as surprise so for once I didn't get to pick where we were going. Having found out we were going to Venice I was extremely excited as its always been somewhere I have wanted to go. We had an afternoon flight landed at 6pm and it was already dark so couldn't really see a lot. Luckily we had some help from a fellow traveller on how to book the water taxi, we had a 7 min walk from the airport to find our ride and then it took 1hr15mins to get to our hotel which was in the hussle and bustle part of San Marco, it was really easy to find out hotel once we got dropped off and took about 5mins you literally walk thru side streets which have shops bars restaurants and its like a maze I've never actually enjoyed getting lost but this I didn't mid at all ..... All I can say about the hotel was it was decorated how you would expect with a bit of renaissance the problem wasn't how it looked but how small the room we had was, you had to turn on your side to get down the side of the bed and it was hot all the time but the only way to cool the room was to open the shutters and this just made the room too cold, the bathroom was exactly the same and if you we're on the large side you wouldn't be able to get in it never mind get out of it We've been to a few hotels and have got to say this is the smallest one we have stayed in, but on the plus side breakfast was ok enough choice but if you got there at the wrong time then there was not enough tables to accommodate smaller parties, the staff well some of them were friendly others just miserable both my partner and I work in retail and love working with people maybe a few of these workers at this hotel could do a course in the English way of dealing with the customers,
Venice is the most amazing beautiful city that I've ever seen we had the best break an its truly a very romantic place to be with the one that you love, would I return to this hotel prob not, to be fair I would try their sister hotel looked a little more like our style, We definitely will at some point return to Venice it's now my no 1 destination...... Tip ... Haggle for your gondola but whatever you pay it's worth every penny ....

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRS-PEEPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Palace Bonvecchiati
Palace Bonvecchiati
#101 of 385 in Venice
1,358 reviews
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#29 of 385 in Venice
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#75 of 385 in Venice
994 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonvecchiati Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonvecchiati Hotel

Property: Bonvecchiati Hotel
Address: Calle Goldoni San Marco 4488, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Venice
#73 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#130 Family Hotel in Venice
#142 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bonvecchiati Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bonvecchiati Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonvecchiati Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing