We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished we stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Locanda Gaffaro
Ranked #256 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wished we stayed longer”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

First & only hiccup was finding the place; we followed the directions exactly and, unbeknownst to us, we found it right away but perhaps because it was around 8-9pm (and according to a local who saw us looking around, apparently the power went out for a time) the place was not immediately inviting. In the end we called the mobile number (the landline went unanswered) on the entrance gate, and a minute later the owner turned up around the corner and helped put us at ease.

After spending 4 nights in a so-so apartment in Paris, we couldn't have been happier with our triple room. Clean, air-conditioned, decent size, overall comfortable. Breakfast in the courtyard was lovely and staff were nice to deal with during checkout. This is the kind of accommodation you look forward to when you're on holiday. We were only staying one night in Venice and it seemed especially a shame that we couldn't stay longer. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    76
    27
    23
    12
See reviews for
50
89
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
782 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 545 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The "locanda" (inn) is located in a very quiet corner of a quiet city in itself (as well as heartbreakingly beautiful), not far from the route that leads from the train station to "Campo Santa Margherita". As for the administrative function (check-in and check-out) it epends on the adjacent hotel "Al Malcanton". The room I have been given (a single one, € 63) was tiny, with a quite old decor, but clean and efficient. For lack of a dining room, breakfast is served into the room itself. The value for money is good, especially when you consider that you are in Venice. The biggest flaw in my opinion is that breakfast isn't served before 8:30 am: which prevents the full use of your time in Venice, and even more to leave the city early (trains, flights..).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brun066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This very small hotel is an amazing place to stay! Its right out the way of all the tourists so you are really in with the locals which is a great experience and means you can have peaceful evenings if you wish! Although it may look a long way from the grand canal and St Marks etc it really isnt and you memorise the route around venince surprisingly quickly! (this hotel is also close to the train and bus station which can be useful)

Breakfast is served in the courtyard garden which is a real treat, the rooms are en suite and comftable. Would 100% recommend staying here if you want to experience Venice properly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katharine92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We are stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in July 2012. It was just amazing! We got the best room for a family of 4 with huge balcony and great breakfast with coffee and pastries! The owner help us to repair our suitcase - he gave us tools to repair our luggage and he walk us into the bus station to show us how we can reach the Venice Marco Polo airport at 4 am . He was absolutely friendly and our room was amazing, so we will be back this summer!

Room Tip: Connect with owner via email before you go, it will be very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zosia96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This was our first bed breakfast and we were definitely not disappointed. It is a quaint place with a great location. Room was of ample size for the three of us. Breakfast was pleasantly served in our room and was more than sufficient to hold us over until lunch. We had a large glass of orange juice, croissant, rolls, yogurt, butter, nutella, and soft cheese spreads for our rolls as well as our daily cappuccino . Would we stay here again? You betcha!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimCev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed in Locanda Gaffaro for 2 nights. Initially I booked in Al Gallo hotel but unfortunately (or maybe fortunately in my case) it was fully booked, so I was moved to here. I arrived in Venice at 9 PM, and spent 1 hour to locate the hotel location (common problem in Venice for tourists, so don't forget your map when travelling over there!). When I finally found Al Gallo hotel, I was immediately picked up by Piero, who I believe is the owner of Locanda Gaffaro. Piero immediately shown me the room in the attic, which is small but fantastic. A double-bed room equipped with TV, fridge, air conditioner, and ensuite shower. Inside the fridge are various drinks for free (which I did not touch because I initially thought they would charge for it, but I was totally mistaken!). The next morning I get free breakfast. I could only be thankful because my initial booking in Al Gallo did not include free breakfast + ensuite shower! Also, free wifi is available in my room. Two nights stay over there for only about 160 Euro was totally worthed every penny.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alford Lincs
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a hotel in a very pleasant location within easy walk from the bus and rail stations. It is an ideal base for exploring the island, and so much better than staying on the mainland and travelling in and out every day. The staff were very friendly, and we enjoyed the breakfasts very much. The room was a pleasant and cool refuge in the middle of the day and was a good size for the three of us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alastairlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel al Malcanton
Hotel al Malcanton
#222 of 385 in Venice
136 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Falier
Hotel Falier
#215 of 385 in Venice
382 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Herion
Locanda Herion
#176 of 385 in Venice
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Alla Corte Rossa
Alla Corte Rossa
#224 of 385 in Venice
170 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#168 of 385 in Venice
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Locanda Gaffaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda Gaffaro

Property: Hotel Locanda Gaffaro
Address: Corte del Gallo Dorsoduro 3589, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Locanda Gaffaro 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Locanda Gaffaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Gaffaro Hotel
Locanda Gaffaro Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing