We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Palazzo Bembo delivers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Bembo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo Bembo
Ranked #63 of 462 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Palazzo Bembo delivers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Excellent romantic hotel located just past the Rialto bridge. Location is excellent as you are right on the Grand Canal with excellent views from the breakfast room. Also, you are 10 meters from the water bus stop, which is very convenient as you do not have to go up and down steps as is common with many hotels. You do need to carry your bags up half a flight of stairs to get to the elevator. The hotel was a short walk to San Marco - we recommend using the western signed route as it is less busy and more interesting than the main route between Rialto and San Marco. The continental breakfast was of good quality. This hotel delivers the experience promised on its website.

Room Tip: We booked a double room with a side canal view. You could see a small section of the Grand Canal bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gtmwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    67
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
75
132
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

my wife & kids stayed here for a night in December and it was a quaint little hotel located just next to the Rialto Bridge and the water bus stop. The hotel is made up of only a few rooms and a breakfast/lounge space. the building is an antique with slightly sloping floors (at least in our large room) and wood beamed ceilings which added to the ambiance of staying in a building with some real character. the single receptionist/staff on duty was friendly and spoke english. breakfast was rather sparse and not something to get excited about - bread, croissants, coffee, juice, some meats, yogurt and cereals. the location was really fantastic with everything just minutes away. Our bedroom window also looked out over the rooftops to the campanile in Piazza San Marco so that was an added bonus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrabSnak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Some facts.
The hotel is on the 3rd floor of a very old palace. (slopey floors, beams etc).
There are only 6 rooms.
Room 101 is the only one (other than the breakfast room) with a view of the Rialto and the Grand Canal. We stayed in this room. It is comfortable and the view is great. If you stay in this room you will hear the goings-on of the Canal. You are in Venice.
The breakfast is a standard continental breakfast and is fine.
The lift works as of December 2012
When you enter the downstairs lobby, if it is dark, you will find the light switch on the left as you enter.
The lift is on the right at the top of the first little marble staircase.
There are 2 visible staff, the receptionist and the breakfast server. Both are very friendly and helpfull.
It appears that those who have written poor reviews of the hotel have missed the point of a tiny bespoke hotel in an ancient building directly in the middle of Venice.
No one will be there to carry your bags. You won't have room service. You will have a great time.

Room Tip: Room 101 has the view of the Grand Canal. The others have a smaller canal or the bell tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivyland, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by this little hotel. On booking, I wasn't sure it would live up to the cute pictures advertised but was thrilled to discover it was even more charming in person. Nice large bathroom, comfy beds and even if I didn't have a view of the canal, I had a great very of the bell tower. The canal would have been noisy anyway. So it was much more restful to have a room away from the canal. Only feet from the Rialto Bridge. Easy to get to. Thank you for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

After booking i was sent confirmation with a special writing that my 2p room for 4 nights, with à view at the grand Canal was actually looking out at à small 3m. water on the side of the building. Since i had booked the day before arrival, i had to accept the booking.com agreement for à no refund 185 euro downpayment for the room with the view (described as at the Canal.)
Breakfast contained 1 croissant, white bread with use of a broken toaster, 2 choices of cheese and meat and wet fridge pie, basic drinks. The 1-2 staff is polite, internet worked final poorly. The 6 room hotel (left part of upper floor) has furniture like the crooked not maintained building, bathroom some mold. Good airco. (Other floors in the building are mainly used by jung artists.) 3 or 5 rooms have a view on the narrow passing gondola, the sitting breakfast room and 1 room has a spectaculair view at the Canal. Rialto bridge is unfortunatly full of ugly graffiti. This part of venice is not well maintained, the market is only for tourists. 
I went the next day to a much better 4*hotel (saturnia intern. A well maintained original venician more luxerious hotel with gym, restaurant and bar), bigger room (no view), wonderfull breakfast (even perfectly scrambled eggs) great location, left of san marco, for less money.  Palazzo bembo hotel (b&b) is heavily overrated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoBembo, Direttore at Palazzo Bembo, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Madam,
Thank You for your review, however, we must to give a lot explanations.
Your book included a stay in one of our Classic Rooms overlooking the Canal of San Salvador, not the Grand Canal, as specified in the confirmation email that we sent You. In any way in Your reservation was specified to stay in a Room overlooking the Grand Canal and Rialto Bridge.
The Channel of San Salvador is a canal where runs every day a lot of gondolas and is therefore also very romantic.
Upon arrival, after your “ desperate “ reaction, we proposed You to stay for the following nights (when the room was available) in the room overlooking the Grand Canal and Rialto Bridge without paying any supplement.
After an hour of reflection You decided to leave our hotel the next day, so incurring the payment of the penalty for the following night as late cancellation.
Our comprehension has allowed us to meet Your needs, without the payment of the next night ( You did not mention this aspect in your review!).
We have also suffered a serious damage because we do not have occupied the room you booked for the next 3 nights!
We are also pleased that you have seen so many negative aspects in our structure although you stayed there only for few hours.
Our breakfast is usually highly appreciated both in quality and variety, we regret that You did not appreciate it.
The bathroom in the room you stayed has not traces of mold , NO WAY !
Our toaster works perfectly since we bought it few months ago.
The Graffiti on the Bridge of Rialto I hope that you understand that not depends on us , or do You want to blame us for that?
The market area is one of the less touristic area​ of our city, otherwise San Marco is the most touristic area of the city itself.
In effect You visited the market area as a tourist.
We are extremely pleased that You have enjoyed your stay in one of most famous 4 stars hotel in Venice.
We never had the claim to compare us to a hotel of this level and with these services; we're a B & B, which is located in the most spectacular area of the city.
The next time, if you want to book a room overlooking the Grand Canal, choose the room with the words "overlooking the Grand Canal and Rialto Bridge," although the price will be a little different.

Regards

Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed three nights in this hotel. Would recommend it and when we go back to Venice we will stay there again. Matteo and Luca were very friendly and helped with any questions we asked. We did get private water taxis from the airport and back to the railway station when we left. We pre-paid for breakfast and enjoyed it all, especially the warm rolls. It was great looking out the breakfast room window with your coffee and watching the action on the Grand Canal. We booked this on the internet and was very wary but so glad we picked it. Rialto bridge just up the street and plenty of places to eat. The room was really great and so was the bathroom. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fordga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Venice for two nights at the end of a great trip through Italy. I was recommended this hotel by a friend, and cannot wait until we stay there again. I would suggest booking in advance though, because we booked last minute and it was quite expensive. It was definately worth every cent though.

The hotel is located right outside where the water buses come and go from, which is really convenient and is just up the road from the Rialto Bridge.

The hotel was very easy to find, and upon arrival we were greeted by a lovely man who gave us a map and advice about which areas were the best ones to eat in, and which 'overpriced' ones to avoid.

Unfortunately the weather was not that great while we were in Venice, but the hotel provides its guests with umbrellas, which was an absolute bonus, because we didn't take one with us and didn't have to worry about buying one.

Our booking included breakfast, which was fantastic, and was served by a lovely house lady, who always made sure we were happy with our breakfast. On our first morning we were served warm pastries, which tasted fantastic!!!

Would definately recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Venice!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KP84UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
"Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca
Cannaregio
Locanda Leon Bianco
Locanda Leon Bianco
#196 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#122 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
#28 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
San Polo
Hotel Marconi
Hotel Marconi
#177 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#27 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Bembo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Bembo

Property: Palazzo Bembo
Address: Riva del Carbon, 4793 - 4785, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 462 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palazzo Bembo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Palazzo Bembo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Bembo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing