We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located boutique hotel with friendly service. But trendy, older fixtures not for everyone.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novecento Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novecento Boutique Hotel
Ranked #76 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Conveniently located boutique hotel with friendly service. But trendy, older fixtures not for everyone.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Venice is small and crowded with tourists so demand is high and therefore prices are accordingly high as well. With Venice, I am of the opinion that you get what you can and hope for the best, unless you have or are willing to spend serious $$$$ for a hotel. Novecento / Venice was the last destination in our trip to Italy and also the most expensive. It isn't fair to compare to our other, less expensive destinations already experienced in the trip, but unfortunately for Novecento that's what happened.

Pros:
- Very convenient to San Marco, Rialto Bridge, and other major bridges and squares.
- Very easy to get to from the train station / water bus stop.
- Quiet location down narrow alley near main canal assures light foot traffic and noise at night.
- Friendly, accommodating service.
- Quirky, international antique decor with a distinctly Asian style

Cons:
- Seemed expensive based on the small size of the rooms, but again for Venice it's fairly priced. Our hotels in other parts of Italy were cheaper and nicer, not a fair comparison, but it is what it is.
- Rooms on the second floor above the patio were noisy during breakfast and evening hours: you can hear everything everybody is saying or doing down in the patio. Not a big deal, but one night guests were out on the patio past 11pm being very noisy and we couldn't sleep. I finally had to call down and complain and ask that they usher the guests inside the hotel.
- Quirky, international antique decor with a distinctly Asian style

Allow me to explain that last point. The hotel obviously made a significant effort acquiring antique or more recent quirky and unique styled room accents, decor, and furniture. For some people, that's a plus and adds to the hotel's charm - most guests seem to LOVE it.

For us, we didn't really like it. While the lobby and patio and breakfast room looked great, our room (in our opinion) looked like it had been furnished from multiple garage sales of old, well-used furniture. The dresser was kind of beat up and didn't close properly, nor did the doors stay open so you had to prop it up with one of the very old and faded uneven chairs. It was too short so our clothes lay partly on the floor of the dresser - we didn't even bother with the difficult to open and close drawers. The bathroom was very cute but there is a reason nobody uses real wooden counter tops anymore - the subsequent moisture from multiple guests using the sink and around the fixtures ruins the wood, it was a dark, stained moldy color around the edges of the sink and faucet. The wooden floor in front of the shower was also faded and water damaged and the floors everywhere creaked. The quirky bed frame creaked and groaned whenever we moved while sleeping and the bed was simply two twin mattresses shoved together. It worked and was not uncomfortable but for the price we paid for this hotel we expected a lot more, especially considering our other hotels in other parts of Italy.

Overall, we had a nice stay at this hotel and the staff were excellent. Breakfast was decent and especially liked the varied breads. Hotel staff were helpful in recommendations and directions. But would I stay here again? Possibly, if I couldn't find something better in a similar price range, but overall I would probably try to find somewhere else. Again, good stay, helpful folks, but the quirky, antique decor and random defects (others would say 'charm') in the rooms sort of turned us off. It's not for everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swizstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    85
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
48
243
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We were four travelling and thus had two rooms. Our room was lovely overlooking the garden, a good size and very comfortable. The other room, however, was lacking. On the first floor facing the street the street noise was bothersome at times. The shower was so small it was almost unusable. Breakfasts were excellent. The owner was extremely helpful but not all staff were - some not sufficiently knowledgeable to manage the front desk. All in all a very nice experience. Ask for a garden room if you want quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMRDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel Novecento is a jewel and authentic Venician experience. This hotel is in an excellent location, you can take a water taxi - they drop you off just a short walk away. You can walk to everything and yet the crazy tourist center is just far enough away not to bother you. It's amazing to walk around this place at night when most of the tourist are gone. The hotel is beyond charming. The windows open to quaint cobbelstone streets and the antique furniture is amazing. The modern bathrooms are awesome. The linens are quality and the breakfast is served on a cute little patio. The people who work here are very nice. A young man at the front desk gave us directions to a place where he likes to eat and it was the best meal of the trip!

Room Tip: Note that some of the rooms have 2 twins pushed together to create a larger bed. This is normal in E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is a great little hotel. Breakfast is really quaint and you can spend ages just sat relaxing. Tiny little courtyard is perfect for quiet chill with a wine after a long daty sightseeing. Rooms have character and are well maintained.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We found the hotel easy to find, and close to water to lug our suitcases from. The room was clean, and the airconditioner worked, separate bathroom with nice toiletries. Quiet side of building overlooking the courtyard. The staff so helpful with suggestions on where and how to get to attractions and restaurants, also made reservations. Breakfast fresh and plentiful buffet style. The hotel is filled with art, glassworks and antiques, creating a relaxed beautiful setting. Quick walk to most central sights, pleasant 3/4 minute easy walk to St Marks. Beautiful and friendly setting really made our stay in Venice extra special,will go back!

Room Tip: We had room 2 faced onto courtyard, was a nice size, and good size bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The staff and facilities at NoveCento Boutique Hotel in Venice are wonderful. The hotel has 9 rooms and that allows the staff to provide personalized service to meet your needs. The hotel is like a museum with beautiful artwork, tapestries, Murano glass everywhere. It is located about half way between St. Mark's and the Accademia bridge which is a great location to get about anywhere you would want to go. They arranged a private taxi to take us to Murano to a glass factory. We had breakfast each morning in the courtyard and delicious cookies and tea in the late afternoon. All in all a delightful place to enjoy your time in Venice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The room was dark and the shower was tiny--hard to move in it and I'm quite petite. The shower rack was placed in a way that little shower gel bottles etc kept falling through. Felt really frustrated just trying to shower!! The staff was quite friendly but the room was just not as comfortable as I had hoped. Breakfast was ok. Also, there's some real funk in the morning. Not sure where it's from.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennfromcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#52 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 935 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#74 of 387 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#108 of 387 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#12 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,361 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#61 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 737 reviews
San Marco
Hotel dell'Opera
Hotel dell'Opera
#62 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novecento Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novecento Boutique Hotel

Property: Novecento Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle del Dose da Ponte, 2684, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#77 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Novecento Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Novecento Boutique Hotel is tucked away in Calle del Dose da Ponte, off Campo San Maurizio, between St. Mark's Square and the Accademia Bridge. The hotel offers its guests the chance to stay enveloped in an evocative atmosphere, created by a décor steeped in Orientalism and a passion for exquisite materials and fabrics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Novecento Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novecento Boutique Venice
Hotel Novecento Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing