We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“typical italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Albergo Marin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albergo Marin
Ranked #108 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Watsonville, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“typical italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

if you want a truly italian place to stay while in venice for a really reasonable price this is the place. the room had everything we needed for a cozy stay. the bed, floors and shower were very clean and the staff was totally willing to help with all our needs. the breakfast is 'continental' and all we expected. the location from the cruise ship and/or main train station is just a 5 minute walk away. we were given a map and directions to where we wanted to go. the owners speak and write in excellent english - helpful when communicating over the internet and in person. we highly recommend and will return our next visit to venice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorothyocarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Ciao Dorothy,

thank you so much! Typical italian? Indeed we are :) You know we just added canned fruit (from saturday the 15th of June) for breakfast? Something fresh for warm summer days!

See you soon here again

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    342
    112
    23
    13
See reviews for
141
457
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This little boutique hotel should score higher. Really! We stayed for only one night in May and it is truly quaint. What matters to my husband and me is cleanliness and comfort and it excelled in both of these areas. it is true that there is not a lift but the hotel staff helped us with our baggage. It is also true that the rooms are quite small, but we were only there to sleep so it was really comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was normal Italian fare, delicious and plentiful. I especially enjoyed my steaming hot cafe lattes that they served; as many as I wanted! Since we were hopping on a train the next morning, this little hotel was conveniently located just a few steps, and a bridge, away from the main train station in Venice and the Grand Canal with all the vaporettos available to shuttle you anywhere you need to go. The Albergo Marin is a hidden treasure at a great value!!!

Room Tip: One tip: one room has a bathroom and shower located down the hall. Ask for a guestroom that has a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudiandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Judi & MIke,

thank you so much for this nice review :) I really thank you on behalf of our Staff, and we are aall looking forward to meet you here soon again. For other guests I wish to remind there's just room 209 with private external bathroom, but it's assgned only if you reserve that (it's called "room 209" on our site, the only official reservation site we have)

Regards

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed there in May 2013 for one night. Great location as it is realy close to the train station and bus stop. Not to far to walk with luggages. The hotel itself is nice and the rooms are small. FYI, there are no elevators with two floors with rooms in case it is a problem with some. It wasn't for us. Other than that, I won't give it a higher rating only because I've seen better B&B around the world but as far as in Venice, everything is old and I don't expect much better elsewhere over there. I would recommended this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saulnier442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hello Dieppe,

thanks for your review. I do not agree 100% with your sentence we do not deserve an higher rating, as Venice has instead a very high quality level if compared to other places and you should take into account we are 1 star hotel: think about a 4 star hotel in Venice, I think it could have larger rooms, porter, maybe an elevator but...we offer more or less the same services of them.

Thanks again, I hope to welcome you in the future: you could try one of our superior rooms, have you seen them?

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Hotel in great location just across from train/bus station. Venice is very accessible by walking or taking vaparetto (water bus), so central location is not important. For a 1 star hotel, we were impressed with the breakfast, and nice front desk staff, and good internet connection. Room was what we expected..small but functional. Bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Kevin,

thank you so much for your message. Actually you focused the point, and gave us a very fair review. I really appreciate your contribution

See you soon here again!

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at the Albergo Marin for three nights and overall were pleased with the hotel. The location is excellent - close to the rail station and the Grand Canal. It is within walking or ferrying distance of all the major attractions. Perfect for a few days stay in Venice. The hotel itself is somewhat 'shabby' - the rooms are clean but small - but quite adequate nevertheless. There is no elevator - so hauling cases up two flights of stairs is tricky. To get to the hotel we had to carry our bags over one of the main bridges across the Grand Canal - no easy feat given the number of steps (no ramps). Wi-fi is excellent, breakfast is sparse to say the least (the worst breakfast we had during our 6 week travel through Italy).

Room Tip: choose a room on the first floor to avoid carrying bags up more stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hope4993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello Hope,

nice hearing you. I thank you for your nice words about location and other stuff, unfortunately I'm sad you did not enjoy your breakfast. We are going to try to improve it even if we think is more than appropriate for a 1 star hotel. Anyhow if you could send us a prospect of what you would like to get for breakfast it would be helpful

Thanks

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We arrived on the 2nd of May and like everyone coming to Venice, we got lost for a while but it was a beautiful city and we did not mind at all. After some friendly folks pointed us in the right direction, we finally arrived at our destination. We were greeted by Filippo with a huge warm smile and were checked in shortly and in our beautiful room in about 10 minutes. The room was comfy with lovely large windows, a remodeled and clean bathroom and just had this old Venice charm. The venue was absolutely fantastic, left out the main door, through this narrow and long alley and there was the main canal but in spite of being so close to the canal, it was so quiet and refreshing, birds singing outside and the occasional people walking by and chatting. There was an AC in the room but we didn't need it, just leaving the window open kept us cool and there was mosquito repellant in the room for the night. There was only 1 mosquito that we saw and we were never bitten even once. I'm very glad the building had no elevator, couldn't imagine this historical building being ruined with that kind of modification. It was lovely just as is and we were happy to get the exercise going up to our room. Not sure why people complain about petty things, Venice is a beautiful city and if you are enjoying it right, you're probably not spending much time in a hotel room. Breakfast was so yummy and plentiful, the Cappuccino was bar none. The staff were all friendly and eager to help. Filippo spoke perfect English and gave us great advice about touring the city. We love this hotel and will surely be returning to it in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khushru W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Heeeello! You make me (us) happy!

I'm so proud of what I'm reading here I wish to thank you so much for this important review, as it gives the perfect image of how we look like.

Also, for summer period, we decided to add canned fruit (Mixed and peach) to improve our service more and more!

Take care of you, see you soon

Giacomo

P.s. I'd like to visit San Francisco so much...must go
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

On arriving in Venice, we had to lug our suitcases over 2 bridges to reach this B&B. Off the Grand Canal, we were disappointed to find no elevator and no porter to carry our suitcases. My husband was operated on in April and still recovering from cancer. Thank goodness our room was on the first floor because I don't think my husband could carry the bags anymore. Besides that, it was a clean and quaint B&B off the main street.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Terry,

I wish to thank you so much for your nice speaking. I'm afraid you were not satisfied about the stairs and the absence of a porter to help you with bags and the lack of elevator, unfortunately this service is not mandatory in one stars hotel and obviously we have no space to install an elevator (nor the chance, we are an old historical building). I don't understand why you did not ask for some help with your bags, as this is something we do everytime when somebody asks for that, with no extra and with a huge smile. Also, you could have asked for a room on the ground floor: there is one perfect room, which is a little bit small but useful when you don't wish to climb stairs.

I really hope to welcome you in the future again: this time, please ask for this special room not to carry your bags upstairs!

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#130 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#79 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#81 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#98 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#137 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#52 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Marin

Property: Albergo Marin
Address: Ramo delle Chioverete Sestiere Santa Croce 670/b, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#81 Family Hotel in Venice
#107 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Marin 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergo Marin is your cozy hotel in Venice, close to the train station S.Lucia and a couple of steps far from the Grand Canal. We offer to our guest 19 nice rooms, all ensuite but one (cheaper), with a/c, safe, satellite tv and all kind of comfort you can get from a 1 star hotel of Venice. We also have two superior double rooms with turkish bathroom, where you can enjoy a complete and charmant relax. In the morning we serve complimentary breakfast in our breakfast all, which becomes a nice bar corner all the day long, where you can get something to drink before or after dinner. Starting from March the 5th 2013 we are proud to inform our nice guests we offer free wifi anywhere, also in rooms, and not only in common areas as once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albergo Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Marin Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing