We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B in Venice”
Review of Albergo Marin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albergo Marin
Ranked #122 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

On arriving in Venice, we had to lug our suitcases over 2 bridges to reach this B&B. Off the Grand Canal, we were disappointed to find no elevator and no porter to carry our suitcases. My husband was operated on in April and still recovering from cancer. Thank goodness our room was on the first floor because I don't think my husband could carry the bags anymore. Besides that, it was a clean and quaint B&B off the main street.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Terry,

I wish to thank you so much for your nice speaking. I'm afraid you were not satisfied about the stairs and the absence of a porter to help you with bags and the lack of elevator, unfortunately this service is not mandatory in one stars hotel and obviously we have no space to install an elevator (nor the chance, we are an old historical building). I don't understand why you did not ask for some help with your bags, as this is something we do everytime when somebody asks for that, with no extra and with a huge smile. Also, you could have asked for a room on the ground floor: there is one perfect room, which is a little bit small but useful when you don't wish to climb stairs.

I really hope to welcome you in the future again: this time, please ask for this special room not to carry your bags upstairs!

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (854)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 854 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our three day stay at The Albergo Marin Hotel. Alexandra, Philipo and Fabio were all very gracious and helpful. It is located in a quiet and safe neighborhood. The rooms were extremely clean and up-to-date. It has WIFI in the common areas, and a very nice breakfast each morning. It is air-conditioned and heated, although the Government rigidly controls which months of the year these can be used. The front desk is manned 24 / 7 and all of our request were quickly handled to our satisfaction.

It is very convenient to all forms of transportation: bus station, train station, Vaporetto (water bus stops) an to the people mover for the cruise port.

We also walked to and from the hotel to the major areas of Venice several times without any difficulty. It is really a very small city area and has signs pointing out the way to the major areas (Saint Marks, Rialto, Accademia) and return.

A “wash-a-teria” self service laundry is just down the street.

We will stay here again on our next visit to the city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JPH306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Sir (and Madame),

thank you so much both for this review and your explanation. We all really appreciate your feedback (expecially Filippo, my brother, who tld me you were amazing).

Please come visiting us next time using our coupon discount we sent you an maybe trying a superior room.

Cheers from Venice

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very cosy and comfortable apartment in Jewish Ghetto, near Guglie bridge and Strada Nova.

Albergo Marin management were very helpful when we needed to change booking as a friend from the UK decided to join us. Upgraded booking to the apartment.

Only issue was we couldn't find airconditioner remote and our friend got mozzie bites after opening the windows.

Value for money property, we had a great stay.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Rulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Ruth,

thanks for your feedback! I really thank you for all and hope to welcome you soon. Next time you will find the remote control, It was hidden above the wardrobe, I don't know why :)

Thanks

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights before our cruise. Filippo was wonderful and helpful in everyway assisting us in navigating this confusing ancient city. One block away from the Grand Canal. Across the Canal from train station and just 2 small bridges over to the right if you are arriving at bus station. Beautiful old property that has been updated with modern touches but still maintain its charm. Slept like baby with window open to courtyard below. Filippo gave us mosquito repellent plug in when we told him about the situation. Best advise is to bring the American ones from home where you can turn it on and leave it by your bedside. Breakfast was ample and as previous reviewers said, best cappuccino ever! This will be our home away from home whenever we are in Venice next. Cheers!
PS.... pack light when you come to Venice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sideymeow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

San Francisco people, such a lovely town and good friends of us!

I'm really happy you enjoyed your stay and Filippo, my brother, was so helpful with you!

We all hope to welcome you soon again

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Albergo Marin was such a great hotel for us. So close to the train station which made life easy for us with our travel packs. We were greeted so kindly when we first arrived, the lady even checked us in really quick as she didn't want us to miss lunch at the restaurant close by. The rooms were a good size, and very clean and tidy. The brekky was amazing, and you could eat as much as you wanted, no questions asked. The hotel helped us with booking tours, and gave us advice on what to go and see around Venice. Then hotel is a bit of a walk from S. Marco square, but we loved walking the streets and visiting all the shops and cafes along the way, the walk was no problem to us. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone, and would certainly go back when in Venice again. Thanks Albergo Marin for a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Hello Natalie,

I'm glad you wrote us this nice feedback! My mother and I remember you two very well, you were so nice and pleasent!

When do you come back visiting us?

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed this little hotel, with a friendly and helpful staff and clean and perfectly adequate rooms. The hotel is conveniently close to the train station. My only reservation, since we did all our touring on foot without using the vaporettos, is that it was a bit of trek to Piazza San Marco. But I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vincentdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Vincent,

I wish to thank you so much for your feedback, and I really hope to welcome you in the future again

Regards

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This little one-star hotel is quite comfortable and in a very good location if you want to be near the train station. Albergo Marin is located across the Grand Canal from the station, on the "quiet side". It sits behind the church of San Simeon Piccolo (the one with the large green dome) so it's not too noisy. While it's close to Santa Lucia train station, it's also just a short walk from the Frari church. We love this side of the Grand Canal--Santa Croce, San Polo, and Dorsoduro, and you can explore all three of them from this starting point. There are also some nice restaurants a short walk awy.
The room was rather small, but typical of Venice. The breakfast was also typical (rolls, juice, yogurt, cereal, coffee, etc) but there was plenty of it. And if you wanted something special (like cappuccino) you could order that.
The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeverlyZ1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Madame,

from Florida to Italy, and we always meet nice people and friends like you ;)

That's so cute. I wish to thank you once more for your time and your choice, feedback are really important to us.

See you next time

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#89 of 385 in Venice
1,109 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#158 of 385 in Venice
2,169 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#120 of 385 in Venice
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#111 of 385 in Venice
1,163 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#131 of 385 in Venice
943 reviews
Castello
Hotel Al Piave
Hotel Al Piave
#60 of 385 in Venice
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Marin

Address: Ramo delle Chioverete Sestiere Santa Croce 670/b, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#80 Family Hotel in Venice
#106 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $56 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Marin 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergo Marin is your cozy hotel in Venice, close to the train station S.Lucia and a couple of steps far from the Grand Canal. We offer to our guest 19 nice rooms, all ensuite but one (cheaper), with a/c, safe, satellite tv and all kind of comfort you can get from a 1 star hotel of Venice. We also have two superior double rooms with turkish bathroom, where you can enjoy a complete and charmant relax. In the morning we serve complimentary breakfast in our breakfast all, which becomes a nice bar corner all the day long, where you can get something to drink before or after dinner. Starting from March the 5th 2013 we are proud to inform our nice guests we offer free wifi anywhere, also in rooms, and not only in common areas as once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Albergo Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Marin Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing