We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our first visit to Venice May 2014” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lux
Ranked #346 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our first visit to Venice May 2014”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

The Hotel Lux seems to be a selection of rooms in separate buildings in and around the alleyways close to the main hotel reception. Our room was in a small building which comprised of a concrete staircase to three rooms. The room was very run down and dark although the bed sheets and the bathroom were clean. There was very limited hot water and on our first morning we had no hot water at all and had to wait until later in the day for a shower! It would be advisable to keep the room windows closed and use the air conditioning as we had mosquitos on the first night which kept us awake!

Breakfast was served in another building opposite. This comprised of one small croissant each, and a selection of two different types of cereals, yoghurt, dry rolls and jams. No fruit, eggs, meats or cheeses were available which is what I always consider to be a continental breakfast. However, there was as much fruit juice, coffee, tea or cappuccino that you could drink.

The staff at the hotel were all very pleasant and helpful and when we complained about the lack of hot water they tried to fix it straight away.

The best part about the hotel was it's location close to the square and waterfront. I don't think I would recommend the hotel but having said that it didn't spoil our holiday as we were out and about sightseeing for most of our three day break.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    157
    147
    88
    114
See reviews for
119
260
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here and were disappointed due to the pictures on the website. I would not recommend staying here. It is likely that many Venice hotels are this old and in this condition, but it was sad. This was our 10 year anniversary and we wanted an upgrade to a nicer place for this section of our trip. First of all, the lobby is separated from the place we stayed. The hotel is broken up into sections in different buildings. Our room was in the section where the breakfast was offered. No elevators. Narrow stairs. Wifi is free for one hour and then you have to pay. The bathroom was extremely small (one person at a time) and the shower allowed one foot to fit comfortably on the ground while the other had to be propped up. Kind size bed was nice though. The breakfast included is not great. The server was rude. NO AC this time of year so you have to leave the window open and the mosquitoes bit my husband alot. This all seems awful, but it really wasn't. I just want to give an idea of the place. It is ok but for the price, not ok. Although, like I said, Venice is expensive, so this may be the best value for the money! Great location though, right off St. Marks Square.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalyLover2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Hotel is very central and close to the Piazza. Our room was clean and the staff very friendly. Breakfast was adequate, don't expect to gorge yourself for the whole day!
Although the room was clean, it had seen better days. Did need some DIY jobs doing in the bathroom. However, it was functional and served its purpose. We knew that we were not going to get the same standard of luxury that we could have had by staying at the Ritz. Might need to take some earplugs as the walls are thin though!.
In general, a nice hotel if your standards are not too unreasonable. Our hotel room mirrored Venice as a whole, in that it is a little run down and is in need of some maintenance.

Room Tip: The rooms may be less noisy if you stay higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodyhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

My family & I have stayed in 5 hotels in as many countries and this is by far the worst. The TV was barely bigger than an IPad, the A/C made noise and very little else. If you open the window you need to be able to tolerate Mosquitoes on a breeze of cigarette smoke and sewer stench. The fridge didn't work and wasn't fixed during our 3 night stay despite repeated promises from friendly staff to replace or repair. Would not recommend this hotel at all!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TOtoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Severn, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. It is affordable and very close to the Piazza, which was why I picked it. The evening and weekend staff were friendly and helpful. We had a double room on the fourth floor - no elevator. The room was barely bigger than the bed (two twins attached and quite old). We had a nice terrace that had no real view, and the terrace was directly above a less traveled alley right above several restaurants that stayed open late (noisy). The very old flat screen TV had three english channels and no HDMI inputs (I have a tablet that has an HDMI output which I couldn't use there). They charge for internet access by the hour. We ended up using the available wi-fi in the restaurants we ate in. Access to water taxis and water bus are very good due to its proximity to the piazza.. The included breakfast was minimal but OK. I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the upper floors if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We booked this hotel through Travel Republic, usually very reliable, but realised it didn't have great reviews. Hotel's own website is thoroughly misleading giving grossly overblown opinion of itself. Our room was up 4 flights of stairs (no lift) and was dingy and in poor repair. Bedding was shabby, e.g. cigarette burn in pillow case. Bath was nice but could only fill by shower as diverter lever stuck. Breakfast was poor - each client was 'issued' with one croissant on arrival in the cramped eating area (some were filled and disgustingly sweet), juice was over-sweetened concentrate, bread rolls were dry and tasteless. No fruit or hot food. Coffee was at least OK. Staff seemed surly and unhelpful. The 'locked' left luggage room for our final day after checking out was wide open and unsupervised when we arrived to collect our bags - luckily still intact.
Just as well Venice itself more than made up for the inadequacies of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

The entrance looks attractive and the name of the Hotel sounds luxurious although the rooms are very dated and small, not ideal for a family stay. All together, the service is good but not ideal for a family stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AmelieNellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Bridge
Hotel Bridge
#254 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Castello
Hotel Castello
Hotel Castello
#222 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
San Marco
Ambassador Tre Rose
Ambassador Tre Rose
#295 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Commercio & Pellegrino
Castello
Locanda Canal
Locanda Canal
#300 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Castello
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
#130 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lux

Property: Hotel Lux
Address: Calle delle Rasse Castello 4541-42, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lux 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Lux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing