We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My room was not as advertised”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bonvecchiati Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bonvecchiati Hotel
Ranked #135 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    581
    188
    102
    59
See reviews for
234
739
27
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on our trip to Venice, Everything about this hotel was good, The rooms are very spacious, the beds extremly comfortable "you wont want to leave it", the breakfast is fantastic with a huge range to choose from, also the staff at the hotel are sooo nice, nothing is too much trouble, they really go out of their way to make sure your stay with them is an enjoyable one.
A short stroll along the Canal brings you to St Marcs Sq, You have to endure a lot of Gondaliers on the corner touting for buisness, but they are very amusing and funny, TIP. Haggle like hell, On our 1st day this one Gondalier asked us if we would like to go on the Gondula, he was asking 120 Euros for 40 Mins, we said no, each day we passed by on our way to the Rialto he would ask again dropping his price every time, on our last day we bargained with him and ended up getting a full hour "ended up hour an fifteen" on the Gondula through all the canals, Just ebbing along with himself singing God knows what..lol, but it was an amazing experience.
Everything about this trip to Venice was amazing, from the hotel to St Marcs Sq to the Rialto, Overall a truly amazing place, would do it again in a heartbeat and prob will someday!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank horsesireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from a competition that we won. The competition was for a couple to stay however the hotel were kind enough to accept our young daughter at no extra cost. They also exceeded our expectations but upgrading us to a suite in a separate block from the hotel a short walk up the street. The room was excellent, very big and very peaceful.

The location of the hotel was great, within a short walk of all major attractions, very easy to find yet still far enough away from all the hustle and bustle.

The hotel staff were very friendly and stored our bags for us until our room was ready. The breakfast in the restaurant was excellent with lots of choice.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody staying in Venice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom_overing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Location and elegance. This is a top hotel right next to the St Markus square. I money it’s not an issue than this the place for you. Breakfast with a view, just by having breakfast in the restaurant was worth its money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank three_Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel is a 5-minute walk from either Piazza San Marco or the Rialto Bridge. Note that the proximity to both Rialto and San Marco vaporetto stops gives easy access to several lines, including the Night vaporetto and the Alilaguna service to the airport. Rooms are nice, and the staff is courteous and helpful. Breakfast is fine, served in a light, spacious and airy dining room. The only downside for me is that the hotel seems to attract a lot of groups, and there are sometimes frantic large clusters of people in the lobby or in the halls.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

It is situated between the market and the plaza San Marcos so you can walk to both. The reception and staff was nice and the breakfast area was pretty as well. The rooms were fairly big for Venice and if you popped your hed out the window you could see the water way. Wifi is charged and they even charge you for it while using the one computer they have in the lobby. This was a bit odd, we felt, since normally you can at least check-in for flights in other properties. Overall, it was good, but for the price, I would have expected at least free wifi!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the entrance of the hotel for a charming view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aim2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CO
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We are frequent visitors to Venice and have stayed in the very expensive and less expensive properties. We rate the Bonvecchiati at the top of our list. The service is not overwhelmingly attentive but efficient and satisfactory. Rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Location, while not smack on the Grand Canal, is on a canal where one can enjoy the gondolieri below and the water activity of Venice without noise and congestion. A very short (depending on your navigation skills) walk to everything. Small lobby bar is accommodating and breakfast is always quite good.

Room Tip: Get a better room on the canal side. As with any hotel, there is generally a reason for the reduced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelleCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Palace Bonvecchiati
Palace Bonvecchiati
#95 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#75 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonvecchiati Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonvecchiati Hotel

Property: Bonvecchiati Hotel
Address: Calle Goldoni San Marco 4488, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Venice
#73 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#130 Family Hotel in Venice
#142 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bonvecchiati Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Nozio Netplan srl, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bonvecchiati Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonvecchiati Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing