We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace in Venice”
Review of Albergo Marin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albergo Marin
Ranked #105 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Lovely hotel just a block from the main canal with the train station just on the other side of the canal too. Excellent and attentive staff. Very nice room and especially nice to have a few outside tables to just sit and relax after a long day "getting lost in Venice".....
Very inviting and quiet makes this place a real gem - especially being so close to in/out transportation. Also of note is a complete grocery store just a 6 minute walk from the hotel - just ask at the desk (across the canal and to the left of the train station) - for a coke, snacks or fresh fruit without high tourist prices.
Also, Venice is expensive, but this hotel is more reasonable than most and easier to get to!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kreemmer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear Leo,

thank you so much, we really enjoy getting such a good review from you. Best wishes for this Christmas and upcoming new year

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 845 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

Had a rest a family of 2 adults and the daughter of 12 years. From November 4 to November 10, 2013. Reservation of number did through Booking.com. Arrival to hotel was late, on a reception us friendly met and carried out to number 208 2 floor. The elevator isn't present. Number small, but is all necessary. Pleasantly surprised that in a bathroom there were single gels, hats for a shower, soap, the hair dryer. double bed, single for the child, 2 cases for clothes, a table, a chair and a banketka, mirror, conditioner, the TV with control the Sky.
We had a difficulty with hotel search on arrival. Since there was an evening and there was a rain. It is more convenient to leave from a bus stop on the Grandee the channel (not to pass it), to pass through 2 bridges and between church and Carlton hotel there will be a narrow pass to meter width, having passed on it, you will find hotel Albergo Marin.
Breakfasts tasty - croissants, bread, oil, jam, honey, yogurt, muesli, milk, coffee, tea. Cleaning daily, change of linen of times in 4 days.
As it was mentioned in other responses, the hotel is very successfully located. On the contrary through the Grandee the channel – the railway station, and from bus station to go 5 minutes. In Venice movement or on foot, or on water. The water transport is expensive – the single ticket costs 7 euro. In hotel we were given the card, it not large, but we used it. On a reception to us kindly helped with the chosen routes.
In days of our stay in Venice our daughter had a birthday. It was unforgettable day! ! ! Also it began with a pleasant surprise! ! ! Special gratitude of Giacomo, Michela and hotel Marin staff for the shown attention!
This small travel to beautiful Venice forever remains in our hearts! ! ! ! Thanks to all! ! !

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Hi Marina,

nice reading you! What about your nice daughter's contest? Did she get the first prize? I hope so, thanks to my vote as well :)

See you next time you like to celebrate something important in Venice :)

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My wife and I loved this hotel. Coming from Milan, we can dare say that this is more than a 1-star hotel, it is definitely comparable to the 3-star hotel we stayed in Milan. We felt very welcomed when we first entered the lobby. The staff on duty was excellent by explaining to us how to navigate in Venice and which are the must go places. We also had our welcome drink, the first of our travels! Thank you so much for the hospitality. Would definitely come here again if we are to visit Venice again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chironhoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear friends,

thanka a lot, once more, for this nice review. It's very important when you spend a couple of minutes in writing your feelings, as we take care of your experiences to do better and better.

Cheers

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights it was a good experience.
Pros
Staff: Mr. Roy was very helpful w.r.t.providing us the details on travelling around venice and also advised best way to visit Murano/Burano/Torcello. The owner were also very helpful.
As we reached they provided us with a welcome drink until the room was ready. This gesture is not very common in Italy.
Room was clean well furnished and quite spacious as compared to other hotels we have visited in Italy. Beds very confortable.
THe hotel was not very far from the train station, within 5-10mins walking distance.
Bathrooms were nice n clean and well maintained.
Breakfast at the hotel was also good as compared to Italy standards.

Cons:
The approach to the hotel was a bit scary/small at the first instance, but once you know the place there was no feeling like that.

All in all a value for money place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhaveshdevgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear guys,

thanks a lot for this feedback. We are please in reading you found our hotel above average, also compared to Italy standards which are btw very high.

Hope to meet you in the future again

Cheers

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

- Location: Great. It is conveniently located to the train station and ten minute walk from the bus station to the airport. It is a practical choice for someone who likes to visit Venice.
- Atmosphere: Pleasant. A guest house atmosphere.
- Decoration: Elegant simplicity.
- Room: It was clean with comfortable beds. The bathroom was small but well designed and modern.
- Service: The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and provided some great tips and a map of Venice.
- Breakfast: Good

- Recommendation 1: There are some coffee and pastry shops within walking distance which are of a fair standard.
- Recommendation 2: If you are looking for a good value hotel in Venice this is a good choice.

- Would I stay there again? : Yes.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olympus h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Olympus,

thanks for your feedback, I really appreciate your time.

See you soon

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is a very good hotel for a 1-star. It's very clean, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was fine and the staff is very helpful. We were welcomed when we arrived and given a map of Venice. The staff explained how far things were and how to get to where we wanted to go. They also recommended restaurants in the vicinity for us to eat at. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you're looking for something inexpensive in a good location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatthewKieran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Hi Matthew,

thank you so much for your review. I really hope you to be back soon :)

Cheers

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Clean and blissfully quite, very pleasant welcome from the reception staff. Breakfast was as advertised. Bathroom was very small but well designed and modern. Room was pleasant and had very comfortable mattresses.

As has been said before the location was perfect, nice little bar, restaurant and shopping street just over the bridge to the train station and turn right. ATMs close by (either side of the bridge to the train station). 40 minute leisurely stroll to San Marco, follow the yellow signs, we didn't and saw a lot more of Venice than we thought we were going to. Which was fine for us getting off the beaten track.

All in all very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachfreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear guest,

thanks for your feedback. I really appreciate your stay here was as expected, and hope to meet you in the future again :)

Cheers

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#91 of 385 in Venice
1,093 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#158 of 385 in Venice
2,148 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#114 of 385 in Venice
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Al Piave
Hotel Al Piave
#61 of 385 in Venice
918 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#146 of 385 in Venice
409 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#170 of 385 in Venice
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Marin

Address: Ramo delle Chioverete Sestiere Santa Croce 670/b, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#80 Family Hotel in Venice
#106 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $78 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Marin 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergo Marin is your cozy hotel in Venice, close to the train station S.Lucia and a couple of steps far from the Grand Canal. We offer to our guest 19 nice rooms, all ensuite but one (cheaper), with a/c, safe, satellite tv and all kind of comfort you can get from a 1 star hotel of Venice. We also have two superior double rooms with turkish bathroom, where you can enjoy a complete and charmant relax. In the morning we serve complimentary breakfast in our breakfast all, which becomes a nice bar corner all the day long, where you can get something to drink before or after dinner. Starting from March the 5th 2013 we are proud to inform our nice guests we offer free wifi anywhere, also in rooms, and not only in common areas as once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Albergo Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Marin Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing