We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little hote”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Albergo Marin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albergo Marin
Ranked #108 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely little hote”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

A very pleasant little hotel near, and on the opposite side of the Grand Canal from, the rail and bus stations. However the location is offthe well beaten track and quiet. Unlike some places it isn't "all glossy reception and bad bedrooms etc" , here the whole place is clean, cared-for and comfortable, modern furniture and good-size televisions with plenty of world channels. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. We would recommend the Marin.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear David,

thank you very much for this nice feedback. So...se you next time!

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    342
    112
    23
    13
See reviews for
141
457
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed for 1 night before joining a cruise ship. Hotel was clean, well located & staff were helpful. The breakfast was a bit hectic, not enough tables for the number of guests & items needed replacing as only a few of each thing was put out & staff were busy serving tea/ coffee to clean tables and replenish stocks.
otherwise well equipped & would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemoon220254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hello Bluemoon,

thanks for your feedback. I apologize if the service at the breakfast hall hadn't been so efficient, I fear it was the day when we had a small group (we usually have no groups). A part from that I wish to thank you so much for your ncie feedback, it makes my working day starting so well!

Cheers and see you next time

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the Albergo Marin in Venice.. The guide book and trip advisor are very complimentary about the hotel. Our experience was not positive. On arriving the desk clerk was not helpful or welcoming.
The room was shabby, basic and didn't seem clean. There must be better values and places in Venice. I wouldn't recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Proprietario at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Mr Howard,

We wish to thank you for this bad feedback. Actually we were waiting for your bad rate, as it was clear you did not like our hotel once you came: you asked to leave after the first overnight, and we kindly told you (Signora Michela did it, and I think she is one of the most polite persons in the world) that you had to pay full rate for the first night you slept plus another night fee (and you slept the second night as well after this conversation), losing the 20% reduction we applied for three nights stays during that period. I guess you wanted to pay reduced rate for one night only and leave, but this was not possible since we are a very small hotel (19 rooms), whose Italian rank is 1 star (probably you expected to be in a 4 star as tripadvisor gives us 4/5, and this created too many expectations in you), therefore your 1/5 is son of this refuse, in my opinion, since we never deserve such a poor rate, I am sure of that. I'm always afraid when a guest is not happy, and I'd like this never happens, but I know we always do our maximum to satisfy any kind of need and I think you could have talked to us to express your bad feelings instead of deciding to leave and to simply write this bad review.
I wish to excuse me anyhow if the clerk on duty at your arrival did not satisfy your need and was not welcoming as you and other guests deserve, in this sense Staff must give 150%, always.

Thanks again, I hope to have another chance in the future to improve your satisfaction, as we are doing well to make our hotel better and better, step by step.

Regards

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, Lancashire
Level Contributor
167 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed here twice on a recent Italian trip, for four nights and again, for our final night.
Location is ideal, just opposite the Grand Canal from St Lucia Railway Station and a couple of blocks away from the bus station.
Reception staff were friendly and helpful and we were given a welcome drink on both occasions,
Room was clean and comfortable, although slightly cramped.
Breakfast was basic, consisting of rolls, bread, cakes, jams, tinned fruit, coffee and juices......nothing for the savoury tooth!
We had to wait for twenty five minutes one morning, when a party all came down to breakfast together, but that aside, would recommend and would definitely use the hotel again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swampbeastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your feedback, I'm a little bit afraid you did not appreciate breakfast so much, but salt food is very expencive and we cannot afford it without increasing rates. So we don't know if our guests would prefer 10/15 euro more and salt breakfast or this rate and sweet huge breakfast

Must see...

Thanks

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great stay for me and my girlfriend, kind friendly staff a 2 minute walk from the train station, nice rooms, cheap bottles of proseco downstairs and a tasty breakfast complimentary. The rooms were cleaned everyday. One night I wanted to book a table in a jazz bar and the staff were kind enough to ring ahead for us and make the reservations.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poochdunphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear friends,

thank you so much for your nice words, I truly appreciate the time you spent to write down this feedback

Cheers, hope to welcome you next time

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed three nights at this hotel in Venice. My husband used his phone and we had no trouble finding it. It was very close to the train station so we did not have to walk too far with our luggage.
Upon arrival we had a nice welcome drink and some chips. Just what we needed! We were too early to check-in so we left our bags and went on our way.
Our room was very small, but it was all we needed. We knew it was a one star hotel, so we knew what to expect.
The bathroom was renovated and was nice and spacious. The beds were comfortable and clean. This is a very old building so don't expect a sterile environment.

Breakfast was great! You could smell something baking in the morning, and it was likely the fresh cakes they served. The staff was also outstanding. We got help and some directions when we needed it. On our way to check-out, we were too early for breakfast and were out of Euro (headed straight to the airport), but the very nice man at the front desk gave me a bag to take some goodies with us. That was very much appreciated.

The location of the hotel really allows you to experience the real Venice. We would return to this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sflower123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your review, I hope to deserve 5/5 next time you come back and to get 5/5 in cleaning as well!

Thanks

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hotel is the best 1 star hotel I have stayed in. Flatscreen tv, aircon and in room wireless along with a good breakfast make this an excellent choice for exploring venice. Situated at the top of the grand canal it has very close access to all the main boat routes, train and bus station. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank barnsley245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Hello Mr Bamsley,

thank you so much for this great feedback,we are proud of your words even if we are working hard to imrpove more and more to give you the best possible experience!

See you next time!

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#130 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#79 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#81 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#98 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#137 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#52 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Marin

Property: Albergo Marin
Address: Ramo delle Chioverete Sestiere Santa Croce 670/b, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#81 Family Hotel in Venice
#107 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Marin 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergo Marin is your cozy hotel in Venice, close to the train station S.Lucia and a couple of steps far from the Grand Canal. We offer to our guest 19 nice rooms, all ensuite but one (cheaper), with a/c, safe, satellite tv and all kind of comfort you can get from a 1 star hotel of Venice. We also have two superior double rooms with turkish bathroom, where you can enjoy a complete and charmant relax. In the morning we serve complimentary breakfast in our breakfast all, which becomes a nice bar corner all the day long, where you can get something to drink before or after dinner. Starting from March the 5th 2013 we are proud to inform our nice guests we offer free wifi anywhere, also in rooms, and not only in common areas as once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Albergo Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Marin Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing