We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO FOR FAMILIES”
Review of Hotel Lux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lux
Ranked #348 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visited this june 13. We had to pay for internet , no free connections even in the lobby. If u r having heavy luggages with u better not to stay here this hotel has no lifts. U had to carry ur own luggage on the small stairs. U r lucky, if u get ist floor. For breakfast adjoining building with small capacity of 10-12 perons at a time with a limited choice of meals in breakfast especially if u r indian. Room having stinking smells. My idea not to stay if u r with family.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank narendrermahajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 607 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel because it was one of the least expensive hotels in Venice. And I wanted to check out as soon as I had arrived.

The hotel was expensive, and I was going in the off season. Worse yet, the room felt dirty. As a single traveler with only my own bags, I could barely fit into this room. And don't even think about moving around in the bathroom. It was cramped and tiny.

My room was in the secondary building, which is around the corner from the office. I had to lug my bags up the narrow steps to get to my room.

The only saving grace to this hotel is its location. It's close to everything. But then again, Venice isn't a very big city.

There have to be better options in Venice. Go find them.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

If this was the last hotel in Venice I would not go there again. Yes, we also had to take our luggage down the alleyway to other building, up 50 stairs (no lift), to what we were told was a bigger room than the others. This was not the case. Apart from climbing the stairs with our luggage, the bannister was loose so you really had nothing to grab that was very secure and the room in itself was absolutely terrible. The"balcony"was not bigger than 3.5 metre square and we too frightened to step on it as it did not look sturdy at all. When checking our room on departure day I had to lay on the bed and tilt sideways to check under the bed as there was hardly any room from the bed to the wall. Be careful the photos are deceiving. Breakfast was average and the breakfast room was yet across another alleyway.

Room Tip: Make sure you really check out the accommodation in Venice as the pictures are deceiving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliana483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just came back from Venice (may 2013) Loved loved Venice. Hated the Lux. We arrived at the Lux and climbed the stairs with our suitcases to the top, only to have to bring all our suitcases back down the staircase , down the street to another building and up the stairs, to our room. The room was terrible Very old and scummy, bathroom was old too! Bedding old, carpeting old. Locks wouldnt work, air condition didnt cool the room, nor did the phone. On the second day our toilet didnt work most of the time. The staff doesnt aways stay at the desk, so if someone calls you, dont expect them to answer. Staff is not helpful when asking questions. They advertise free wifi. Free wifi is one hour of wifi for one device and you have to pay 2 euros for one hour on each device. Breakfast is fine for a continental breakfast the staff there is nice.
Plus is that its close to everything.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jren354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The lack of lifts is a problem, as the narrow, steep flight of stairs is quite difficult to use with heavy luggage. Especially if you are on the fourth floor like we were. Breakfast was very average, with limited choice of cold food, and the breakfast room very small... Prepare to wait for a seat if you are not early. I did not find the staff roaringly friendly, and language barrier was a problem. Room was clean and tidy, just very small, and as most places in Venice, poor view as the window looks out onto the wall of the next building a meter away. At least the location is good, as it is around the corner from San Marco Square. Watch out for the "free trip" that they offer to Murano island: it is ok getting there for free, but you have to pay to get back;) Overall: good location, clean and tidy. If claustrophobia is a problem for you, stay away.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Deon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Venice is fabulous,and the Lux is located just where you'd want your accommodation to be. But it's about 1 1/2 stars at best, and those are for smiling staff who knew where the replacement lightbulbs could be found, and who knew how to adjust the air con (curiously not from within the rooms!). Stairs fine - just make sure you've got your crampons and are roped on, shouldn't need oxygen. You can go down them quite fast. Room tiny, curtains couldn't shut (not enough material!) meant waking at 5.20am. Thin bed linen with holes in it, thin pillows, thin blankets. Breakfast - go elsewhere, we'd suggest the markets for fresh fruit and cheese and have by the waterside, don't have the "breakfast" at the Lux. But Venice is fabulous.

Room Tip: Don't bookstore the Lux
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Location was great. Straight off the water taxi was easy to find. San Marco square is literally on your door step. The ladies in reception were great, they helped us with all our questions (example: getting an Italian sim and where). Yes the rooms are small (the one we had was) but its hard to imagine a 5 star luxury resort in Venice.. It's just the way it is. Traveling around Italy this last month it's definitely not as bad as reviewers are making out. Convenient, clean, easy.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErikaGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Bridge
Hotel Bridge
#250 of 385 in Venice
221 reviews
Castello
Hotel Castello
Hotel Castello
#212 of 385 in Venice
540 reviews
San Marco
Graspo de Ua
Graspo de Ua
#346 of 385 in Venice
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Ateneo
Hotel Ateneo
#213 of 385 in Venice
385 reviews
Castello
Hotel Canada Venezia
Hotel Canada Venezia
#229 of 385 in Venice
403 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#204 of 385 in Venice
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lux

Address: Calle delle Rasse Castello 4541-42, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #348 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $68 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lux 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Lux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing